Creasy

Hoodrat
Tottenham, BVB, Patriots
I couldnt find anywhere else to put this thread, I was going to put it in the motor thread but then it looks like its all about the sport there.
Anyway I am looking at purchasing a new car for around 5 grand and the only type of cars I can seem to find which I like are VTs.
Word on the street is these cars may look good but have alot of problems.
I was wondering if anyone can dispell this dream crushing rumour.
Cheers.

Correct, the early model VTs do, my suggestion is save a bit of scratch and get say a VX Berlina or Calais, nicer cars, fully optioned and most of the bugs ironed out.

Keep in mind the VT and VX cars guzzle fuel worse then the VNs or VS models because even though the V6 VS and V6 VT/VX have the same engine, the VT and VX are considerably heavier and slightly more sluggish.

If you can, save 10 grand and get a VT Clubsport with a Gen3 in it. Or if you need a V6 for your license go the VX.

Correct, the early model VTs do, my suggestion is save a bit of scratch and get say a VX Berlina or Calais, nicer cars, fully optioned and most of the bugs ironed out.

Keep in mind the VT and VX cars guzzle fuel worse then the VNs or VS models because even though the V6 VS and V6 VT/VX have the same engine, the VT and VX are considerably heavier and slightly more sluggish.

If you can, save 10 grand and get a VT Clubsport with a Gen3 in it. Or if you need a V6 for your license go the VX.
haha for me to save 10 grand itd take all summer. I am currently doing year 12 but only part time and work at a bottle shop.
I asked the old girl if I could just get a loan but apparently without a full time job I wont be able to. She has been known to sh** in my ear though and I am to lazy to investigate.

haha for me to save 10 grand itd take all summer. I am currently doing year 12 but only part time and work at a bottle shop.
I asked the old girl if I could just get a loan but apparently without a full time job I wont be able to. She has been known to sh** in my ear though and I am to lazy to investigate.
You don't need a full time job to get a loan, but just beware who you get the loan through. I assume you want to keep all your fingers!

Get a VS Berlina, they have all the options, look nice, will be cheaper even with good kms, better fuel economy then a VT/VX and the same engine.
I just traded a VS Berlina in, got $1200 for it, had 230,000km's on it, but it wasn't much money. Interestingly, I bought a VZ V8 Calais, and it uses about the same amount of fuel!

Well i'm 20, and like most blokes my age i know about 10 people with VT commos..

Funnily enough 2 of them just had their cars **** up and one needs an entirely new engine. The other one put it in for a service, $1700 later...

I love VT commos, was the car i wanted to get when i turned 18, but my parents gave me a 4 cylinder car and the fuel economy is too good for me to trade it in..

VT's are losing alot of value now because of the price of petrol but still as someone said you are better off getting a later model VT or a VX..

That said if you say you arent earning much money then dont get a car!!

Cars cost so much it is unbelievable. In the first 12 months you will pay rego ($600), you will pay insurance (anywhere from $500-$2500 for you), a service (could be anything) and i'd almost guarantee you that something WILL pop up that you don't expect. Particularly in a VT commo. Will probably cost you another $1000.

On top of that you will be paying ALOT in petrol and lets just hope you get a car with relatively new tyres.

I'm not trying to scare you, but most kids (inc. myself) when finishing high school just dont realise how much they cost...

Cars are a passion thing, you never make money back on them. If your getting a Holden because you like them, find one you want. Every car will break down at some point. Im glad my VN HSV has so many common parts because when things go wrong its cheap and quick to repair.

My mum had a Nissan EXA which was a pain. Had to import parts, take it to specialist repairers.

If you like VTs, theres tons out, and the V6 versions have the Ecotec engine which is in the VS model cars so parts are easily accessible.

If its just for a daily runner get a little Honda Legend or something, they are good on fuel but still look damn fine.

Well I get 22 an hour in the bottleshop and have a job over summer paying 1100 for a 5 day working week, more if I wanna but that means going to a different town which I am not prepared to do, I want to spend my last summer as a school kid with my mates.
I have a VN and have had it for about 3 years now and I drive to school everyday (living 30km out of town) and then to footy etc. I only pay third party insurance. I have had barely any trouble with the VN, one thing went wrong which cost 300 to fix. My family has decided to move into town so paying so much for fuel will free up alot of cash. I pay for the rego, 3 months at a time. I get the bank to hide 20 bucks a week and it works well that way. So I like to think I manage my money pretty well. I live in SA, we get our Ps at 16.5. Hence why I am lucky enough not to be hit with the shock factor.
Thanks for the heads up though.

I am not interested in a VS because a few mates have one. I prefer to be different as stupid as that sounds.

You don't need a full time job to get a loan, but just beware who you get the loan through. I assume you want to keep all your fingers!
Hmm I can afford to lose my pinky toes, theyre a bit banged up anyway. Know any hospitals that pay to amputate them and use for research? Or was that a big rumour when I was younger?

well i have a VT Series 2 (2000) - have it served every year have done about 130,000 and have never had a problem. Apart from when I bought it (cost me a bout $500 to have it full check outed and serviced) servicing costs me SFA
rego $500 and insurance the same

saying that - i'm selling it in 12 months becuase it needs new brakes and i can't be arsed paying for that.

Your not going to be very different in that car.. Like i said anyone between the ages of 18-21 will know like 10 people with VT commos.. Everyone has em....

Ah ha, I meant different from my mates. I wouldnt want to stand out much to the public because then I'd be standing out to the cops.

i recently bought a VS Executive with about 250,000km on the clock.

On Gas, 11 months reg, alloys, ABS, Spoiler.

For about $4500.00.

Executive VS commodore, 250km, GAS, brand new transmission, new exhaust and new engine.

$2000, with roadworthy with new gas cylinder and brakes!!

thank god i got a mate who wanted to flog it off for cheap lol!

See im pretty iffy on cars with over 150,000 unless there is circumstances i.e im about to buy a HSV SV3800. Stock and the engine has 200,000kms on it. However i have contacts and ill be replacing that engine shortly with a Alloytec from a VZ thats got 77,000kms on it.

Means the car will be in great working order for a few years, then i can flog it off and get a VY Clubby or something.

Thanks for the help everyone. I ended up buying a 97 Berlina for $6000.
I drove it 400km+ home and it didnt skip a beat. The bloke I bought it off said he'd had no trouble with it at all, would love to keep it but theres no room for it because he has got a new commodore for a work car. (I know you dont trust everything, everyone says but so far he's right)
In great condition, only a few faults; glove box opens too far, few stone chips, cup holder doesnt close and windows dont go up very quick and scratch the tinting.
Everyone has said its a great buy.
Now I am going to add my personal touch and just upgrade soundsystem, lower it a little bit and put some decent wheels on it. I dont wanna upgrade the soundsystem so I can do "mainys" with my "woofa" "cranked". I like to listen my music how it should be listened to, loud and no when I say music I dont mean fiddy, lil wayne, atreyu or any artists who are similiar. I am talking KOL, Muse, The Streets and Arcade Fire =)
but I have no idea what to buy that will give me the clean sound and driving bass the studio would have. I am starting a new thread asking how to upgrade a soundsystem.
Once again thanks for your help and hopefully the car keeps running how it is.