News Heading To Cairns

• Thread starter Thread starter _RT_

For those of you who are thinking about heading up to Cairns in July here is some info for you. The AFL Events office has a couple of packages available.

First one is a ticket and accomodation package which starts from $229 per person. Basically you get a reserved seat in the Lower Grandstand and 2 nights accomodation in a range of hotels in Cairns.

Second package is a Tigers All In Experience which starts at $1045 per person. This package includes return airfares on Virgin Blue, 2 nights at Holiday Inn Cairns, an exclusive pre match function, reserved seating in the Lower Grandstand and return transfers to the match and the airport.

Full details here: http://www.afleventoffice.com.au/events.wsc/afl/cairns.htm?co=AFG19

A few recommendations for those not interested in a package:

The 'Cairns Harbour Lights' is a beautiful apartment style hotel which is the closest to the water of all the accommodation places, close to the casino, the Esplanade, best restaurants, night markets, shopping etc. and the prices are extremely reasonable for what you get. Very safe area, walking distance to all you need except a $15 taxi to the footy.

'181 The Esplanade' is excellent too, similar apartment style, real luxury at a great price but a little further down the worse end of The Esplanade near the hospital. Really friendly people run it, pleasure to stay there.

For anyone planning on staying 3 nights or more and either money isn't an issue or you're coming in a group of two or more couples (i.e. 4-6 people), 'Waters Edge' is magic - swim-out decks from your lounge room, total luxury, up to three bedroom apartments, best luxury place in Cairns IMO.

All three places have gourmet kitchens, austar, big screen tv's etc.

Best budget option is the Palm Royale, really nice hotel style rooms overlooking two beautiful pools, beaches etc., regular courtesy buses to the airport and city, shopping centre/fast food/bottle shop etc. 2 mins walk away, closest place to the footy which isn't a roach motel, $55-65 a night depending on occupancy, best value for money accommodation in Australia IMO, only criticism I could make for the money is that the beds are a bit too soft. ;)

Paddywack's on Shields St. is the best beer pub in Cairns with over 100 varieties from around the world, great food, streetside tables and a good atmosphere with no violence. Good idea to avoid the pubs near Cairns Central.

For lovers of Greek food, Adelphia keeps winning best restaurant in Far North Queensland and it's a terrific family style place (owned and run by Peter Andre's brother Andrew of all people) with superb food, last time I was there they had live Greek music (which I surprisingly enjoyed!), belly dancing, plate smashing, a real cultural extravaganza and one of their 'Greek Feast' meals is so much wonderful food that by the time dessert comes you're well and truly defeated. Book early or it's tough to get a table.

For the night clubbers the places to go are The Woolshed, and Gilligan's - players tend to end up in one or the other if they're going out - they're both in the mall, also in the mall there's a lad pub called PJ O'Brien's (which is like American Spring Break with British backpackers, transported to Cairns) which is another late night option (word of warning, 'late night' in Cairns can literally be anything after 10-11pm even on weekends in tourist season for many inner city bars and pubs!).

There's heaps of heavily discounted reef adventures and tours going up here ATM with tourism in a slump compared to usual, plenty to do besides the footy for those looking to make a holiday of it. :thumbsu:

For those who are planning on staying at the Holiday Inn, it's very safe during the day, at night it can get pretty ugly, so either be prepared for the worst if heading out on foot or catch taxi's to and from the hotel.

***Disclaimer: I have zero financial interests in any of the above businesses, they're just places I've been and thoroughly recommend.

if you are looking for somewhere to stay close to the grounds there is a place called the tropical gardens that is about 100m away. i haven't stayed there for ages but it used to be great value and had an excellent italian restaurant.

Yeah, that place is still alright optimist, can be hellish if you cop the wrong conference or a motel full of Japanese tourists arriving at 3am in the morning. ;)

Bit pricey for what you get IMO when there's no airport/city transfers included and you can get better rooms with dirt cheap or free transfers for $30 less a night and still close to the ground. Never eaten there so couldn't comment on that. Still great for anyone who wants to be as close to the ground as possible.

I already have my flights booked, my accommodation (at Gilligans in one of the hotel rooms) and a ticket booked with my country membership.

Which bar shall we meet at Tugga:)???

Arrive Friday arvo from NZ. Leave Sunday morning.

We should have a BF catch up. Same for Darwin.

Haere Ra

Which bar shall we meet at Tugga:)???

Arrive Friday arvo from NZ. Leave Sunday morning.

We should have a BF catch up. Same for Darwin.

Haere Ra
I see no reason to leave Gilligans at least until Friday night. Gilligans has one of the best bars in Cairns. I arrive Fri lunchtime, leave Sunday lunchtime.
10am opening time beers on the Saturday before the game somwhere.