masked magpie

OK - I fully admit to NOT being a Carlton person in any way however I cant understand why you Carlton pukes seem to think the sun shines out of Ian Collins a$$

I get lots of feedback (read that as whinges) about the inner working of the club cos my missus is a fully paid up sociial club member who goes to everything .... AGM - Family Days - Jumper Presentations etc

while Elliott was in charge during the salray cap breaches wasnt Collins your CEO / Business Manager - surely he knew what was going on

The Greg Williams affair - Collins brought charges against Diesel that rest of the football world was flummoxed about

You guys moved to TD - not the MCG and got screwed - I still do not believe he had a hand in this

how can you people believe this bloke has Carltons best interest at heart given this track record ???

when you compare them I reckon you should put Big Jacks name back up on that grandstand and burn anything with Ian Collins name on it.

Ahhh, where has this come from? Don't you think you're addressing the issue a little late?

We have just had a great election result and are looking towards the future, not the mistakes of the past.

OK - I fully admit to NOT being a Carlton person in any way however I cant understand why you Carlton pukes seem to think the sun shines out of Ian Collins a$$
Hmmm, nice opening. Do I take the 'pukes' jibe as abuse on a team board?

I get lots of feedback (read that as whinges) about the inner working of the club cos my missus is a fully paid up sociial club member who goes to everything .... AGM - Family Days - Jumper Presentations etc
Fine ... naturally our supporter based is very splintered these days so feedback from one member is hardly indicative of the whole membership.

while Elliott was in charge during the salray cap breaches wasnt Collins your CEO / Business Manager - surely he knew what was going on
The Blues and pretty much every other club had cheated in the early days but Collins was at the AFL in time to head the moratorium. So, no Collins did not oversee the breaches that lead to our massive penalties.

The Greg Williams affair - Collins brought charges against Diesel that rest of the football world was flummoxed about
AFL employee proving he wasn't letting his old team off lightly. In the context of today though, the penalty was absurd. At the time, it hadn't had much exposure and I guess they were looking for a firm precedent.

You guys moved to TD - not the MCG and got screwed - I still do not believe he had a hand in this
We moved to both but got $3m for the 6 games at the Dome to help pay out our PP contacts.

how can you people believe this bloke has Carltons best interest at heart given this track record ???

when you compare them I reckon you should put Big Jacks name back up on that grandstand and burn anything with Ian Collins name on it.
No doubt both had Carlton's interests at heart with a great deal of ego thrown in. How you can suggest that Jack should get his name back up in comparison to Collins is beyond me. The manner of the breaches and the way Carlton's list was run into the ground because of the 'we don't rebuild' policy, was enough to ensure Carlton have still yet to recover.

Collins instigated the move to oust Elliot. Cancer - your charming metaphor - can be survived if the malignant cells are cut out. Nothing was going to improve at the club until Elliot went so if nothing else Collins is remembered positively for that.

Im sure your "missus" appreciates the compliment!!!!
And if you "do not believe he had a hand in this", why post it!!!!
Your spelling is shocking, you have no idea what you are talking about. These issues are as old as Moses my knuckle-dragging friend, did you find an old paper waiting in line at Centrelink to prompt this!!!! Go home, (make sure you call first so I can leave) and post on your own pathetic board.

Is that the smell of death in the air at Carlton? :( It doesn't look good at Carlton either way. Something drastic has to be done.
A thread about Ian Collins compels you to comment about the smell of death of Carlton? Unless you want to elaborate, I think I might consider this an opportunistic cheap shot.

Ironic post considering your sig says 'South Melbourne will never die'.

A thread about Ian Collins compels you to comment about the smell of death of Carlton? Unless you want to elaborate, I think I might consider this an opportunistic cheap shot.

Ironic post considering your sig says 'South Melbourne will never die'.

And you actually think I was trolling? That's just laughable. Haven't you read the herald-sun? They have been saying death is at Carlton's doorstep as well and I am just echoing that comment.

And you actually think I was trolling? That's just laughable.
Read it again. I said I might consider it that way, considering it is a thread about Ian Collins and your comment is totally random in regards to this thread.

The problem with text is that it can be interpreted many ways especially with off topic type posts such as yours. Did you get infracted? No. Did I ask the question? Yes.

You don't moderate the boards and put up with cheap shots and genuine trolling all day so you are hardly coming from the same enlightened position as me now are you?

Haven't you read the herald-sun? They have been saying death is at Carlton's doorstep as well and I am just echoing that comment.
For what purpose?

If the HUN said that we were a rabble and pathetic and you echoed that comment on here, that would be trolling too by the way.

Is that the smell of death in the air at Carlton? :( It doesn't look good at Carlton either way. Something drastic has to be done.

State the obvious, I dare you!!

But at least the AFL doesn't own my club :D

And you actually think I was trolling? That's just laughable. Haven't you read the herald-sun? They have been saying death is at Carlton's doorstep as well and I am just echoing that comment.

Oh yes. Because you should believe everything you read in the Herald Sun :rolleyes:

Your username appears incorrect.

Your posts don't present yourself as a lover of footy.

Isn't it amusing to see supporters of Collingwood & Sydney bagging our club & its administration. On the one hand you have a club (Collingwood) that came close to death's door twice inside 20 years ie the mid '80s, when at one stage they had 2 boards operating against each other, who both appointed their own coach & of course the late '90s when Eddie finall came on board & was able to give them blanket media coverage & their own prime time footy show, ensuring that sponsors were queueing up to get a mention on the Eddie & Nathan show.

