Fat Red

Does anyone else play hockey? I've played since I was 10 and love it. I can't play footy any more due to dodgy shoulders and complete lack of ability, but hope to keep playing hockey for 25 years more.

I generally play left full back...so far this year my team is undefeated, looking good. I'm not skilful but have a good "hockey brain".

Talk hockey with me people.:)

Played hockey since I was 12. Usually play right wing or left wing where I use my pace to beat the opposition but I can also play half back where I use my knowledge on how to play wing, to beat a wing.

What type of stick you own? I got an Atlas which I'm really happy with but have also had:

Slazenger - crap
Kookaburra - quite good

and a couple of others that I cant remember the name of but were good.

I'm having the year off this year though. I want to be a slack bum for a year and play jack all sport and do jack all study.

I played Hockey at school in England on muddy grass fields. What great fun it was though, all be it very dangerous with the ball jumpin up out of nowhere on mayn occassions

I also played in a University Colleges tournament in Adelaide where I was goalkeeper and I didn't concede a goal which was cool

A good mate of mine plays hockey for the South Austrlian Country team.

I currently play soccer but would be happy to play hockey when I retire from that.

Played during high school for the school, and as we had a Victorian standard player, we usually made it quite far.

Definately good fun, and I've been looking to play since. I played defence, which was good because you don't need any general skill. ;)

The Hitman

Originally posted by Santos L Helper
Real hockey is NOT played on grass.;)

Correct - it's played on astroturf ;).

Yep I've played since I was 12.

I play inner and I don't mind a break at half back every now and then.

Playing inner you need to be really fit as it is a full on running position. Last week we had no subs and I played the whole game inner so I was pretty stuffed!

I've got a $130 Voodoo stick at the moment after having a dodgy Grays and Gryphon stick to get me started.

My team this year are playing A grade after two year's in C to go undefeated throughout the whole season, make 2 grand finals, take home a premiership 'flag', 2 minor premiership flags and 2 challenge cup flags. It won't be that good this year as A is very hard, we've lost 1, won 1.

You all heard of the Perth Hockey Stadium? That's where I play most of my hockey. Also where the women's World Cup will be hosted this year. I might go along to a few games hopefully.

Man, I could talk hockey all day I reckon.

WOW

Perth have to have one of the best Hockey Leagues in the world.

I played hockey for a bit, not for long though. Funny though, my friend has just made the Australian Under 18 side to play against NZ in July, and is in serious contention to make a possible Olympic team later on. I used to be able to match it with him.... in under 10's ;)

Originally posted by Santos L Helper
Real hockey is NOT played on grass.;)

Then why is your game called ice hockey??

Must admit I would love to play ice hockey: full-on body tackling is what is missing from hockey.

Still, it means you can play it til you're 60 so probably a good thing.

My stick is a Mazon but is due for replacing.

RF#1, is the PHC water-based?

Originally posted by Richmondfan#1
I play inner and I don't mind a break at half back every now and then.

Playing inner you need to be really fit as it is a full on running position. Last week we had no subs and I played the whole game inner so I was pretty stuffed!

You all heard of the Perth Hockey Stadium? That's where I play most of my hockey. Also where the women's World Cup will be hosted this year. I might go along to a few games hopefully.

Man, I could talk hockey all day I reckon.

Bloody tell me about it. I played one game at inner and that was it, I wasn't playing there ever again. Any other position, but not inner.

Never played a proper match at the actual stadium but have played on the practice fields which have been revamped recently. Other turf fields I have played on are at Arena Joondalup (bloody horrible when its raining and is windy on a friday night), the UWA surface and the one that either Scotch or trinity has.

Turf is soooooooo much better than grass. Trapping is as easy as putting your stick in the way of the ball and trapping it. On grass the bloody ball can bounce all over the place, that requires bloody extra work, sheesh. Us wings do enough running after crap passes from the fullbacks and half backs without having to trap bouncing hockey balls.

