Andrew Krakouer's payback threat
29 December 2006 Herald-Sun

ABORIGINAL footy star Andrew Krakouer has been threatened with traditional payback by the family of a man he is charged with assaulting.

The Richmond player, 23, and his brother Tyrone Krakouer, 21, appeared in the Fremantle Magistrates' Court yesterday charged with assault causing grievous bodily harm.

Justin Robin Martin, 24, sustained head injuries in an incident in Fremantle last Friday night. He is in the intensive care unit of Perth's Charles Gairdner Hospital in a serious but stable condition.

About two dozen police stood guard outside the court yesterday amid fears of reprisals by more than 20 friends and family of Mr Martin, who is also Aboriginal.

Inside the court, lawyers for the Krakouers said their clients were likely to plead not guilty.

The brothers will appear in Fremantle Magistrates' Court for a mention hearing on January 4.

Andrew Krakouer was bailed with a $10,000 surety and ordered not to approach Mr Martin. Mr Martin's grandmother, Theresa Walley, said outside court there could be traditional Aboriginal payback.

"If the court doesn't give justice there will be payback," said Ms Walley, who described herself as a Fremantle Nyoonga elder.
------------------------------------------------------------------
Here's the Link....
http://www.heraldsun.news.com.au/footy/common/story_page/0,8033,20984983%255E20322,00.html
--------------------------------------------------------------------
(deliberate!! afterthought)
Now if you actually get the newspaper, but the site doesn't show this, they have a full page with head shots of all the AFL's current bad boys. The photo's are laid up in a grid.....like a team line up....
for a minute I'd thought Krak had made the All Australian team....lol
(Well he has really)....Do you get a commerative jumper for making 'The All Australian Bad Boys Team'......Cheers

Further to my comments in the first post...
Here is the 2nd Article on 'The Bad Boys of the AFL'
-------------------------------------------------------------

AFL players' health warnings
29 December 2006 Herald-Sun
Mark Buttler

THE AFL has been warned to be as wary of alcohol abuse as it is of illicit drug use.

At least 20 players found themselves in strife with police or their clubs this year, many after booze-related incidents.

And VicHealth chief executive Rob Moodie said the league needed to do more to educate and regulate its players on alcohol use and abuse.

In the past two months, elite players, including Ben Cousins, Brendan Fevola and Alan Didak have wound up in trouble after nights out turned ugly.

Dr Moodie said the AFL needed to encourage moderation and club leaders should step in to a greater degree to urge restraint from younger team members.

"Celebration can be about booze but not lots and lots of it," he said.

"The AFL needs to address it. They need to take boozing as seriously as other drugs, on which they're taking a world-leading stance."

Dr Moodie said he did not believe the level of binge-drinking among footballers was necessarily any higher than the rest of the young male population.

"It's fundamentally a cultural issue in Australia that we've let through to the keeper in the past 20 years," Dr Moodie said.

However he said it was important that players gave the message it was not OK to drink to excess.

He said alcohol sponsorship of sport and its association with times of sporting celebration did not help.

Leading player manager and former AFL footballer Liam Pickering said 99 per cent of players did the right thing.

Mr Pickering, the head of IMG's football division, said he did not believe AFL players were over-represented as troublemakers.

"I reckon there'd be more than 20-odd if you picked out 600 uni students. There's a lot of people throwing stones who live in glass houses," he said.

Mr Pickering said he believed AFL players were better behaved than their counterparts in other codes.

"A minority get in strife. The reality is, these guys look after themselves really well. They don't have time to go out that much," he said.

Clinical psychologist Ronald Conway said young footballers often found themselves in trouble because they were suddenly thrust into the spotlight, often with big pay packets, and not given the social skills to deal with fame.

"All he's required to do is exercise his bodily skills," he said.

THE BAD BOY LIST

Ben Johnson, Collingwood: Ordered to write an apology to his victim and give $3000 to a brain injury support organisation over a July brawl at Port Melbourne. Fined $5000 by the club.

Chris Tarrant, Collingwood: Also fined $5000 by the club for being present but not charged by police.

Jeff Farmer, Fremantle: Involved in altercation in Perth's trendy Club Bayview nightclub earlier this month.

Steven Dodd, Fremantle: Implicated in the same fracas.

Ben Cousins, West Coast: Arrested at Southbank in Melbourne this month for drunkenness. Followed incident earlier in the year when he abandoned his care near a Perth booze bus.

Brendan Fevola, Carlton: Cautioned by Irish police for placing a barman in a headlock after a long day at the races during the International Rules tour.

