$253, 750
Couple your house equity is more then
#380,500

Non house owner
If assets exceed
Single 456,750
Couples 583,500

Sent from my Pixel 3 XL using Tapatalk

Those limits apply to assets outside of the principal home.

It's so frustrating I've been seriously considering registering for disability just because it will be less bureaucracy to get some cash out of the system.

Same system (assets test etc) applies for getting newstart as for getting DSP. The extra thing for the DSP is you need to satisfy the impairment test. http://guides.dss.gov.au/guide-social-security-law/1/1/i/10 So it involves doctors, specialists etc. There are minimum time limits on how long you have seen a particular doctor before Centrelink will accept their assessments. Then you need to have an ESAT (employment services assessment) to determine the hours per week that you can work. I think it's 8 hours or less for DSP. There are also distinctions between temporary and permanent disabilities. The list of requirements goes on and on. There are NFP's out there that can assist with DSP claims. It's a rabbit hole that you can get lost in especially if you don't know the law.

edit. here is a link to NSW legal aid which gives a brief overview of claiming DSP. https://www.legalaid.nsw.gov.au/pub...resources/disability-support-pension-pamphlet

Are you sure
This attachment states assets.
It doesn't stipulate outside your homeView attachment 697714

Sent from my Pixel 3 XL using Tapatalk

100%

Page 2 of the pdf -
What’s not assessed as an asset by
Centrelink?
You might currently exceed the assets cut-off
limits, however it’s possible you could arrange
your finances to pass the assets test. That’s
because there are a number of key assets
which are not assessed. They are:
1. Your home… and renovations you make
to it.

sorted is for example an unemployed clerk and you could get him/her a job today?

sorted, P.M. Royal Flush immediately.

Looks like I'm taking a casual job for $26.45 an hour - 7 minutes drive from home instead of 3 hour daily commute I used to do. Will pay for my red wine and Optus Sport while I find a better paying job.

Centrelink and the job agency they signed me up to have been absolutely useless. As I said, my Newstart application was rejected without explanation, but why exclude me from access to the job agency? It seems it's an admission that the job agency adds no value in finding work for people but is just an outsourced layer of bureaucracy that enforces the pointless requirement for people to apply for 22 jobs per month to qualify for Newstart.

Does anyone here actually know many living on Newstart because they're too lazy to get a job?

I've never met anyone with that disposition other than dealers.
Known a few - known a few more people whove just burnt out and spent a year or two recharging - then taken off again.

I never quite understand this right wing insistence on every single person needing to work.

I run a business - i get people in when i have overflow - one of them is a dead set dole bludger - hes f}#^*%#} useless.

I get him when im desperate, someone hasnt rocked up and i need a warm bod to feed a cable while im pulling the other end.

Anything more than that is beyond him - he doesnt have enough brainpower to metaphorically light a candle.

Seriously if left alone and presented with two options to do off his own initiative - one being a good option and one being a dead set idiotic idea that will cost you more time - he will more than likely take the latter.

I throw him a bit of work because i like the guy and hes had a rough trot in life thats killed any ambition confidence or drive.

But hes my dead set last choice - if an unknown is available through a labor hire place then ill take my chances on the unknown bloke.

Who the f%** do you think is going to employ a bloke like that full time righties?

Hes a handbrake not a help.

If he wants to sit on the rock and roll and be broke all his life - who even cares.

Known a few - known a few more people whove just burnt out and spent a year or two recharging - then taken off again.

I never quite understand this right wing insistence on every single person needing to work.

I run a business - i get people in when i have overflow - one of them is a dead set dole bludger - hes f}#^*%#} useless.

I get him when im desperate, someone hasnt rocked up and i need a warm bod to feed a cable while im pulling the other end.

Anything more than that is beyond him - he doesnt have enough brainpower to metaphorically light a candle.

Seriously if left alone and presented with two options to do off his own initiative - one being a good option and one being a dead set idiotic idea that will cost you more time - he will more than likely take the latter.

I throw him a bit of work because i like the guy and hes had a rough trot in life thats killed any ambition confidence or drive.

But hes my dead set last choice - if an unknown is available through a labor hire place then ill take my chances on the unknown bloke.

Who the f%** do you think is going to employ a bloke like that full time righties?

If he wants to sit on the rock and roll and be broke all his life - who even cares.
That's the trick for me.

In any group of humans above a certain size, you're going to have a genuine bottom 1% set of people. These people are unlikely to obtain sufficient skills or be sufficiently capable of self improvement, or aren't even going to want it. You can drag them along kicking and screaming, but they don't internalise it; like a lot of people, they just want to be left alone.

