Jake King 300 Push Ups

richmond fanatic

Anyone see the little section in the HUN today? There was footage shown at one the AFL functions a couple of days ago of Jake doing 300 pushups at a team camp. Unbelievable.

Tivendale hasn't done that many in his life...

That's amassive effort by Jake, you can tell even as an opposition fan that he is intense and really puts in full on. If all Tiger players had his intensity you'd all go far!

On the subject of the Hun....bloody hell one of my jobs is wrapping and throwing those house bricks in my morning deliveries, and Sunday's sun is a joke. Chock full of crappy advertising garbage, in bundles of 17, they are just far too full of crap to wrap properly. Heaven help someone if one of my throws hits them on the head, it's assault with lethal force!

That's amassive effort by Jake, you can tell even as an opposition fan that he is intense and really puts in full on. If all Tiger players had his intensity you'd all go far!

On the subject of the Hun....bloody hell one of my jobs is wrapping and throwing those house bricks in my morning deliveries, and Sunday's sun is a joke. Chock full of crappy advertising garbage, in bundles of 17, they are just far too full of crap to wrap properly. Heaven help someone if one of my throws hits them on the head, it's assault with lethal force!

No sh!t Sherlock. :rolleyes: If HALF the team had Kingy's intensity we'd be killing it..skill is another factor that seems to be lacking judging from our practice matches, simple things like hitting the target and doing it before we get caught with it. Any suggestions there?

Well, if for example Meyer, Cleve Hughes and even jack Reiwoldt had that intensity, they will impose themselves on the game and make a significant difference. Those players have talent....i am not saying that only Jake King shows any intensity, i mean if you see any previous posts i have made on the Tiger's forum you will see i am one who wants your side to get abck up where it was.

All sides have players of differing skills and talents, but when the ones with natural talent just coast, and make no real inroads when their skills suggest they should, then looking at the example King offers should be a good wake-up call. Foley is a classic example of a bloke who worked his way off the rookie list to genuinely star for the side. Don't you wish this was ingrained in the mindset of some others at the Tigers?

Well, if for example Meyer, Cleve Hughes and even jack Reiwoldt had that intensity, they will impose themselves on the game and make a significant difference. Those players have talent....i am not saying that only Jake King shows any intensity, i mean if you see any previous posts i have made on the Tiger's forum you will see i am one who wants your side to get abck up where it was.

All sides have players of differing skills and talents, but when the ones with natural talent just coast, and make no real inroads when their skills suggest they should, then looking at the example King offers should be a good wake-up call. Foley is a classic example of a bloke who worked his way off the rookie list to genuinely star for the side. Don't you wish this was ingrained in the mindset of some others at the Tigers?

While your comments are accurate - your targets are largely misdirected. Please lay off Riewoldt - you know nothing about him - dragged Coburg over the line in most games last year . Great effort for a kid you is only now 18.

You are probably basing your comments on a poor VFL GF against the Cats - uncharacteristic game from jack - I still swear he wasn't 100% for that game - he was that ordinary. Has starred in other finals and a senior GF in tassie as well as state U18 games.

Meyer is a good contested possession player and has good skills - doesn't get the footy enough and arguably his pace and form affected by a chronic hip injury he has been carrying. Tries his heart out in 1%ers but maybe just aint good enough.

I'll give Clever as a win to you ;) Signs of improvement in pre season though. Lots more work to do!

The VFL Grand final was not a very display of skill from either side the wind was really swirly that day making most players look very ordinary, they seemed to be trying to kick it low to keep it out of the wind and it just made everything look awfull.

That was my first visit to a VFL game since they were played as curtian raises before the 1sts and I enjoyed the biff and rough stuff in it.

thats progress CA, wasnt so long ago I lugged them on the back of my BMX and put them in the letterbox, all for a fiver a week:eek:

Good on ya Jakey go for 400!
I'm surprised no-one's mentioned Andy Collins, but the Chuck Norrisesque comments have died down lately...

i'd love to get my hands on that footage.

lets not forget the 46 chin ups. god whatever he did 2nd must have been so much harder.

Anyone see the little section in the HUN today? There was footage shown at one the AFL functions a couple of days ago of Jake doing 300 pushups at a team camp. Unbelievable.

There you go!! perfect! dont know tigers list that well, but from what i saw last year king stood out in numerous games!! hes got something about him that boy!! mad not to have him in dream team!! It all starts with you Tigers fans!! bout time you guys had more positive threads like this one!! focus purley on the good things at tigerland and the rest will take care of itself!! you guys can build a team around Kingy!! he is captain material!! Dont you worry bout that!!

300 is insane. Ask any fitness freak out there and they'll tell you how hard it is.

But still..he should be going for power not endurance lol

Best thing about the entire article is the mention that drills like this have been bringing the team closer together. Any person would be far more inclined going in to battle to help out a mate over a bloke he only just met. Get these guys bonding, spurring each other on and toughening each other up as fast as possible. Hopefully Kingy has inspired some of the other lot to push a little harder, and go the extra mile.

Top stuff Kingy.:thumbsu: