Houla

Fishman Dan

Just want to ask other Blues fans of their opinions of Houlihan. In my view he's got great talent, but he uses the ball terribly and makes awful decisions. Not only that but the number of times he gets caught with the ball resulting in turnovers is far too many for a senior player in the AFL.

Surely there are better alternatives across the centre of the paddock. It's my opinion that if he doesn't show us something this year he'll end up in a trade - if he's lucky.

Apologies if this has already been brought up, but I did a quick check and couldn't find it.

Houlihan is a outside flanker who has superb footskills but occassionally lets himself down with his decision making. Good to have on the park for team balance.

and its HOOPS!............anyway,

HAd a terrible 2005, which was his career at the crossroads. Up till that point had only showed occasional glimpses of brilliance, great skills by hand and foot, and one of our best finishers on the run (games vs Hawks and Dons at the G spring to mind).

IMO with our depleted list he was under pressure to take a more senior midfield role, and struggled a lot with that transition. In 2004/05 his skills were down, didn't provide the run he had done in the past, and in a couple of highlighted incidents, shirked physical contact/didn't put his body on the line which may have cost us a couple of games. One vs Hawks, and a shocker (actually the whole team had a shocker) vs the Tiges in O'hAilpin's firt senior game.

As a result he was dropped to the two's and it was almost show over.

Last year, he bounced back in a big way, but not to his former self. He was re-invented at times as a run with player (tagger) and did some superb jobs, including holding a rampaging Nathan Eagleton to about 10 touches in our spirited loss to the Doggies last year.

If you compare him to Murph or Stevo, then no his decision making and disposal can be a let down, but he is better than a number of players on our list in this area and has shown he is willing to work hard to find the footy, and retain his place in the side.

Whether he survives beyond the developement of Grigg, Benjamin, Anderson, and next years draft picks, who can say.

I for one am glad to see him run out each week. :thumbsu:

Houla has always been a class act with huge potential. I remember his debut season in 2000 and he played well up forward. I believe he should play forward a bit more. He can kick 4 or 5 goals in a game.

Just want to ask other Blues fans of their opinions of Houlihan. In my view he's got great talent, but he uses the ball terribly and makes awful decisions. Not only that but the number of times he gets caught with the ball resulting in turnovers is far too many for a senior player in the AFL.

Surely there are better alternatives across the centre of the paddock. It's my opinion that if he doesn't show us something this year he'll end up in a trade - if he's lucky.

Apologies if this has already been brought up, but I did a quick check and couldn't find it.

Give us some examples. What did he do against the hawks that was so bad? I can't remember him doing much wrong. But at this stage of the year, all players are rusty and make mistakes, especially late in games as fatigue sets in. I'd say you're talking about a few incidents that stick in your mind while the many good things he does you don't remember. You've never seen him hit players perfectly, such as Fev? If you think he's bad, there'd be a lot of players far worse. Everyone makes mistakes- Stevens & Simnmo make just as many if not more (Check clanger stats http://www.talkingcarlton.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=12652&highlight=clanger+kings).

Every year people say he's going to be traded. Hasn't happened yet.

I think you'll find if you look a bit harder that this topic has been done to death- if not in separate topics in others. We have a few around here who love nothing more than to get stuck into him all the time.

Might help people's opinions of Hoops if they remember he was taken (I think) as a 5th round selection (overall pick 70 something) in 1999. He's done pretty well I reckon. There's not much point expecting him to play like Leigh Matthews with a body like his.

he's had enough chances, and would have been traded/de-listed years ago if he played for just about any other team. Hope we get rid of him soon.

Soft, soft footballer.

Yes fancy getting thrown hard onto a goal post and getting up to just keeping on playing. How soft is that?:rolleyes:

Keep hoping!

wasn't referring to that one incident. My view is based on years of observation.

I know he's not a hard nut type of player, never will be and I don't expect him to play like that. But he just doesn't do enough, for a player with his supposed skills he's not damaging enough by foot and also shirks the odd contest here and there.

I'm a big fan of Houlihan because i remember his earlier years and how exciting he was to watch.

He really needs to be playing off the HFF - he has good skills and is a lovely shot on goal.

Put him up forward on the flank and let him work up there. Our defence is covered enough now, and we also need a smaller player up forward who can take the ball off the packs - we only have Eddie who crumbs, and i reckon Houlihan could be useful up there as well.

wasn't referring to that one incident. My view is based on years of observation.

