Piss Poor

Has anyone been Hypnotised or been to a show, I just cant work out this stuff, how can it be real, its impossible, most clips I see on Hypnotism seem extremely fake like they are acting to me- like the one above, but then again how the hell can they keep a straight face while doing stupid stuff without even a smile, so that's making me think that it is real, but how can it be, I cant get myself to sleep at the best of times it usually takes me a hour or two- good luck with trying to do it by snapping your fingers.

Hypnotism is all about a willing participant. The participant generally needs to be slightly disoriented by the allure of the show and then they follow the hypnotists instructions because they are in front of an audience or because they want to be hypnotised. If you are extremely fervent on not being hypnotised and don't listen to the hypnotist and it won't work. Its sort of a trick that is played on your mind but requires you to accept that trick for it to work.

Stage hypnotism is bullshit. I went through it with about 12 others at a work conference on the Goldy about 10 years ago. I'd had a skinful of free piss so I went along with it but it didn't work and I felt absolutely no different. I'm positive none of the others were "hypnotised" either.
Anyone, aside from shrinks and doctors, that say they can hypnotise people into acting like chooks and horses and do stupid shit is full of crap. You just have to get a willing audience and a few people that will play along.

Hypnotists are bullshit
Hypnosis is real.

Less then 15% of the entire human population is able to enter a deep hypnotic trance where by you can get the person to act out tasks they would otherwise not do AND have no recollection of what happened.

Further more this can not occur quickly, as hypnotist commonly do. It's just not possible, any legitimate hypnotherapist will tell you this it takes 2-3 sessions sometimes initially taking hours.

But once this is done and the person is more or less "conditioned" then yes a person can enter such a state with the click of the hypnotherapist fingers.

What you see in hypnotist shows is simply a stylised Hollywood version of hypnosis, filled with plants and people going along with it for fun and a bit of peer pressure.

Certainly says alot about society when people will act like complete ****wits because it's expected of them.

There is of course a very serious and potentially dangerous side to these hypnosis shows, I can't remember the percentage (think about 3%) but people with dissociative disorders can get ****ed up because they are highly susceptible to trances.

Not necessarily deep trances but placing anyone with emotional and behavioural disorders under trances can have very badside effects. especially if the person placing them in the trance is unaware of the problem

So do we think the Power players were acting?

It looked like acting to me, the whole heavy football thing was absurd and wouldn't play out like that IMO if someone actually believed they were heavy

Not for a second do I believe that kind of stuff is possible, but I guess that type of memory recollection stuff or quit smoking stuff is real

I always wondered this. I remember when I was about U/13's at my footy club, heaps of people would always come back to the clubrooms for a drink and get together on Sunday after the games. One night there was a hypnosis guy or something that was there to perform for the night. I didn't go that night but I wouldn't have wanted it to me be as I would either have been hypnotized and done who knows what or at least I have have had to pretended to go along with it if it didn't work

I was only about 20 and incredibly shy - I really don't believe I would have been able to have carried out any of the 'acts' just to fit in

I went to one of those stage things we went 2 nights in a row when I lived in Canada

Went up the first night thinking it was a bit of a joke and got kicked off because nothing happened but the girl from across the hall stayed
Second night I went back up and it worked, can remember everything but literally could not stop myself doing what he asked. Hadn't been drinking at that stage and i'm not normally the type to act stupid when sober.

True hypnosis is about entering a trance like state and being open to suggestion. Through this apparently the subconscious can be activated and behaviour change can occur. That is why people willing to go generally want to stop a behaviour, smoking, drinking etc or enhance a behaviour, be more confident, relax more etc.

Whether you believe it or not the key is to be open to suggestion. I doubt anyone could be forced to involuntarily cluck like a chicken or dance randomly without their consent.

Has anyone been Hypnotised or been to a show, I just cant work out this stuff, how can it be real, its impossible, most clips I see on Hypnotism seem extremely fake like they are acting to me- like the one above, but then again how the hell can they keep a straight face while doing stupid stuff without even a smile, so that's making me think that it is real, but how can it be, I cant get myself to sleep at the best of times it usually takes me a hour or two- good luck with trying to do it by snapping your fingers.

My brother and sister in law's family went on a cruise for a couple of weeks and Mark Anthony was on there. He cracked everyone up. Look him up on youtube. He's absolutely hilarious.