Do you a) force them to work for the dole, sending them along to work for charities where they might very well intimidate, steal, or just altogether be a waste of space and time for the people they're working with and for (one of the fellows I did WFTD with brought in a goon sack with him, hidden by the freezer bag he kept it in. People in charge just ignored it, because why would you confront someone who would bring and hide a goon sack?) and decrease their productivity b) leave them to their own devices and allow the businesses you're forcing them into to be far more productive in their absence and providing genuine options for those who legitimately want work (because the people who genuinely want a job, surprise surprise, will be active and will want to spend their time doing something productive) or do you c) let them ******* starve by providing them no welfare?

The question isn't 'how do we incentivise those without jobs to find them', because there is barely anyone at all who wants to be on the dole and do nothing else. The question is, how do we deal with the fact that there will always be a part of the population that is both unable and unwilling to work for their living? Do we let them starve? Do we force them to do what we want, building elaborate and devious measures to ensure that their lives are miserable, and in so doing simply torture the s**t out of the other jobless in order to catch them out? How do you deal with that 1%, in a civilised way?

Does anyone here actually know many living on Newstart because they're too lazy to get a job?

I've never met anyone with that disposition other than dealers.
Living in Perth never met anyone like that but out in the country there is definitely people in my neighbourhood that I don't think have had any job in years and I'd be surprised if they were ever looking.

It's a ****ed way of existing though, imo overall nationwide it would be a very small % of people that would prefer it just to avoid doing a bit of work.

Can you even get a slab of VB for $40 anymore?

Living in Perth never met anyone like that but out in the country there is definitely people in my neighbourhood that I don't think have had any job in years and I'd be surprised if they were ever looking.

It's a ****ed way of existing though, imo overall nationwide it would be a very small % of people that would prefer it just to avoid doing a bit of work.

Can you even get a slab of VB for $40 anymore?

That's why they move out to the bush though.
Rent is cheap, but the kids can still 'go to school'.
When they can be ****ed in dressing them and providing breakfast and lunch , and I'll take the rest of the benefits, (along with my 'remote' status), THANK YOU VERY MUCH.
The community will do that instead.
We are far enough away from the nearest Centrelink office so I don't have to apply for jobs like you city dickheads.

That's why they move out to the bush though.
Rent is cheap, but the kids can still 'go to school'.
When they can be ****** in dressing them and providing breakfast and lunch , and I'll take the rest of the benefits, (along with my 'remote' status), THANK YOU VERY MUCH.
The community will do that instead.
We are far enough away from the nearest Centrelink office so I don't have to apply for jobs like you city dickheads.
Yep, they move out here for those reasons plus plenty of state housing available. Definitely been an influx of shady looking characters in recent years but thankfully crime still seems to remain pretty low. One thing I'll say that whilst a lot of the indigenous long time locals don't seem to work they aren't usually the ones causing any trouble either and tend to look after their children. It's white blow ins I think are on drugs, stealing stuff and sending their kids to school without any lunches.

Might be more believable if there was something in the picture to show it was actually sent on 11 Jun and wasn't sent as evidence of the appt he claims he didn't know about. If he was telling the truth, it would be easily fixed with centrelink and he could have shared better evidence.

On SM-G570F using BigFooty.com mobile app
You’ve obviously never dealt with Centrelink. An incompetent, feckless, vindictive organisation if ever there was one. The recent scandal concerning robodebt (the method of calculating such debts is considered confidential information by Centrelink) is illustrative.

My wife was hounded for nearly two years by those b@stards over such an alleged robodebt. Her ‘agent’ was unhelpful, refused to correspond in writing as she demanded (to prevent her words being twisted), continued to shift the narrative and explanation for why the debt had been issued in the first place, lied about debt recovery mechanisms employed by Centrelink, and despite being advised that her debt was on hold pending resolution of the issue she got calls from debt collection agencies demanding payment of the ‘monies owed’. In the end they got a lawyer involved to assist in settling a debt that ended up being settled for less than $100 (one hundred).

Such a waste of money and time for all involved. Thankfully my wife retained all her receipts and correspondence relating to payments she received (a scholarship programme) so they couldn’t shaft her and were eventually forced to withdraw most of their claim. Their initial calculation was in the order of $9,000 so it’s easy to see that people who can’t defend their interests like my wife are in trouble when dealing with such a corrupt and malignant outfit.

Looks like I'm taking a casual job for $26.45 an hour - 7 minutes drive from home instead of 3 hour daily commute I used to do. Will pay for my red wine and Optus Sport while I find a better paying job.