GET YOUR GAME TOGETHER DEFENDERS!!! :D

Originally posted by Visro

Bloody tell me about it. I played one game at inner and that was it, I wasn't playing there ever again. Any other position, but not inner.

Never played a proper match at the actual stadium but have played on the practice fields which have been revamped recently. Other turf fields I have played on are at Arena Joondalup (bloody horrible when its raining and is windy on a friday night), the UWA surface and the one that either Scotch or trinity has.

Turf is soooooooo much better than grass. Trapping is as easy as putting your stick in the way of the ball and trapping it. On grass the bloody ball can bounce all over the place, that requires bloody extra work, sheesh. Us wings do enough running after crap passes from the fullbacks and half backs without having to trap bouncing hockey balls.

GET YOUR GAME TOGETHER DEFENDERS!!! :D

I train on the Arena Joondalup turf, I really like it. Today I played my first game at the UWA turf, not bad but it had a huge lifted patch and it was a bit hard. I've played on the Hale turf too, pretty good from what I can remember. The PHS's turf 1 and 2 are great and even the grass is decent ;). They have put up more seating for the second turf pitch although they didn't put much up.

Yeah I love turf. The work load is reduced (this can be argued though as it is a much faster game!) and it is easier to lay a tackle or get a stick in.

Yeah, I actually meant Hale, not Trinity or Scotch. Thats the one with the nice seating area isn't it and those funny shoe washing things as you go on? Played 4 or 5 games there, better than Joondalup (which isn't great) and about the same as the UWA surface (only played 2 games there). Haven't played on the Curtin surface for a while now.

Originally posted by mantis
Played at High School, until I got banned for breaking an opposition players leg. :eek:

:eek: :eek: :eek:

GEEZ. :D

I played a few times in High School, was more into netball though, much as I hate to admit it. :D

Originally posted by Visro
Yeah, I actually meant Hale, not Trinity or Scotch. Thats the one with the nice seating area isn't it and those funny shoe washing things as you go on? Played 4 or 5 games there, better than Joondalup (which isn't great) and about the same as the UWA surface (only played 2 games there). Haven't played on the Curtin surface for a while now.

I have played most of my turf games at the Arena (PHS second most) so I'm used to it the most and I enjoy it the most. It is 'softer'.

Funny shoe washing things? I didn't look closely and I've played on there once (the grass fields a few more) but yeah it has nice seating. From what I can remember it was a very decent turf field but I don't rate UWA very highly.

Which club do you play for again? Are you in U17's and in which grade? i.e A, B, C.

More questions .... fitted or non-fitted mouthguard?

Which brand of shinpads?

:D

Originally posted by Richmondfan#1

I have played most of my turf games at the Arena (PHS second most) so I'm used to it the most and I enjoy it the most. It is 'softer'.

Funny shoe washing things? I didn't look closely and I've played on there once (the grass fields a few more) but yeah it has nice seating. From what I can remember it was a very decent turf field but I don't rate UWA very highly.

Which club do you play for again? Are you in U17's and in which grade? i.e A, B, C.

More questions .... fitted or non-fitted mouthguard?

Which brand of shinpads?

:D

Um, its like a water bath for your shoes. You step through it! :D

UWA surface kicks ass! (only cause I go there now)

Nah, used to play U17 B for WASPS for a year and also school hockey throughout high school. Like I said earlier though, I'm being a slack bum this year and ain't doing any exercise. :p

Non-fitted mouth guard? Nope. Mouthguard? What the hell is that? ... luckily I haven't been hit in the mouth yet!

Dunno which brand they are. They're the ones that curve onto your leg (made of plastic), much better than the wierd metal padding ones.

I didn't used to wear a mouthguard, until I lost my front tooth when a team mate knocked it out with his stick a year ago.

It's cost me $4000 to fix and the treatment is still going!

And damn it looks ugly