Heath Scotland, Carlton: Faces court in September over allegation he assaulted woman at city nightclub. Magistrate orders him to apologise to victim to avoid conviction.

Andrew Krakouer, Richmond: Charged with assault causing grievous bodily harm over alleged attack on man at Fremantle this month.

Heath Black, Fremantle: Fined in June for assaulting a police officer at the Perth Cup race meeting in January.

Mark Williams, Hawthorn: Avoided prison term after pleading guilty to four driving charges in July. Court told he travelled 44km/h over speed limit zone and caused a crash when he stopped to answer his phone.

Dean Brogan, Port Adelaide: Charged in July with hitting an Adelaide Crows fan who called him a **************** at Adelaide Airport.

Michael Gardiner, West Coast: Writes off his $60,000 Holden Commodore in late night Perth smash in July. Is later fined $800 and loses his licence for recording a .134 blood alcohol reading.

Alan Didak, Collingwood: Locked up by police after altercation with a taxi driver in October. Police spokesman said he was detained until he "sobered up".

Campbell Brown, Hawthorn: Fined $2000 and told to attend anger management and alcohol awareness course by magistrate in February after smashing shop window while drunk.

Colin Sylvia, Melbourne: Ordered by a court not to harass, threaten or intimidate his girlfriend after an incident at Albert Park in February.

Shannon Grant, Kangaroos: Fined $5000 by the club in February for turning up at training affected by alcohol.

Dane Swan, Collingwood: Pleaded guilty to affray in January over 2003 incident in which two men were left in hospital.

Ashley Sampi, West Coast: Fined $750 in March after pleading guilty to common assault and carrying a weapon with intent to cause fear after argument with his girlfriend and her sister.

Chad Morrison, Collingwood: Recorded blood alcohol reading of .093 after being caught riding his scooter in April. Loses licence for six months and fined $20,000 by club.

Jarryd Roughead, Hawthorn: Lost his licence in May after being caught travelling at 97km/h in a 40km/h roadworks zone.

----------------------------------------------------------------------
And Here's The Link....
http://www.heraldsun.news.com.au/footy/common/story_page/0,8033,20984980%255E19742,00.html

either way it looks like he's in a bit of trouble

its not your typical pub fight seems like their is a bit of history

either way it looks like he's in a bit of trouble

its not your typical pub fight seems like their is a bit of history

u ********en dog.

in the other thread ur calling him all things bad and now u play bogan diplomat - LMAO

I do enjoy the posts of both you guys OXX & PLSC...

Can't we be just one big dysfunctional Tiger family...?
You know...like.....Uncle Freddy in the family is a drunk...
Another family member is a pain in the @ss, another one
says things at the wrong time.....etc,etc..

Still family eh?
Gee we are all Richmond supporters.....can't we forgive....

I've nearly (I say nearly) forgiven Frawley.....lol

p.s.....Keep up the good work ;)

u ********en dog.

in the other thread ur calling him all things bad and now u play bogan diplomat - LMAO

lol

ive got no time for him as a player but when you hear that there is 20 blokes outside the courtroom wanting revenge it kind of puts things into perspective

Krak needs a constitent year.....for himself and his career...

How the heck does he concentrate on his game, with this looming over his head?

Unless he's playing footy in a WA correctional facility next year, we can only hope Krak channels a bit of that aggression into his footy. Now that Staff’s gone we need someone to get the opposition looking over their shoulder.

Krak wasn't playing that great before "the incident" so let's wack a photo of Justin Martin on his locker next year and let him rip...better still, let's give Marto's extended family full memberships for the season and see if Andy fires up with them giving him curry from the boundary.

I hear round the traps over here it's not looking good for our boy.

The club will be under a fair bit of pressure on what to do with him IMO.

I hear round the traps over here it's not looking good for our boy.

The club will be under a fair bit of pressure on what to do with him IMO.

All I hope is that it is resolved soon, which appears unlikely.:(

With all the positive energy that's been around the club to date this pre season this is the last thing the club needs.

If Krakouer is guilty he should be cut in an instant and the club moves on.
If he's not guilty then the threat of "traditional payback" hangs over Krakouer and the club for the entire season. :thumbsd:

I can't see many positives here whatsoever.
Krakouer through his actions has put the club in a very prickly situation.:confused:

Unless he's playing footy in a WA correctional facility next year, we can only hope Krak channels a bit of that aggression into his footy. Now that Staff’s gone we need someone to get the opposition looking over their shoulder.