Centrelink and the job agency they signed me up to have been absolutely useless. As I said, my Newstart application was rejected without explanation, but why exclude me from access to the job agency? It seems it's an admission that the job agency adds no value in finding work for people but is just an outsourced layer of bureaucracy that enforces the pointless requirement for people to apply for 22 jobs per month to qualify for Newstart.
The ‘job agencies’ are another rort. At my previous workplace we hired a fellow with a criminal record that included a stint behind bars. He got the job by looking online himself, despite being placed with the agency post release (which had been six months prior to starting). Despite having SFA to do with him getting work, the agency’s engagement with him increased after he got the job, they started hounding him to sign paperwork stating that they had succeeded in placing him in employment- stat padding, in other words. He finally agreed to sign the paperwork after they offered him a $75 gift card for Woolworths, which was delivered to him in person by his agent at our workplace- of course she travelled during work hours using an official vehicle, which was no doubt backcharged.

This is not an uncommon scenario, confirmed for me by another colleague who had previously worked with such an agency and had himself made such gift card deliveries in an attempt to pad his own stats. If the government is serious about cutting waste in the public sector this is the first place I’d be looking, though to me these agencies exist as a mechanism of control of the unemployed, and are likely to be spared any real cuts.

The ‘job agencies’ are another rort. At my previous workplace we hired a fellow with a criminal record that included a stint behind bars. He got the job by looking online himself, despite being placed with the agency post release (which had been six months prior to starting). Despite having SFA to do with him getting work, the agency’s engagement with him increased after he got the job, they started hounding him to sign paperwork stating that they had succeeded in placing him in employment- stat padding, in other words. He finally agreed to sign the paperwork after they offered him a $75 gift card for Woolworths, which was delivered to him in person by his agent at our workplace- of course she travelled during work hours using an official vehicle, which was no doubt backcharged.

This is not an uncommon scenario, confirmed for me by another colleague who had previously worked with such an agency and had himself made such gift card deliveries in an attempt to pad his own stats. If the government is serious about cutting waste in the public sector this is the first place I’d be looking, though to me these agencies exist as a mechanism of control of the unemployed, and are likely to be spared any real cuts.

Great watch

IMO we don't want to. Everyone saw the 2014 budget, everyone knew what a cluster **** it was yet next 2 elections status quo X2.

Australia (majority) is happy where it is to a point. And while not the same everywhere the country just doesn't want change.
Hurtz 2 admit but we are such a conservative nation
The highly likely coming recession will be an interesting spanner into that works.

Yep, that both sides of government have always been quite happy with.

Vast majority of deliberate worsening is done by Liberal Governments. They don't support welfare (or public healthcare) so they do it quietly, outsourcing and feign ignorance at the intentional results.

Probably crappy asian marijuana, goon, and the occasional 2min noodles.

I'd need to find a way to survive 365 days of free time. I'd go nuts sober with nothing to do. There'd be no point saving $40, it'll never amount to anything. I'd have to spend it on substances until I can get the age pension

Simple - the Australian right are taking their cues from the US/UK right, which have both been influenced by the prejudices of Calvinism/Puritan Protestanism towards non-workers.

You’ve obviously never dealt with Centrelink. An incompetent, feckless, vindictive organisation if ever there was one. The recent scandal concerning robodebt (the method of calculating such debts is considered confidential information by Centrelink) is illustrative.

My wife was hounded for nearly two years by those b@stards over such an alleged robodebt. Her ‘agent’ was unhelpful, refused to correspond in writing as she demanded (to prevent her words being twisted), continued to shift the narrative and explanation for why the debt had been issued in the first place, lied about debt recovery mechanisms employed by Centrelink, and despite being advised that her debt was on hold pending resolution of the issue she got calls from debt collection agencies demanding payment of the ‘monies owed’. In the end they got a lawyer involved to assist in settling a debt that ended up being settled for less than $100 (one hundred).

Such a waste of money and time for all involved. Thankfully my wife retained all her receipts and correspondence relating to payments she received (a scholarship programme) so they couldn’t shaft her and were eventually forced to withdraw most of their claim. Their initial calculation was in the order of $9,000 so it’s easy to see that people who can’t defend their interests like my wife are in trouble when dealing with such a corrupt and malignant outfit.

The irritating thing about robo-debt was that it effectively pinged people who worked part-time while collecting Centrelink. Full-time welfare recipients, meanwhile, were not pinged very much if at all. If anything the whole scheme represented a disincentive to work in practice.

Great watch

If the LNP were serious about creating a surplus, they would abolish Jobactive and stop private companies from sucking at the public teat.

It's definitely a huge rort between the government and the job agencies.

In addition, I believe some of the major international consultancy companies have picked up government contracts for aboriginal affairs such as housing. Multi-hundred million dollar deals for no proven benefit.