With regards to Sydney, let's never forget the VFL/AFL paid $1 to buy the Sydney Swans back from its private owners & then installed their best administrator (Alan Schwab) to run the show. They then propped them up to the tune of millions of dollars while getting them back on their feet. Encouraged one of football's biggest names to come on board (Ron Barassi) & threw massive dollars at Plugger to move to Sin City. Yet despite all this, they continue to hover on the precipice of demise, being only a couple of seasons at the bottom end of the ladder away from lurching back into massive financial strife.

Yes our club is financially on the nose, we all know that, & it is a battle to keep our head above water, but we certainly don't need input from supporters of clubs who have demonstrated that they can be equally as abysmal, if not more abysmal, than what our club is.

Read you own sig pal. South Melbourne are the dead club. Even Fitzroy still have their club, and correct name. I'd prefer to drop out of the AFL than to sell out as South Melbourne did. Pathetic!

OK - I fully admit to NOT being a Carlton person in any way however I cant understand ...

With the title "Internal Cancer" I thought you were referring to Eddies ongoing feud with his football department and coach, over responsibility for the Pies terrible list management post those GF losses. Now old, and slow, the Pies look set for a 4-year-bottom-4-rebuild. Hopefully they'll get the recruitment right this time. :)

Isn't it amusing to see supporters of Collingwood & Sydney bagging our club & its administration. On the one hand you have a club (Collingwood) that came close to death's door twice inside 20 years ie the mid '80s, when at one stage they had 2 boards operating against each other, who both appointed their own coach & of course the late '90s when Eddie finall came on board & was able to give them blanket media coverage & their own prime time footy show, ensuring that sponsors were queueing up to get a mention on the Eddie & Nathan show.

I actually didn't realise how much of a rabble Collingwood were in the early 80's when Randall McDonald took over the club, and like you said MS, basically had 2 boards going at it against each other. Just an amazing story that was aired on Fox Footy (RIP) last year.

God damn, some people have short memories.

With the title "Internal Cancer" I thought you were referring to Eddies ongoing feud with his football department and coach, over responsibility for the Pies terrible list management post those GF losses. Now old, and slow, the Pies look set for a 4-year-bottom-4-rebuild. Hopefully they'll get the recruitment right this time. :)

Surely they couldn't stuff it up for a third year running, could they Parrot. They might have the $$$ in the AFL, but damn they make some ridiculous recruiting decisions.

Pendlebury at #5, seriously, that still makes me shake my head. :eek:

Surely they couldn't stuff it up for a third year running, could they Parrot. They might have the $$$ in the AFL, but damn they make some ridiculous recruiting decisions.

Pendlebury at #5, seriously, that still makes me shake my head. :eek:

I still remember the shock when they called out Thomas with their #2 pick. Every other team with top-10 picks, had to quickly change their first choices after this suprise "gift" from the Pies. It's not just their terrible recruitment and list management, but despite the Eddie-hyped Lexus Centre, I could not believe what poor condition Cam Cloke was in when he arrived. Several other players on the Pies list (esp Rocca, T Cloke), looked overweight and huffing and puffing for much of season 2006. The Pies are also famous for their 'deskilling' of players. Going to take a lot of work to undo the damage this experience has had on Cam Cloke, but to his credit he's making some positive steps. :)

hey

I wasnt trolling against the Blues

I actually love our rivallry - gee did I spell that right or will I be banned for poor grammer & english)??

I just cant understand how Collins (puke) is considered higher than Elliot considering his track record

hey

I wasnt trolling against the Blues

I actually love our rivallry - gee did I spell that right or will I be banned for poor grammer & english)??

I just cant understand how Collins (puke) is considered higher than Elliot considering his track record

Collins has some successes to look back on & also is recognised in the general football community (not footy supporters) as one of the best footy administrators. Of his successes there was membership of a premiership side (1968), some great recruiting (the most famous of all the signing of Sticks as a 16 year old on a Form Four). He was also employed as the clubs general manager/accountant during the days when the club was a financial giant. He was hand picked by the AFL to replace Alan Schwab (one of the AFL's best administrators). It was shortly after this that the financial fortunes of the Carlton Football Club started their nose dive. He was prepared to take on Elliott in 2002, after several years of no-one having the courage to take on Elliott & he has turned the Telstra Dome into a highly profitable sports stadium. Unfortunately the demands of being club president & CEO at Telstra Dome were too great for someone of his age & something had to give.

Things may still look grim at the Carlton Football Club at the moment but Collo has laid some stepping stones that should lead to the club being strong & successful once more. Generally, though, it is not too hard to exceed someone who not only brought a football club to its knees but also took a business to extinction.

I still remember the shock when they called out Thomas with their #2 pick. Every other team with top-10 picks, had to quickly change their first choices after this suprise "gift" from the Pies. It's not just their terrible recruitment and list management, but despite the Eddie-hyped Lexus Centre, I could not believe what poor condition Cam Cloke was in when he arrived. Several other players on the Pies list (esp Rocca, T Cloke), looked overweight and huffing and puffing for much of season 2006. The Pies are also famous for their 'deskilling' of players. Going to take a lot of work to undo the damage this experience has had on Cam Cloke, but to his credit he's making some positive steps. :)
He was tipped to go 5 we took him at 2. Took a risk and looks to of paid off cause the hawks would of taken him at 3. I'm sure all collingwood supporters and football supporters in general know that he has shown more than a previous number 2 draft picks such as little kouta himself Andrew Walker. All he is a back flanker with no flair, but at least he can run fas though! Thomas takes players on and wins, kicks goals as well as taking 4 screaming marks in his first year of AFL. Not a bad pick by the pies i think. Who did we miss on? Kennedy? How many games did he play?