Suspended
Feb 27, 2007
At Khan's place
Not Fremantle
Can someone please clarify if Greg "messiah" Miller is the man responsible for selecting JON at 8 and Meyer at (was it 14?).

Have you ever seen anyone with less an idea about playing football as JON? His lack of awareness is as bad as I have seen. I remember at the time people being surprised he went so low in the draft. What is it that Greggy boy saw in him? Certainly not skill or ability.
Don't start me on Meyer!

Didn't Terry say that JON would "silence his critics this year"?

MMMM.

Surely it is time for Greg to step down?

Can someone please clarify if Greg "messiah" Miller is the man responsible for selecting JON at 8 and Meyer at (was it 14?).

Have you ever seen anyone with less an idea about playing football as JON? His lack of awareness is as bad as I have seen. I remember at the time people being surprised he went so low in the draft. What is it that Greggy boy saw in him? Certainly not skill or ability.
Don't start me on Meyer!

Didn't Terry say that JON would "silence his critics this year"?

MMMM.

Surely it is time for Greg to step down?
but he knows more about footy than you and he makes money out of footy do you?

To answer your question Francis Jackson is responsible for JON and yes he will be a very good player - a West Coast recruiter said they would have (allegedly) considered JON for the bloody #1 pick if they had it so he can't be that bad. He was always going to go between pick 5-15.

And how is it Miller's fault that Meyer sustained a serious hip injury for so long?

• Banned
To answer your question Francis Jackson is responsible for JON and yes he will be a very good player - a West Coast recruiter said they would have (allegedly) considered JON for the bloody #1 pick if they had it so he can't be that bad. He was always going to go between pick 5-15.

And how is it Miller's fault that Meyer sustained a serious hip injury for so long?

I can't believe that anyone who has watched JON "play" can make a statement like that. He is in his third year and has absolutley no idea what he is doing and is a professional target misser. Simply a false statement to suggest he will be "very good" . Just think who we could have taken at 8.
I suppose that Meyer's hip injury means that he misses every target he aims for? Have you seen him kick?

Both should have been delisted

Meyer is a very good kick and obviously having a hip injury is going to set him back, its not a case of saying his hip makes him miss targets
its a case of saying his hip causes him to miss training / gametime therefore obviously his skills arent gonna be as sharp in his first or second game back
alot of people have huge wraps on danny and its no suprise
his a very skillful player and once he gets over his injuries hopefully can bust back into our team

Jon has had one preseason

its like saying Cotchin is no good
hasnt done anything yet

Stupid
Jons a Kid give him a chance before you write him off

Richmond supporters are known for eating their own
lets not eat 18 - 22 year olds with injuries its a little pathetic

I can't believe that anyone who has watched JON "play" can make a statement like that. He is in his third year and has absolutley no idea what he is doing and is a professional target misser. Simply a false statement to suggest he will be "very good" . Just think who we could have taken at 8.
I suppose that Meyer's hip injury means that he misses every target he aims for? Have you seen him kick?

It's both too early to say he will be a very good player or the first player delisted at the end of the year. The RFC will give JON at least 4 years to develop into an AFL footballer.

He was always going to take awhile. His form so far has been unimpressive, but he has finally had his first pre-season and we need to give him more time to prove he is AFL material.

As for Meyer, he is on his last legs and although injuries have hurt him, this year I'd assume he will need to show something otherwise he will be delisted.

he was a very good young player were he was playing some players just can't handle the step up some take longer than others not sure which one he is yet.

I have. Seen quite a bit of him at Coburg. You obviously haven't. Terrific kick and generally good ball user. The knock on him for mine is (1) contrary to reports does not have enough pace and (2) doesn't get it enough.

Also he was much better year 1 than year 3. In fact he was very impressive at Coburg in year 1 (2005).

Therefore the "Hip injury' theory may hold some water in that it may have affected his pace and general abilty to get to contest after contest. No guarantee of success with him though!

However it's clear that you are bagging someone just for the sake of it or just following the crowd.

Meyer is a very good kick and obviously having a hip injury is going to set him back, its not a case of saying his hip makes him miss targets
its a case of saying his hip causes him to miss training / gametime therefore obviously his skills arent gonna be as sharp in his first or second game back
alot of people have huge wraps on danny and its no suprise
his a very skillful player and once he gets over his injuries hopefully can bust back into our team

Jon has had one preseason

its like saying Cotchin is no good
hasnt done anything yet

Stupid
Jons a Kid give him a chance before you write him off

Richmond supporters are known for eating their own
lets not eat 18 - 22 year olds with injuries its a little pathetic

How do you know Meyer is a good kick? When have you seen him kick well? Under 12's?

JON missed the whole of pre-season last year did he, or just part of it?

We are heading down the andrew krakour road here where they will both play 100 very average games with everyone saying "give them time" etc etc. They are wasting spots on the list.
You need to put your faith in the right players or it becomes 5-6 years wasted "developing" these so called guns.
I will stick to my prediction that neither are any good. Good players will show you something in their first 8-10 games not look totally at sea with the game-refer Jon).
Intersting to note nobody said anything about my comment re Wallce's prediction that Jon would silence his critics.

