richcogs

Oct 8, 2004
Wodonga
Pittsburgh Penguins
I'd just like to know how Carlton can beat Richmond, your superior strengths overs us I don't know. So how is Pagan going to try and craft a win?

One thing I would recommend is that you shut out Brown, and your kid Wiggens did a really good job on him last year, up to when Brown was knock-out by Fev.

We're a little depleted at the moment, and this game will test our depth.

We need to keep Richo quiet, as he looked real sharp last week. Our defence is average, and we have had the most amount of points kicked against us this year.

Blues need to get run out of the middle and try not to waste any chances up forward

richcogs said:
I'd just like to know how Carlton can beat Richmond, your superior strengths overs us I don't know. So how is Pagan going to try and craft a win?

One thing I would recommend is that you shut out Brown, and your kid Wiggens did a really good job on him last year, up to when Brown was knock-out by Fev.

Carazzo would have played on Brown but there is a big question mark whether he will play. Maybe Bannister might get the job on Brown. Stitched him up quite nicely in a practice match last year. God knows how we are going to negate Richo.

Carlton midfield > Richmond midfield
Carlton forward line > Richmond backline
Richmond forward line > Carlton backline

based on that i'll select carlton to win in a relatively close game.

Kooley said:
God knows how we are going to negate Richo.
1988260.jpg

Bret Thornton

T-Bird played a superb game last week and I'm sure he'll continue that form. He holds our defence together as good as Sos ever did. A lot depends on the umpires though. Last year Richo got a couple of frees infront of goals against T-Bird which gave the Tigers a sniff at the time. Thornton gives his opponents plenty of attention and against big blokes like Richo, the umps could blow the whistle for holding.

A lot depends on our midfield. If we apply the pressure, Richmond will crumble.

Funkalicous said:

as clearly demonstrated when we lost to geelong by 60 and stKilda by 60, they got the ball and kicked goals, we got the ball and turned it over to them and they kicked goals.

But is Carlton in their class? Richmond certainly aren't.

Richo is doing well because of midfield presence as wallace is finding us easier to work with than frawley did

Funkalicous said:
T-Bird played a superb game last week and I'm sure he'll continue that form. He holds our defence together as good as Sos ever did. A lot depends on the umpires though. Last year Richo got a couple of frees infront of goals against T-Bird which gave the Tigers a sniff at the time. Thornton gives his opponents plenty of attention and against big blokes like Richo, the umps could blow the whistle for holding.

As much as i think T-Bird is a good player Richo is in devasting form at the moment and i doubt whether he can hold him. Last year when we beat The Tigers Richo was no-where near the form he is in now.

For me personaly i dont mind if thorntan plays well on richo becuase it may take the focus off him and have the players more so kick to Stafford and Simmonds , while Pettifer and Brown have been in great form as pockets too.
Who will take Staff and Simmonds for the blues, surley Lance and Kouta wont play back, does this easily suggest O Hailpin or Prendergast come into the side? Doesnt seem to be much to take those 2 talls, considering Digby and Norman are out aswell. Hopefully the tiger boys have learnt that no matter how good a form richo is in, dont kick it too him if he is being double teamed, i see our best way of winning as Carlton being too focused on richo and the other big men are the one who do the damage

Kooley said:
As much as i think T-Bird is a good player Richo is in devasting form at the moment and i doubt whether he can hold him. Last year when we beat The Tigers Richo was no-where near the form he is in now.

Richo's always in top form. he's a very consistent performer.

he's like your e-mail service.

provided some one sends you mail and your server is working you'll get the mail

And that sums up our midfield for five years under frawley. He and brittain(The last two wooden spoon coaches(?)) didn't have the first clue how stoppages worked, so richo hardly say the footy

Walllace has the mids working fine now and richo and brown are getting stats.

richcogs said:

The Blues big advanatge is their midfielders - Stevens, Kouta and Campo can cause serious damage when they're playing well. The Tiges have a very tall forward lineup with heaps of experience, whereas our defenders are smaller and less experienced. Thornton will get the job on Richo and should do well as he usually does. Really missing a fit Karl Norman and Livo. Simmons will be probably get Prenda. Wiggo or Bannister will go with Brown. The Blue's forward line is obviously depleted with Fev unavailable, but we may surprise a few. Much younger than the Tiges forward line, but plenty of talent. Waite is dominating at present. A very difficult match-up because he has size (194cm) and serious pace and is starting to take big pack marks. More of an oversized midfielder who's learning to play KP roles. Hopefully Denis will play Lance at CHF, where he does his best work. The probable inclusion of Setanta adds several new dimensions to the mix. He's actually just over 200cm and 100kg, and plays best as a running, leading forward, although he can take the occasional pack mark. Sensational athlete and could cause the Richmond defenders some grief. He'll be instructed to bring the ball to ground as much as possible, where Eddie Betts will no doubt be at his feet, ready to do his stuff which can be breathtaking. Have a feeling that the brilliant, although inconsistent, Davies will have a good one. Eddies good performance have put him under a little pressure. The Blues obviously go in as underdogs given their poor form to date, injuries and suspensions, and the Tigers surprising good form, but we may be in for a little surprise. :)

celtic_pride said:
I'm not too worried, we haven't lost to the Tigers since 2001.
BTW Simmonds isn't much to worry about.

Didn't Simmonds give us a bit of a touch up last year playing fro Freo. For memory he marked well and kicked a bag against us at Optus last year and earlier in the year at Subi. Wouldn't take him too lightly.

PsychoTiger said:
Richo's always in top form. he's a very consistent performer.

he's like your e-mail service.

provided some one sends you mail and your server is working you'll get the mail

And that sums up our midfield for five years under frawley. He and brittain(The last two wooden spoon coaches(?)) didn't have the first clue how stoppages worked, so richo hardly say the footy

Walllace has the mids working fine now and richo and brown are getting stats.

disagree he is not always in good form. wasn't he dropped or on the verge of being dropped either last year or the year before.

PsychoTiger said:
as clearly demonstrated when we lost to geelong by 60 and stKilda by 60, they got the ball and kicked goals, we got the ball and turned it over to them and they kicked goals.

But is Carlton in their class? Richmond certainly aren't.

Richo is doing well because of midfield presence as wallace is finding us easier to work with than frawley did

Carlton aren't a 10 goal worse side than Geelong and St Kilda. Richmond clearly are......

richcogs said:

Kick more goals! :D

Kooley said:
disagree he is not always in good form. wasn't he dropped or on the verge of being dropped either last year or the year before.

Not for bad form...lol...for abusing a midfielder in his own team for having no skill. :D

Richo hasn't improved...our midfield has

put it this way

1. richo in a team coached by frawley saw slow imprecise and little delivery.

2. Frawley replaced by wallace.

3. richo in a team coached by walllace is getting quick regular and precise supply.

Funkalicous said:
Carlton aren't a 10 goal worse side than Geelong and St Kilda. Richmond clearly are......

:eek: wake up call

2004 round 10

Carlton 13.10.88...Stkilda 31.10. 196

2004 round 17

Carlton 11.8.74...Geelong 18.23. 131

they both had 41 pings at goal last time they played you

Blues_Man said:
take ya wooden spoon and go stir somewhere else
it's not like that...

i got side tracked by funky agreed, sorry,

but I was more having a conversation with kooley: explaining that Richo isn't the cause of our improvement but an indication. the cause itself is better coaching as you Blues found by replacing Brittain with Pagan.

PsychoTiger said:
it's not like that...

i got side tracked by funky agreed, sorry,

but I was more having a conversation with kooley: explaining that Richo isn't the cause of our improvement but an indication. the cause itself is better coaching as you Blues found by replacing Brittain with Pagan.

There's still an awful lot of very ordinary players on the Tiges list, hard to see them maintaining their momentum. :)

PsychoTiger said:
:eek: wake up call

2004 round 10

Carlton 13.10.88...Stkilda 31.10. 196

2004 round 17

Carlton 11.8.74...Geelong 18.23. 131

they both had 41 pings at goal last time they played you

If we are to go by 2004 then:

Carlton 18-16-124...Richmond 14-9-93 :)

parrot said:
There's still an awful lot of very ordinary players on the Tiges list, hard to see them maintaining their momentum. :)

Same can be said about us,the tiger's are a much better team than last year.

Blues_Man said:
take ya wooden spoon and go stir somewhere else

Looks like the spoon has been more than handy for digging up old results I reckon....

There's an unhealthy ammount of expectation at Punt Road I feel. Kind of odd considering you only have to look back 2 weeks to see their last pasting. Typical Richmond mind you... To think they're also the favourites for this match.. :eek: Wouldn't wanna be a Tiger on Saturday arfo.....

How can Carlton beat Richmond?