I know he's not a hard nut type of player, never will be and I don't expect him to play like that. But he just doesn't do enough, for a player with his supposed skills he's not damaging enough by foot and also shirks the odd contest here and there.

Which years did you observe

Stop living in the past.

This would be like me complaining about how unaccountable Fev is, or how unfit Lance is, or how Kouta just doesn't move as well since his knee ops...............build a bridge and move to the now!

Which years did you observe

Stop living in the past.

This would be like me complaining about how unaccountable Fev is, or how unfit Lance is, or how Kouta just doesn't move as well since his knee ops...............build a bridge and move to the now!

So you think he has improved from pervious years.. any reason/eveidence?

I think his 2006 was far better than either of his previous two years.
The stats back this up: (averages per game)
from '06, '05, '04
Kicks: 14.2 12.5 12.9
Handballs: 7 4.4 3.4
Marks: 5.8 3.9 4
Tackles: 1.6 2.2 1.4

The evidence is clear. More kicks, more handballs, more marks, tackles total in '06 = 36, c.f. 37 in '05.
:thumbsu:

You could say the same things about Stevens, Scotland, Walker, Waite and a number of other players. They're all forced to take on roles they're not ideally suited to and don't get much support. All would be stars in one of the top teams. But let's trade them all!

I don't think Matt Rosa thinks he's soft!

Yes fancy getting thrown hard onto a goal post and getting up to just keeping on playing. How soft is that?:rolleyes:

Keep hoping!

Let's be fair, he sat like a sack of spuds for 30 seconds.. mind you, he did give the post a belt!

Glad to see a couple of negative posts - I'd hate for everyone to agree in a public debate ;)

I can't list examples from last season, but there's always that air about him, on the run down the wing, your hopes raise... and then... clanger. Let's see how he goes with some more depth in the team this year.

:rolleyes:
Let's be fair, he sat like a sack of spuds for 30 seconds.. mind you, he did give the post a belt!

Glad to see a couple of negative posts - I'd hate for everyone to agree in a public debate ;)

I can't list examples from last season, but there's always that air about him, on the run down the wing, your hopes raise... and then... clanger. Let's see how he goes with some more depth in the team this year.

That's right- hit it so hard he couldn't move for 30 secs but still got up and kept playing. That's really soft!

A couple of negative posts. So called Carlton supporters bagging their own? This is bigfooty!:rolleyes:

I think his 2006 was far better than either of his previous two years.
The stats back this up: (averages per game)
from '06, '05, '04
Kicks: 14.2 12.5 12.9
Handballs: 7 4.4 3.4
Marks: 5.8 3.9 4
Tackles: 1.6 2.2 1.4

The evidence is clear. More kicks, more handballs, more marks, tackles total in '06 = 36, c.f. 37 in '05.
:thumbsu:

5 tackles on Sat and a good run down on Kepler Bradley last week which won him a free.

:rolleyes:
A couple of negative posts. So called Carlton supporters bagging their own? This is bigfooty!:rolleyes:

Oh come on. Would you prefer it to be smiles and sunshine no matter what we're discussing? Rohan Welsh was a top player, why did we ever get rid of him!! :rolleyes:

Its just opinions mate, and not everyone is going to agree with yours all the time.

Cheers for the stats, I can see why you think he's improving. For mine though, more stats don't equal improved performance necessarily, look at the way the game has changed over the years you've quoted. Half back flankers are picking up 12 marks a game these days.

Your argument loses all credibility with that statement.

The word frustrating springs to mind. By saying that I dont for one minute question his worth.

The odd turnover due to him trying to be too creative is what frustrates me. He has been a good servant of the navey blue and with an improving list, he should be able to shine

Oh come on. Would you prefer it to be smiles and sunshine no matter what we're discussing? Rohan Welsh was a top player, why did we ever get rid of him!! :rolleyes:

Its just opinions mate, and not everyone is going to agree with yours all the time.

Cheers for the stats, I can see why you think he's improving. For mine though, more stats don't equal improved performance necessarily, look at the way the game has changed over the years you've quoted. Half back flankers are picking up 12 marks a game these days.

Evidence? :D

Given the recent chatter about Hoops, Tex, and Waite and their disposal I am doing a review of last weeks match in terms of kicks, handballs, whether they are under pressure or not, and what the outcome is.

Will start a new thread on it, but half way through 3rd, and not looking good for Tex, Hoops and Waitey about even.:thumbsu:

New thread on Wednesday.