Injuries

Out of curiousity, how is Powell's injury coming on? I heard he played well in a practice game, so is he on track to play in round 1 (& hopefull get back to his 2000 form)? Also, what is story with Rigoni, as I heard he is having back problems which may keep him out indefinitely? Again he is a key midfielder you guys need on the park.

Originally posted by Kane McGoodwin
Out of curiousity, how is Powell's injury coming on? I heard he played well in a practice game, so is he on track to play in round 1 (& hopefull get back to his 2000 form)? Also, what is story with Rigoni, as I heard he is having back problems which may keep him out indefinitely? Again he is a key midfielder you guys need on the park.

Well Powelly is back on track and is ready to go for round 1. The deal with him is that in order to bring him back into the game gradually without putting too much pressure on him he will only play every second match so say he plays round 5 he won't play round 6 but he'll be back during round 7!
Rigoni's back is pretty bad, I think he had an operation on it never the less the have no idea when he'll be back... it could be 3 weeks or 3 months or never again! Hopefully he can come back ready for the second half of the season, but thats what they said about Powell last year and yeah well that didn't happen! :(

Re: Re: Injuries

Originally posted by DEES RULE!

Well Powelly is back on track and is ready to go for round 1. The deal with him is that in order to bring him back into the game gradually without putting too much pressure on him he will only play every second match so say he plays round 5 he won't play round 6 but he'll be back during round 7!
Rigoni's back is pretty bad, I think he had an operation on it never the less the have no idea when he'll be back... it could be 3 weeks or 3 months or never again! Hopefully he can come back ready for the second half of the season, but thats what they said about Powell last year and yeah well that didn't happen! :(

yep, its sad but true. i think powell will come up as good as new, but as for rigas... well all we can do is hope!

Originally posted by Kane McGoodwin

There is serious doubt over Guy Rigoni ever playing footy again :(. You hear so many conflicting reports but he isn't even close to training apparently. He looked fairly cheerful at the praccy match on Saturday so you never know.

Powell on the other hand was fantastic! He sparked us into life, same ol Powelly. I read in the Hun today that he's pain free for the first time in 18 months. His condition (Osteitis Pubis) is a wear & tear type injury as we all know so it may resurface but hopefully with careful management he'll stay on the field.

The paper also said that Daniel Ward is likely to play against Hawthorn, I find this surprising as he's had no preparation & would have to gain match fitness at Sandringham I'd reckon. However if he is fit then I'd have him in, he's class!

Re: Re: Injuries

Originally posted by BT
The paper also said that Daniel Ward is likely to play against Hawthorn, I find this surprising as he's had no preparation & would have to gain match fitness at Sandringham I'd reckon. However if he is fit then I'd have him in, he's class!

and he's a Hoppers boy too :)

BT basically wrapped it up pretty well. Rigoni missed half of last year with this back injury, theyve given him the summer to get over it and apparently theres been none or very little improvement. Ive heard its similar to Gary Lyons back injury. Any game time from Rigoni this year will be a major bonus.

Powell played a half on the weekend and couldntve looked better. Picked up 12 posessions and was one of the main reasons we fought back and got into the game. The club says he'll be played every 2nd week but if he continues his form of last week I cant see them wanting to drop him.

I guess I shouldn't put Powell in my 'The Australian' fantasy Footy side then?? I was going to but if he's only going to play every other game....what do you think? Is he worth a punt, considering only your best 18 players score each week?

Originally posted by ant
I guess I shouldn't put Powell in my 'The Australian' fantasy Footy side then?? I was going to but if he's only going to play every other game....what do you think? Is he worth a punt, considering only your best 18 players score each week?

Mate, get on the Melbourne players. All underrated and top value.

That 2 players per club max rule is damn annoying!!

Armstrong - 3, Powell - 4, Johnstone - 4, Leoncelli - 6, Green - 3, Bizzel - 6, Broadbridge - 3 are all bargains.

Also a lot of Bulldogs I want in. :mad:

Originally posted by BIG POPPA PUMP

Mate, get on the Melbourne players. All underrated and top value.

That 2 players per club max rule is damn annoying!!

Armstrong - 3, Powell - 4, Johnstone - 4, Leoncelli - 6, Green - 3, Bizzel - 6, Broadbridge - 3 are all bargains.

Also a lot of Bulldogs I want in. :mad:

Bloody hell, I forgot that I already have Green and Johnstone in my side. I agree, you seem to have a number of players underrated, which would be good except for that rule :)

Bad news about Rigoni, but having Powell back will by like a new recruit.

Ant - IMO, Powell is an absolute bargain @ 4 IF he plays. Jonhstone @ 4 looks OK if he can step up. Armstrong & Broadbridge could also be worth a punt. However, I reckon Bizzell is over-rated @ 6.