Jewelsandbullet

Mont
This from red&whiteonline:

Just getting through the pre-season (almost) unscathed was something of an achievement. Should be pleased to have played in ten games thus far. Early in the season he showed exactly why the Swans kept faith with him after coping reasonably well with a key defensive role. Never lets his head drop even when getting beaten, has a decent turn of speed and hasn’t forgotten how to mark the ball. Kicked his first ever senior goal against the Saints.

Great story in terms of his overcoming injury. I realise I may be in the minority but I don’t have the faith. Put simply I don’t think he is up to it as a backman. Sure he is inexperienced (not so young) and has had terrible luck with his hamstrings - regardless I don’t think he has showed anything to suggest that he will be able to take on (a) key defensive role; or (b) Even a third string defensive role. I think he has shown a lack of judgment when playing down back. In the Richmond game he was terrible – specifically a horrid mistake at CHB that allowed Richardson to kick a 60m goal and change the course of the game. I know we are undermanned down back without Shaub’s and he has been thrown in the deep end somewhat.

However I can remember watching us getting pumped every week in 1992, when we had half the quality down back as we do now, not too mention the lack of a midfield, yet an inexperienced, mid-sized defender stood up every week in his debut season...he wore number 6. I know it is harsh to compare James with Dunkley – but my point is – even very early in his career when we were crap Dunk’s showed me something – I don’t think James has.

Maybe harsh, just my opinion – hope he proves me wrong.

Anyone got the oil on Leo's chance of playing Sat night?

James will not make a difference either way.
you guys have to face facts that your backline is no good (leo excluded on occassions)

Last year you over performed.
You are average at the moment.
But you still have Barry and Goodes, so things aren't too bad.

Get a couple of good tall, defenders to complement your runners and things can take off pretty quickly.

Until then......well at least Roosy is a good bloke.

Definitely honest and quite truthful opinions mate, but we've been missing Andrew Schauble, who is our best full back and can usually hold things together.

I think if he came back, our defence would be fairly solid.

James has the talent to be a reasonable HBF or BP.

The Swans backline is 6th in the comp, and not too far behind the leaders. I think a lot of the problems have been not enough pressure from the midfield.

Originally posted by NMWBloods

The Swans backline is 6th in the comp, and not too far behind the leaders. I think a lot of the problems have been not enough pressure from the midfield.

And has been rated around there for several years now, so it's clearly not a fluke. It operates on co-operation and structure, rather than individual brilliance, and that is true even when Schaubs is back there (and when Dunks was there).

On James, I am hopeful he will make it because he certainly deserves to. He is still a very good mark (which was the skill that stood out when he first emerged). There has been more evidence of that this year in the reserves than the senior team. Although the opposition is obviously weaker, you still have to have the courage to stand your ground, read the ball well through the air and have sticky hands to take congested marks. He has shown all of those things.

He is reasonably agile and mobile as well, and has a very sensible head sitting on those shoulders.

Don't underestimate the mental effect all those injuries have had on him. It's been a relatively short time since he's been back on the paddock playing a string of games and it will take him time to have faith that his body will hold together.

Time will tell whether he will make it but after all he's been through - and the fact that the club obviously thinks he was worth sticking with - I reckon we supporters owe it to him to be patient for a little while longer.

BTW - why not discuss these matters over on RWO for which the article was written and intended. As the author of that paragraph, I would prefer it is not cut and pasted over to another site. As much as anything, taken as one stand alone paragraph it is taken out of context.

I write these things as my opinions only and and with the hope that they might generate a bit of discussion. I hope that I am not precious about my views - I recognise they are just one person's opinion, albeit based on gathering information from several different sources. I certainly wouldn't take offence at someone posting a contrary opinion on that board, though (as this post shows) you can expect me to join in on any ensuing discussion.

Originally posted by liz

BTW - why not discuss these matters over on RWO for which the article was written and intended. As the author of that paragraph, I would prefer it is not cut and pasted over to another site. As much as anything, taken as one stand alone paragraph it is taken out of context.
[/B]

Fair point.

No offence or misquoted context intended liz– enjoy the reading the big footy boards, thought I’d take the opportunity to try and get a discussion going here.

BTW Very excited/ nervous about tonight. Must win.