Jarred Rivers?

Our defence is fine now... but look two years from now no bass massie or stevens. Thats why you look now to bring young talent in. otherwise you get a situation like our forward line with no experiance. a great example is our mids with the older guys rotating with the young guys

1st round your kidding yourself, he is injury prone and as yet has not put together a string of outstanding games

what justification do you have for a first round

I said I'd LIKE a 1st rounder for him, I never said we would get a 1st rounder for because I know we wouldn't and I was basing this on pure talent because if he wasn't injury prone we would have no problem getting a 1st rounder for him but having said that if he wasn't injury prone he wouldn't be traded.

And to ever said he had played forward in recent seasons has been slightly (completely) misguided as Rivers only pushes forward on occasions and has never spent long periods of time in the forward line.

why do you say that

because I believe that he is not worth a first round pick

your an idiot

6 games this year, averaging 11 touches a game

how about we give you our first round and Maric

You're an idiot because you think he plays as a forward. Simple as that, you have not seen him play. You're a liar.

You guys would be stupid to NOT be interested in him.

He's quite simply one of the best defenders in the AFL. He'd command a big price.

Injuries have kept him back, sure. But the fact is, he's simply way too good at CHB to go for anything less than a fist rounder.

Nah sorry mate, this sounds like a case of talking up a players ability, due to the end of season antics.

He is potentially a gun, but no where near there yet. Wouldn't be worth a 1 rounder. Mid Second rounder perhaps?

Maybe a 3rd and a player?

Nah sorry mate, this sounds like a case of talking up a players ability, due to the end of season antics.

He is potentially a gun, but no where near there yet. Wouldn't be worth a 1 rounder. Mid Second rounder perhaps?

You're not wrong.

To another team, he isn't worth more than a second rounder.

But, when he plays he is ALWAYS the difference. He's simply one of the best defenders in the comp.

But...

Only Melbourne fans know it. So why would you know any different? Exactly.

You're an idiot because you think he plays as a forward. Simple as that, you have not seen him play. You're a liar.

Alright Nancy, keep your skirt on!

"i haven't seen to many melb games over the past 2 seasons, however the games I have seen Rivers has always played forward as a lead up CHF"

Not watching Melbourne play too often is hardly a crime lately ;)

Alright Nancy, keep your skirt on!

"i haven't seen to many melb games over the past 2 seasons, however the games I have seen Rivers has always played forward as a lead up CHF"

Not watching Melbourne play too often is hardly a crime lately ;)

That's true. But the clown claimed that Rivers played mainly as a forward, and he said so in a manner that suggested he thought he knew what he was talking about.

If I were a betting man, I'd wager Jared Rivers has spent a total of one hour playing forward in his entire career.

I got nothing against Adelaide, I think you guys would be stupid to NOT target Rivers, but the fact is, he's worth more to us than you'd be prepared to give up in a trade. That said, I find the topic itself quite interesting, but what we don't need, is idiots who think Jared Rivers is a forward chiming in and giving their opinion. Those people are complete dipshits, and quite frankly, I'd prefer if people like that stopped breathing, let alone talking.

This is why he won't go. No other club would give up what he's worth. It's fair enough too, the guy has injury problems. But there's no way we'd give him up for just a second rounder.

He's 23, and is one of the best CHB's in the comp. Admittedly he only displays that ability about 5 or 6 times a year at the moment, but if he gets his fitness right, he'll be worth it.

I'd rather keep him. In fact, I'd say every Melbourne supporter would rather keep him.

You're not wrong.

To another team, he isn't worth more than a second rounder.

But, when he plays he is ALWAYS the difference. He's simply one of the best defenders in the comp.

But...

Only Melbourne fans know it. So why would you know any different? Exactly.
it's true majority of us don't know he's true worth because we're on the outside and probably watch 1-3 Melbourne games a year...so it's very hard to judge. but stating that he is the difference is a big statement, because Melbourne haven't won many games this year or last...Rivers hasn't played many games either...unless you're excluding these last 2 years when he's been dogged by injuries.

truth is he's been plagued by injuries and has played less than 10 games in the past 2 years. currently, at most, he's worth a mid-late range 2nd rounder, but most likely no teams would offer that. so best thing is for Melbourne to keep him and just hope he isn't struck by anymore injuries.

i'd be offering 3rd rounder+Jericho. hey, i can always dream.

I have watched a lot of Melbourne games this year and just wonder where Rivers will stand next year. Considering warnock and garland look very good types.

I personally think melbourne have a lot of upside, however players such as Jones and bartram (decent tagger at best) would need to keep improving if they are going to make it out of the bottom 4 any time soon.

They have decent young midfield with Brock, Sylvia, Morton ect

Should the dees consider offloading players such as rivers, maybe green for a forward and ruckman they desperatly lack?

I have watched a lot of Melbourne games this year and just wonder where Rivers will stand next year. Considering warnock and garland look very good types.

I personally think melbourne have a lot of upside, however players such as Jones and bartram (decent tagger at best) would need to keep improving if they are going to make it out of the bottom 4 any time soon.

They have decent young midfield with Brock, Sylvia, Morton ect

Should the dees consider offloading players such as rivers, maybe green for a forward and ruckman they desperatly lack?

Yeah, it's an interesting situation. A few years ago our lack of a tall defender outside of Rivers was really holding us back in finals - now all of a sudden we have Garland, Frawley, Rivers, Martin, Warnock all capable of holding down a permanent spot.

I think we will look at trading Cam Bruce and Brad Green. I think there's a good chance one of the young defenders might get traded also.

I would hope it's not Rivers though, because he's the best of the bunch when he's on the field. Reads the play beautifully, excellent pack mark, long arms for spoiling and really good at setting up run out of defence as well. I really can't wait to have Rivers/Martin/Garland all playing at the same time.