Krak wasn't playing that great before "the incident" so let's wack a photo of Justin Martin on his locker next year and let him rip...better still, let's give Marto's extended family full memberships for the season and see if Andy fires up with them giving him curry from the boundary.

dont expect staff like elbows and knees from krak, he's got quick hands and would love a box but not really an intimidating type

Shame that he doesnt have a smart **** mouth like Anthony Mundine he could have gone public and challenged Martin to a bout inside the ring to put an end all the family hostility.

Then punched the crap out of him legit :o

I think you guys should have a bit more respect for the victim and his family hes still in ICU. Why dont we leave the jokes for when hes out of hospital.

With all the positive energy that's been around the club to date this pre season this is the last thing the club needs.
:

Very disappointing l know, but as a fringe player you would hope that the our stars are just getting on doing what they do best. It surely wouldnt have too much impact. I could be wrong.

If it was a member of our leadership group, then the impact would be far greater. On Krakouer... you dont want to judge before the verdict, but this is going to turn nasty. He was asked to be a role model for JON and Tambo when they arrived at the club. Pfff... they should be removing them from anything that Krak daddy is associated with.

Thats a pretty ordinary post

I think you guys should have a bit more respect for the victim and his family hes still in ICU. Why dont we leave the jokes for when hes out of hospital.

Exactly

If it was a member of our leadership group, then the impact would be far greater. On Krakouer... you dont want to judge before the verdict, but this is going to turn nasty. He was asked to be a role model for JON and Tambo when they arrived at the club. Pfff... they should be removing them from anything that Krak daddy is associated with.
Until he is proven guilty in a court of law the club should stand by him .

None of us have any idea the circumstances in which this incident happened .... who knows what the poor sod who is in hospital may have done to have earned his @rse-kicking . He may have done nothing , the fact is we are not the ones to sit in judgement .

Just let the legal system run its course , he will have his judgement one way or the other

All I hope is that it is resolved soon, which appears unlikely.:(

If Krakouer is guilty he should be cut in an instant and the club moves on.
If he's not guilty then the threat of "traditional payback" hangs over Krakouer and the club for the entire season. :thumbsd:

I can't see many positives here whatsoever.
Krakouer through his actions has put the club in a very prickly situation.:confused:

I disagree with him being cut and forgotten about in an instant if he is found guilty. This would be a major social mishandling by our club, and the equivilent of Geelong let Gary Ablett get away with anything.

If football clubs are anythiing other than a money making machine these days, then they have to look out for their players through good and bad, right or wrong, and provide support after the fact, so as the player or people involved arent left completley high and dry.

I dont know the situation with the people involved, but I wouldnt mind the club even trying to offer some help to the victim.

what is the likely jail sentence if he is found guilty? cant afford to keep a spot on the list if he is going to be jailed for a long time. can he be put on the long term injury list if he is in jail?

What i find interesting is the possible outcome of him not being able to honour his contract in the event of a jail term ... not that it would happen that quickly ... even if he was tried and convicted within the next eight months .. they would appeal .

I reckon his chances of getting another contract after this one will be affected ... i will stand corrected but i think his current contract is up at the end of this season ... very curly one indeed with that one hanging over his head . Be a tough call for the RFC.

... all this is assuming his guilt of course , which is yet to be proven

what is the likely jail sentence if he is found guilty?

In Victoria we have a graduated scheme of offences for assaults - from common assault through to intentionally causing serious injury (attempted murder doesn't really fit into that hierarchy but is related).

Given that this guy is still in ICU, it certainly would be one of the 'serious injury' charges.

Assuming criminal liability on Krak's behalf (a very big assumption), the best case scenario in this State would be 'recklessly causing serious injury'. It would depend on the circumstances of the incident, but give Krak has a previously unblemished record - I would have expected a minimum non-parole sentence in the range of 6 months to 2 years for injuries of this magnitude.

Of course, the matter is not being dealt with in Victoria. Among other things, WA still has a remissions system for prisoners making for inflated (in comparison with Victoria) head sentences. By bitter twist of irony, the best example of this is the case of one J. Krakouer.

All we know at the moment is what has been put in the media. There were 3 or 4 people involved in a fight, in what appears to be part of a family feud. A bloke is in hospital as a result and Krakour and his brother are (allegedly) involved. Maybe a few people have heard a bit more goss about it than me, but I don't know who started it or who hit who. If there was a brick involved like someone rumoured on here that makes it a bit nastier, but we still don't know who was weilding it (first or last).

Remember the David Hookes punch. There were about 20 different versions of what happened from different eye witnesses, but there was never any doubt who the puncher was and Hookes died as a result. The guy was still found not guilty. Its all a bit premature to be sending Krak to gaol just yet.