Bentleigh

10k Posts
Richard Tambling
Apparently this bloke is playing this week.

What do we know about him apart from he is 22 years old and a midget?

Fingers crossed he is less crap than Howat.

Played the whole year for Coburg last year and won the B&F.

Part of the promote someone from Coburg campaign to encourage young talent to come to the Burgers

:) KNEE jerk reaction to Collingwood blooding three newcomers last week and the success of some other highly touted youngsters such as Hawkins.

Bringing in King, Edwards and Riewoldt in the one week to an already young and inexpereinced side will not do anyone's confidence any good.

Put simply, Dogs will smash us.

Yes the Doggies have some good youngsters, but it is the likes of Johnson, West, Eagleton, darcy and Grant (when available) who control their fortunes.

I'm thinking height is where we can best exploit them....Riewoldt's inclusion would be enough for me this week.

I don't think you can call it knee-jerk when we've waited 3 games to do it. We had to make changes because the same thing has happened 3 weeks in a row. Looking at Coburg, pretty much the only guys putting their hands up are those that haven't played for Richmond yet.

As much as I'd love to see Jack get his first AFL game I am far from convinced of the merit of his selection. On the earn a game basis he has a way to go and although he played well at the weekend some more wouldnt hurt. I have no doubt he will make it, but dont think this game should be his first taste.

I'd much prefer to see a promotion from Coburg for something that will serve us well against the Dogs, to my mind perhaps JON into our backline would be useful with the likes of Murphy and Johnston and possibly B2 could provide some more run and forward line pressure than what Pettifer has been displaying recently. Jake King may well deserve a call up but who will he repalce in terms of sensible match up? Howat out would be a choice but is King a wingman? Perhaps have him off the bench into the midfield or to swap Raines or Newman into the midfield from down back.

It is OK to promote, but make it earned and to our advantage.

I don't think you can call it knee-jerk when we've waited 3 games to do it. We had to make changes because the same thing has happened 3 weeks in a row. Looking at Coburg, pretty much the only guys putting their hands up are those that haven't played for Richmond yet.

Well said jezza time to dump some hacks.

In & Under

One of the toughest players you will ever see.

CALL me cynical, but sounds an awful lot like the little known Darren Bower, brother of Brendan and Nathan.

Hard at it, tough as nails, but a midget and not highly skilled! The hard at it, four footer tends to quickly win over the fans at the club at which he plays, but they only even seem to find their way on to a list at struggling clubs!!!!

Big step from VFL to AFL and hardly been craving them up and I would prefer to see him show a little more before winning a call up.

Best and fairest at Coburg......just doesn't impress me.

Ricky Ponting won't be calling up some opening batsman from Essendon or Footscray/Edgewater for the World Cup showdown against New Zealand just because he topped the averages last season.

Probably because thats like B&F in the VFL Ressies which would be silly.

However if you topped the averages for the Bushrangers you deserve a spot on the list to show what you've got, and he's clearly earned it . . . :thumbsu:

B2 will definitely come in, hold edwards and Jon for another few weeks at VFL. Not sure about King, may as well give him a run and see what he has to offer

Probably because thats like B&F in the VFL Ressies which would be silly.

However if you topped the averages for the Bushrangers you deserve a spot on the list to show what you've got, and he's clearly earned it . . . :thumbsu:

BY the same token, some would argue that behind the SANFL and WAFL, VFL is akin to district cricket! SANFL and WAFL more Pura Cup and then the AFL big time!

Good luck to him if he earns a promotion. I'll be the first to get behind him.

I just doubt he is deserving at this point as he hasn't been "great" for Coburg.

Seems a few people are putting forward the "best and fairest" argument to justify selection, but there are probably a lot of such people who condemned Kane Johnson winnning the b&f last year!! So all of a sudden, a b&f has value?

B2 will definitely come in, hold edwards and Jon for another few weeks at VFL. Not sure about King, may as well give him a run and see what he has to offer

Too late for that.

Edwards and King are 100% in this week. :thumbsu:

BY the same token, some would argue that behind the SANFL and WAFL, VFL is akin to district cricket! SANFL and WAFL more Pura Cup and then the AFL big time!

Good luck to him if he earns a promotion. I'll be the first to get behind him.

I just doubt he is deserving at this point as he hasn't been "great" for Coburg.

Seems a few people are putting forward the "best and fairest" argument to justify selection, but there are probably a lot of such people who condemned Kane Johnson winnning the b&f last year!! So all of a sudden, a b&f has value?

Whatever mate its all in context to ones own opinion.
B&F isnt justifying his selection, its saying how he's got to be selected, last year is history.

Let's just wait and see how he goes in the big-time under the lights of Friday Night Footy before we start judging him as a player. :thumbsu:

good luck to them. :)

Gotta admit im excited by edwards, freak when it comes to running and will go a long way to showing our group what gut busting running is all about. Still reckon its a bit early for him but if hes in then :thumbsu:

Whatever mate its all in context to ones own opinion.
B&F isnt justifying his selection, its saying how he's got to be selected, last year is history.

Let's just wait and see how he goes in the big-time under the lights of Friday Night Footy before we start judging him as a player. :thumbsu:

:thumbsu: Okay by me.

All the best to him. Hope he burns!

Apparently this bloke is playing this week.

What do we know about him apart from he is 22 years old and a midget?

Fingers crossed he is less crap than Howat.
Only seen him play the one game, the practice match against Sydney. In that game he showed he was a real goer - competitive, worked hard and could get the ball. Also (unfortunately) looked on a par with Clinton King and Tim Fleming with his disposal. Hopefully he was just nervous that day in his first hitout in the Richmond jumper and it was an abberation.

I wish him all the best if he does play and hope he comes out all guns blazing.

Only seen him play the one game, the practice match against Sydney. In that game he showed he was a real goer - competitive, worked hard and could get the ball. Also (unfortunately) looked on a par with Clinton King and Tim Fleming with his disposal. Hopefully he was just nervous that day in his first hitout in the Richmond jumper and it was an abberation.

I wish him all the best if he does play and hope he comes out all guns blazing.

More Tim Flemings and less Greg Tivendales, and RFC would be a better football club today.

:)

Yes the Doggies have some good youngsters, but it is the likes of Johnson, West, Eagleton, darcy and Grant (when available) who control their fortunes.

darcy and grant don't make much difference at all to that side these days - its cross west cooney, johnson, harris who dictate the dogs

i think bringing in these kids will only be a positive. we can exploit them with talls in the forward line, but we need smaller defenders and quick midfielders to make things happen. a forward line of schulz, richo, reiwoldt will be tall enough, especially with simmonds dropping forward too.

I'm going to disagree and say that he ain't that tough at all. He is mostly a back-pocket who can't find it in the midfield. He hates being chased / pressured / tackled and will hold onto the ball to long when his brain 'freezes' as he tries to avoif getting caught. His skills are good but he will make 1-3 completely idiotic decisions a game and kick across goal to an opponent.

Looks quite stylish. Can look composed when the tempo is low. I think any genuine AFL-paced game will find him out.

I'm going to disagree and say that he ain't that tough at all. He is mostly a back-pocket who can't find it in the midfield. He hates being chased / pressured / tackled and will hold onto the ball to long when his brain 'freezes' as he tries to avoif getting caught. His skills are good but he will make 1-3 completely idiotic decisions a game and kick across goal to an opponent.

Looks quite stylish. Can look composed when the tempo is low. I think any genuine AFL-paced game will find him out.
You could've just wrote "Darren Gasper + uncontested skills"