Speculation Jacob Weitering [OOC 2031]

I don't think he moves unless he's really pushing to get out, and perhaps not even then. At his age his realistic trade value is much lower than the value Carlton get out of keeping him on the list.

Theres no way he is worth that.

The Barrass trade is the yard stick here. Think North offer two firsts and Carlton will probably take it.
Agreed, but thats what we'll start off asking.
3 firsts is laughable, come on mate.
Agreed, as said above i reckon we'll ask for that but likely get 2 instead.

I believe where North are as a club and needed some top level experience with Parker and Darling finishing that we would offer 2 x first round picks. This year would be top 10 not sure on next year.

Yes its overs, but knowing Clarko and what he did at Hawthorn I think the offer would be on the table.

I personally think Carlton would be insane to knock that back considering where they are at and the man being 29 year old at years end.

Whether Jacob would do it who knows.

I believe where North are as a club and needed some top level experience with Parker and Darling finishing that we would offer 2 x first round picks. This year would be top 10 not sure on next year.

Yes its overs, but knowing Clarko and what he did at Hawthorn I think the offer would be on the table.

I personally think Carlton would be insane to knock that back considering where they are at and the man being 29 year old at years end.

Whether Jacob would do it who knows.

2 first is over - Barrass is a great example. Hawks got Barrass and a future 4th for the Hawks future 1st, 2nd and 3rd.

Eagles F4 and Hawks F3 cancelled each other out with the Eagles finishing last and Hawks made a prelim.

Wright wanting more 1st round picks - not sure many at the Blues hold that sort of currency. Weitering, Walsh, Cripps and McKay. Thin after these 4 (not including Jagga as he would be untouchable)

2 first is over - Barrass is a great example. Hawks got Barrass and a future 4th for the Hawks future 1st, 2nd and 3rd.

Eagles F4 and Hawks F3 cancelled each other out with the Eagles finishing last and Hawks made a prelim.

Wright wanting more 1st round picks - not sure many at the Blues hold that sort of currency. Weitering, Walsh, Cripps and McKay. Thin after these 4 (not including Jagga as he would be untouchable)
Wouldn’t compare the two directly given Weitering is better, younger, and less injury prone. 2 first is more than fair

A club wanting him would have to give up a replacement player or work in a 3rd club with someone suitable. Their KP depth is already shit and kids like Dean need support. A serviceable KPD would have to go to the Blues for this to gain any traction. Khamis is probably not it either.

If im North im offering up O'Sullivan and a 1st rounder. Win for both clubs.

A win how, exactly?

The #2 ranked u22 player in the entire league (and he’s 2 years younger than most of the top 10..) and we have to throw in a first rounder to boot?

FOS is already a higher rated player than Weitering and he’s 20 years old…

I doubt we do FOS for Weitering if Carlton threw in the entire free hold to Optus Oval ontop of it.

It’s like saying it would be a win/win if Hawthorn added a first rounder to Nick Watson if they wanted Weitering.

You clearly don’t grasp how good FOS already is.

He’s basically a 20 year old Jimmy Bartel.

But making that comparison assumes that we got fair value, which isn't the case.

North seems like the best option for him if he were to leave and best for Carlton. North could be genuine contenders next year with him and Carlton desperately need more draft picks

North would be genuine contenders? They've won 4 games this year and the teams they've beaten have won a combined 6 games (Port with 3 of the 6 wins). They've had one good win for the year and one awful loss (WCE). There is A LOT of water to go under the bridge before they are contending for anything

A club wanting him would have to give up a replacement player or work in a 3rd club with someone suitable. Their KP depth is already shit and kids like Dean need support. A serviceable KPD would have to go to the Blues for this to gain any traction. Khamis is probably not it either.
Like Steele at the Dees - after Trac and Oliver left most were saying similar about the Dees midfield.

If Weitering is traded at years end he will be older than when Barrass was. We will have a top 8 - 10 pick this year.
I think North would be better suited prioritising Wilson, even if it is less of a position of need. There is probably a way for North to move their 1st, Future 1st, and Future 2nd to end up with both Weitering and Wilson, if the cards fall exactly right. Would probably have to move another asset or two for another 2nd or 2 more 2nds to get it done.

I think that the only way JW leaves is Carlton encourage him to leave.

The only way Carlton encourage him to leave is something like 2 first rounders are on the table.

They would be negligent to not trade him for that at 29 years of age and with Tassie incoming.

I think North do it. I’m not sure we should but knowing Clarko I can see it.

The only other curveball is what they want to do with Wilson and where the priority is.

Would think Carlton would be open to a 2026 1st and 2028 1st for him if we were indeed open to discussions re Weitering. We have some highly rated F/S's in 2028 and 2029 if the AFL don't remove it entirely so they'd come in handy there.

Also have to remember when weighing up his value is that 2027 & 2028 picks will be heavily discounted in trade talks due to the Tassie concessions. Pretty much the same value as a 2nd rounder of years past.

Would think Carlton would be open to a 2026 1st and 2028 1st for him if we were indeed open to discussions re Weitering. We have some highly rated F/S's in 2028 and 2029 if the AFL don't remove it entirely so they'd come in handy there.

Also have to remember when weighing up his value is that 2027 & 2028 picks will be heavily discounted in trade talks due to the Tassie concessions. Pretty much the same value as a 2nd rounder of years past.

Which is fine, he’s 29 years old and contracted until next millennium.