hamohawk1

Watching the game right now its great seeing the likes of Heeney diverted from a rugby league path into our game but in an ideal manner i believe the AFL should overall the academy systems in both NSW and Queensland with appropriate resources given to help develop these kids with minimal affiliation to any of the teams in these states. This would ensure these kids are developed appropriately and are then given to the team that is need of them most. Possible concession can be made if one of the teams i.e. brisbane is near the bottom of the ladder (bottom four) possibly bidding for the individual and using their first or second round pick. This ensures that these rugby league heartlands are continually developed to extract AFL talent but every team gets a potential chance at a genuine future star.

Wall of text hits you for 1k.

Seriously, that first sentence is over 40 words long.

As for the post itself, the last thing we need is to further complicate an already silly system.

You don't need to change anything other than reducing the point discount clubs get on draft day. That and maybe reducing the marginal gains from using each additional pick when trying to match a bid. Simple.

Agree with the sentiment on Mills, but I don't have a problem with academies as they are. I would love to see Syd, GWS, Bris, GC made up from mostly home state players one day.

I think the current output of the academies has been overstated.

As far as I know Brisbane need all the help they can get. I reckon this academy system will be the only good way to gwt back up the ladder.

No point for brisbane getting interstaters only for them to flee after 2-3 years

They're kinda also used to help address deficiencies of homegrown players on the lists of QLD and NSW clubs so yeah nah rubbish plan.
Whats wrong with that plan?

I was speaking to some of the lions supporters on your board. The lions need inside mids. But in this years academy there are half forward flankers and wingers. Sure there isnt any one that is a need but at least theres se talent coming through

While it's nice and romantic to have home-staters on the lists of NSW and QLD clubs, it's a national league, and most other clubs have a fair mixture of players from their home state and elsewhere.

I do think the AFL should eventually work towards league-run junior academies in NSW/ACT, QLD, Tasmania and NT, with bidding on players allowed from all clubs come draft time. Would accelerate the development and growth of the game and players in those states and territories if the AFL put some real time, infrastructure and financial backing into junior talent pathways, probably as much or moreso than basing a senior club in these states and having club-run academies.

Except they already did this with the NSW/ACT scholarship and that did SFA so the AFL brought in club run academies and talent is actually coming through now with proper development pathways.

Yeah but the scholarship still had a club affiliation, and wasn't really run as having a proper development squad, just a few select individuals who a club had a hand in the development of (while they were still based at home with their home club). Fair difference to both what is in place now and what I proposed.

Let me put it this way:

Every time the AFL get involved with developing footy in states like NSW, QLD, Tassie and the NT/ACT, they more often than not **** it up completely. Since the Northern clubs have taken over from that, development up North has improved tenfold with that much more talent coming out and interest in the code actually getting a lot better in areas where interest is usually non-existent.

If you think kids from Tweeds Head, Wollongong or Canberra give a shit about the AFL as a brand, then you clearly haven't been to those areas or talked to anyone from outside Victoria. Kids join the academies because it's linked to the clubs and the area and not the league.

Unless you get all these areas hooked onto footy then your idea will just never work. People really need to understand that in the Northern states, it's like a different country altogether when it comes to sport.

Let me put it this way:

Every time the AFL get involved with developing footy in states like NSW, QLD, Tassie and the NT/ACT, they more often than not **** it up completely. Since the Northern clubs have taken over from that, development up North has improved tenfold with that much more talent coming out and interest in the code actually getting a lot better in areas where interest is usually non-existent.

If you think kids from Tweeds Head, Wollongong or Canberra give a shit about the AFL as a brand, then you clearly haven't been to those areas or talked to anyone from outside Victoria. Kids join the academies because it's linked to the clubs and the area and not the league.

Unless you get all these areas hooked onto footy then your idea will just never work. People really need to understand that in the Northern states, it's like a different country altogether when it comes to sport.

Well that's what I'm asking for, for the AFL to do it properly.

Just misses the point.

It's like this;

League, Soccer and Union do not have drafts or rules pertaining of how or where to obtain players and thus talented athletes can join knowing they are extremely likely if not certain to remain in their home state.

Unlike the footy heartland states there is not an emotional pull towards Australian Football and there are pathways to those aforementioned sports to stay in the home state.

The proposition and any proposition that does not have a reasonable pathway to join the club within the state will fail.
It just will.

The Riverina is one area that this kind of system could work but it won't work in tradition league/soccer heartland.