Good one Terry, thats right up there with we can't win till 2011!

You're just digging a bigger hole for yourself.

Assuming others on here are as ignorant about our players attributes as you are is not a real smart debating technique.

Give it a rest flog!
You reckon the dud can kick , I don't. That doesn't make your "techniques" smarter than mine or you right. It is a matter of opinion unless you have some way to prove your VFL opinion.

You are in fantasy land if you think this guy will ever make it as an AFL player.
Let's clear the two spots( him and JON) now and put someone in who can play.

I can't believe that anyone who has watched JON "play" can make a statement like that.

I saw him play a majority of his matches for Coburg last year, did you? :)

How do you know Meyer is a good kick? When have you seen him kick well? Under 12's?

:eek: I'm not even going to reply because Danny is as good a kick as Deledio and Browny :eek:

Maybe you deserve another smiley :eek:

You should be delisted, could it be anymore obvious you're a Freo fan trolling our boards?! :cool:

Give it a rest flog!
You reckon the dud can kick , I don't. That doesn't make your "techniques" smarter than mine or you right. It is a matter of opinion unless you have some way to prove your VFL opinion.

You are in fantasy land if you think this guy will ever make it as an AFL player.

so what let it rest we have heard all this before,they are RFC players so just support them. Instead of bagging them go tiges:thumbsu:

JON missed the whole of pre-season last year did he, or just part of it?

We are heading down the andrew krakour road here where they will both play 100 very average games with everyone saying "give them time" etc etc. They are wasting spots on the list.
You need to put your faith in the right players or it becomes 5-6 years wasted "developing" these so called guns.
I will stick to my prediction that neither are any good. Good players will show you something in their first 8-10 games not look totally at sea with the game-refer Jon).
Intersting to note nobody said anything about my comment re Wallce's prediction that Jon would silence his critics.

Good one Terry, thats right up there with we can't win till 2011!

JON had stress fractures in his legs last preseason. Couldn't do much at all. How many times have you tried to train with stress fractures in your legs?

Give it a rest flog!

I really should let this rest because clearly you must be around 12 years of age. If you read my post I didn't say Meyer would make it. Has a bit to prove IMO. However any sensible observer with a modicum of footy IQ will agree that he can kick. It is obvious you have not seen him play or if you have you are clueless. If you are 12, I apologise. If not get a clue!

JON had stress fractures in his legs last preseason. Couldn't do much at all. How many times have you tried to train with stress fractures in your legs?

Isn't this his(JON) third season?

Meyer is as good a kick as brown....now that is funny!

Executing skills at VFL level is vastly diferent to AFL level.

NO, I am not 12 and neither Meyer or JON is worth the club wasting precious spots on the list

Read a few of the others on this site...very funny.
Shouldn't JON have been through three pre-seasons, given he debuted in 2006?
Did he have stress fractures for the first two?

I haven't even mentioned JON and am not interested in the argument.

What I posted were Meyers AFL diposal efficiency figures which show 86%, very high, elite in fact.

I have watched him at VFL level and his disposal is also first class. You clearly haven't.

You are drowning in a pit of your own ignorance but dont have the common sense or grace to know when to retreat and apologise to the rest of us for enduring your drivel.

NO, I am not 12 and neither Meyer or JON is worth the club wasting precious spots on the list

I agree that Meyer and JON have not done much so far but they have also had injuries that have hampered their development.

It is better to be patient and give them the opportunity to reach their potential than get rid of them too early and see them be picked up by other clubs and go on to be good players (like David Rodan).

Isn't this his(JON) third season?

Meyer is as good a kick as brown....now that is funny!

Executing skills at VFL level is vastly diferent to AFL level.

Kicking efficiency of some Richmond players in 2007 at AFL level:

Deledio - 77.1%
Bowden - 85.7%
Brown - 81.7%
Newman - 81.3%
Tambling - 80%
Tivendale - 81%

Meyer - 83.3% (not bad for a bloke carrying a hip injury)
Would seem to indicate that Meyer has great kicking skills just has trouble getting hold of the ball.

Source: AFL Prospectus from Champion Data.

Kicking efficiency of some Richmond players in 2007 at AFL level:

Deledio - 77.1%
Bowden - 85.7%
Brown - 81.7%
Newman - 81.3%
Tambling - 80%
Tivendale - 81%

Meyer - 83.3% (not bad for a bloke carrying a hip injury)
Would seem to indicate that Meyer has great kicking skills just has trouble getting hold of the ball.

Source: AFL Prospectus from Champion Data.

Agreed RT, but to be fair it was a very small sample in 2007 for Danny, doubt he had 20 disposals all up.

However his stats for the 14 games he played in 05/06 have his disposal efficiency at 86%. Top notch really for disposal - just cant get it enough at this stage. I would play him in the back pocket and use his best asset (his kicking) coming out of defence or to do the kick ins. He is a good body on body player. Only knock would be his pace.