That's true. But the clown claimed that Rivers played mainly as a forward, and he said so in a manner that suggested he thought he knew what he was talking about.

If I were a betting man, I'd wager Jared Rivers has spent a total of one hour playing forward in his entire career.

I got nothing against Adelaide, I think you guys would be stupid to NOT target Rivers, but the fact is, he's worth more to us than you'd be prepared to give up in a trade. That said, I find the topic itself quite interesting, but what we don't need, is idiots who think Jared Rivers is a forward chiming in and giving their opinion. Those people are complete dipshits, and quite frankly, I'd prefer if people like that stopped breathing, let alone talking.

Hey TROLL

If your going to come on our board at least read the posts first before calling people clowns

I should not have to repeat myself, however you are obviously a bit slow on the up take.

I said

"I haven't seen to many melb games over the past 2 seasons, however the games I have seen Rivers has always played forward as a lead up CHF"

An example of this is when I was in Perth for work and I went to watch a game between Melb and Freo, Rivers played CHF and took something like 15 marks, playing as a lead up forward

Idiot

Hey TROLL

If your going to come on our board at least read the posts first before calling people clowns

I should not have to repeat myself, however you are obviously a bit slow on the up take.

I said

"I haven't seen to many melb games over the past 2 seasons, however the games I have seen Rivers has always played forward as a lead up CHF"

An example of this is when I was in Perth for work and I went to watch a game between Melb and Freo, Rivers played CHF and took something like 15 marks, playing as a lead up forward

Idiot

You're right, I was being a jerk and completely over-reacted, I apologise. I should merely have pointed out that Rivers doesn't play CHF very often, if at all.

He occasionally has been thrown forward under the Daniher regime (and very occasionally) where he's bobbed up and kicked one or two. He can definitely take a mark and kick a football, so who knows, with our young defenders coming on so well he might find himself playing more and more in the forward line.

Hey guys, sorry for intruding your board.

Personally, I don't want to trade Rivers - I love him. Great defender, courageous, just has to stay on the park.

I reckon he's worth a first rounder but with his run of injuries we'd probably get a mid second rounder?

You're right, I was being a jerk and completely over-reacted, I apologise. I should merely have pointed out that Rivers doesn't play CHF very often, if at all.

He occasionally has been thrown forward under the Daniher regime (and very occasionally) where he's bobbed up and kicked one or two. He can definitely take a mark and kick a football, so who knows, with our young defenders coming on so well he might find himself playing more and more in the forward line.

Apology accepted :thumbsu: :)

I would love to pick him up as he (when fully fit) is a very good defender and could complement Bock and Rutten very nicely. However his current run of injuries have not allowed him to get onto the park and increase his reputation, this alone would have decreased his asking price from a mid first round draft pick to a mid to low second rounder and Melbourne would be nuts to trade him for that.

Would love to trade for him but cannot see it happening as you don’t give up on very good player this early.

Why don't you go back to school and learn how to read before accusing one of our posters of being a liar. I too, saw Rivers playing up forward this year. Strange that seeing is he USED to be a CHB. Rivers USED to be a talent, now he is a run of the mill player.

Deal with it!

3rd round is generous IMO, he just isn't on the park enough to even keep him on a list right now.

Take your rose coloured glasses off and brace yourself when his name appears on the delisted list. Your team need players that actually get onto the field.

I wouldn'y mind making a play for Rivers. It would then give us the flexibility with him, Moran and Stevens of alternating them between the defensive and offensive 50s depending on match ups.

I think his history of injuries would lessen his price, but I'd expect we might have to give up our third round pick and a player (Jericho? Wasn't he 'almost a Demon' last year or the year before?)

I wouldn'y mind making a play for Rivers. It would then give us the flexibility with him, Moran and Stevens of alternating them between the defensive and offensive 50s depending on match ups.

I think his history of injuries would lessen his price, but I'd expect we might have to give up our third round pick and a player (Jericho? Wasn't he 'almost a Demon' last year or the year before?)

Crows feet, I think that it is unlikely anyone will trade anything for Jericho, there is always the possibility that he will go for a really low pick if a club shows interest, as it "does the right thing' by the player to facilitate a move without them having to go into the PSD. Just don't expect much.

Rivers wouldn't need to play CHB for the Crows, and it would be good to have another tall who can go forward and back, like Stevens, Moran or Bock. It does give us plenty of flexibility, th eproblem is that all of those guys, including Rivers, play their best footy down back.

In terms of trading for need, I can't see the Crows targetting Rivers, but you never know.

Yeah, it's an interesting situation. A few years ago our lack of a tall defender outside of Rivers was really holding us back in finals - now all of a sudden we have Garland, Frawley, Rivers, Martin, Warnock all capable of holding down a permanent spot.

I think we will look at trading Cam Bruce and Brad Green. I think there's a good chance one of the young defenders might get traded also.

I would hope it's not Rivers though, because he's the best of the bunch when he's on the field. Reads the play beautifully, excellent pack mark, long arms for spoiling and really good at setting up run out of defence as well. I really can't wait to have Rivers/Martin/Garland all playing at the same time.
Bruce and Green are the Dees two best players, but at 29 and 28 next year, i think the Dees need to keep their experience as they might not get much for them because of their age.

if Rivers is available for trade; i think the Crows will target him; but would look at the overall big picture in the end...so only if the right deal came up. but honestly, i don't see him being traded.

Maybe Melbourne would like to have Luke Jericho? Hes fast he can kick goals and hes mature aged at 24yo? no? okay fine, you dees are missing out on a damn good deal here, going once, twice, SOLD! to west coast! (if they want him)