Help for a foreigner: Accommodation in Adelaide?

• Thread starter Thread starter Donakebab

Hello Adelaide board!

Firstly I must say fantastic work smashing those scumbags Carlton, was a very satisfying game to watch and it reminded them just how far off the pace they really are! Also because of your win it means I get to have myself a holiday and head over to Adelaide for next weeks game.

Just looking for a bit of advice from some locals, even though I'm one of the hated opposition hopefully you can put that aside until next week.

Can suggest some decent accommodation in the city? I've already ruled out looking for something right near the ground as it's just too far to travel into the city every day while I'm there. Not looking for anything too flashy, but don't want to stay in a dump either.

What would be the best way to travel to the ground? Is public transport any good or am I better off catching a taxi?

Where is the best place to head after the game for some victory/commissary brews? And what are some decent places to visit during the day and some night spots to hit up as well?

Any help would be greatly appreciated. :)

Public transport depends on where you're staying, but the footy express is free, and you shouldn't have too much trouble finding a stop once you're here.

Very helpful advice thus far...

I can't help you with where to stay; as for going out at night, Hindley Street if you're a bogan, Rundle Street if you're a cultured bogan. King William Road has some nice restaurants, I'd especially recommend the Raj on Taj if you like Indian food. Estia at Henley Beach is a good Greek restaurant, plus it's literally across the road from the Ramsgate Hotel, so while you eat you can watch the antics of hundreds of drunken tossers.

If anyone tells you to go to the Mars Bar, Village Tavern, etc, ignore them.

Very helpful advice thus far...

I can't help you with where to stay; as for going out at night, Hindley Street if you're a bogan, Rundle Street if you're a cultured bogan. King William Road has some nice restaurants, I'd especially recommend the Raj on Taj if you like Indian food. Estia at Henley Beach is a good Greek restaurant, plus it's literally across the road from the Ramsgate Hotel, so while you eat you can watch the antics of hundreds of drunken tossers.

If anyone tells you to go to the Mars Bar, Village Tavern, etc, ignore them.

AWwwww come on! fair go :p:thumbsu:

anywhere in Glenelg is good for accommodation and nightlife.
However I highly reconmend you try the Alma tavern. That place should be going off friday night :thumbsu:

Hello Adelaide board!

Firstly I must say fantastic work smashing those scumbags Carlton, was a very satisfying game to watch and it reminded them just how far off the pace they really are! Also because of your win it means I get to have myself a holiday and head over to Adelaide for next weeks game.

Just looking for a bit of advice from some locals, even though I'm one of the hated opposition hopefully you can put that aside until next week.

Can suggest some decent accommodation in the city? I've already ruled out looking for something right near the ground as it's just too far to travel into the city every day while I'm there. Not looking for anything too flashy, but don't want to stay in a dump either.

What would be the best way to travel to the ground? Is public transport any good or am I better off catching a taxi?

Where is the best place to head after the game for some victory/commissary brews? And what are some decent places to visit during the day and some night spots to hit up as well?

Any help would be greatly appreciated. :)

Hi, Donakebab

Friendly post, hope you enjoy your visit.

Word of advice: Don't follow anything you read here. We're ALL taking the piss.

Edit: Except Chief Crow

Depends on how much you want to spend, there is the Hilton or the Hyatt.

There are also are some places on North Tce.

If you want to stay close to the ground there is The Lakes Hotel which is about 10 minute walk from the ground.

As others have said there is the bus (which I think leaves from Grenfell Street) which is free or you can get a taxi. Its about 30 minutes or so from the city depending on traffic.

Hi, Donakebab

Friendly post, hope you enjoy your visit.

Word of advice: Don't follow anything you read here. We're ALL taking the piss.

Edit: Except Chief Crow

All good, pretty much expected to have to sift through a bunch of rubbish to pick out a few helpful tips. Snowtown was a classic though. :D

Thanks to those who gave decent responses. :thumbsu:

if i was visiting adelaide i would be very happy to stay in the hotel richmond, right in rundle mall, the main shopping strip.

it's a super clean, modern 'boutiquey' kinda joint. not HEAPS of rooms, it's quite small. but yeah, taking a step out onto rundle mall in the morning is great... and watching people pass by from their balcony (don't think you can get breakfast out there since it became a sh*tty club unfortunately)

probably the best way to maximise a stay in quiet adelaide.

alot of advice in here has been poor.

I recomend the Wakefield Residence, nice new modern hotel with shit loads of rooms and rooms are going real cheap while they are still getting the word out. stayed there a few times. LINK. Stay there for $90 a night. absolute bargin for a modern room.

5 Minute walk to the corner of pultney street and rundle mall.

Catch the Footy Express free bus service from Currie Street I think they run from 2 hours before the bounce till about 30 minutes. Otherwise a taxi wouldnt be any more then $20.

After the game if you want to mingle with fellow footy supporters your best bet to to just cross teh road to the lakes hotel, or venture down to henley to the ramsgate.

Taxi will be closer to $30 from town. Costs that much without any traffic early on a Sunday morning after a bender let alone in busy traffic on a Friday night.

My advice would be the links to accom people have posted and just catch the footy express.