ghostdog

Interesting stat.

On GameDay just now, Jobe was shown to be in the top three clearance winners on average per game from 2006 to now, with only Sam Mitchell and Simon Black ahead of him.

What does he need to do to be top?

Interesting stat.

On GameDay just now, Jobe was shown to be in the top three clearance winners on average per game from 2006 to now, with only Sam Mitchell and Simon Black ahead of him.

What does he need to do to be top?

Can't really catch Mitchell, he is playing in a premiership team. Hille only started to peak last year and that could be the difference in the watson/hille combination which is working to our excelent benifit. Simon Black has slowed down this year and im sure Watson will catch him.

Watson has been superb this year, his handling and effectivness have really risen so far.

I actually think Jobe is probably our most important player. I think he doesn't get rated as an A grader because these days the midfielders are the glamour boys and he doesn't have the flair of a Judd, Ablett etc

I remember a commentator last year saying that for the amount of minutes he plays compared to these other two players he was the best clearance player, last year Jobes fitness was down and didnt get as much game time ut now he is really something

I remember one stat in '06 at some stage which said that Jobe averaged something like 27 possessions over a certain period of time- cant be too specific coz i cant remember too well- but that was with under 70% game time. The journalist said that he would be averaging 35+ possessions had he played over 90% game time during that period.

Even Sheedy didn't rate him, but I think from watching him against Carlton he actually seemed to show signs of that elite potential he has. The inability of opposition players to tackle guys like Judd and Ablett was present for Watson on quite a few occasions, and he seemed to take his time to sum up the options rather than just panicking. Looked like he had all the time in the world, and for a bloke who isn't at all quick I think that's something pretty special.

Hopefully he can just continue to improve, his skills have done so out of sight in recent times. Very very important player for us, and doesn't seem to get injured either.

I didn't rate Watson for a long time, But he has proved me wrong.
His disposal by foot has gone up heaps.
Great footy brain and great hands, well done Jobe:thumbsu:

As you can tell from my user name i rate Jobe highly. I see so much of Greg Williams in him with his amazing hand pass ability and composure under pressure. Without him i feel we would struggle to get our hands on the ball in the centre, not only do he and Hill work together amazingly but he has the ability to read the other ruck-man as well, and now he seems to have added kicking to his list of talents, still improvement there but is now using the ball by foot so much better. If he can add kicking goals to that we will have a serious weapon on our hands. Don't forget, with the injuries we have this year Jobe has been getting the tag and is still tearing it up. Maybe our next captain?

i loved his impacts on the games now. When hes off we struggle, when hes in their winning contested clearances we do well. I saw the stat and hes always been a very good in and under contested player. If he has skills and pace he would be as good as it gets. I think he only had 22 posses against blues but they seemed more quality and at important times making him have a larger impact on the game.

jobe is the most important player in our side, it really showed against the blues. the first quarter he only had one possession and we got absolutely belted, he rebounded in the second quarter to get 8 disposals and we were right back in the game. i really hope he stays injury free

There was never any problem with him finding it. Elite.
There was never any problem with his hands. Elite.
His kicking has come on so well and it is so obvious that he has worked on his only glaring weakness. He`s now elite in my eyes. (A few more goals would be good, his left foot snap on Sat.nigt was brilliant.) Long live the father son rule !

It staggers me that I still (STILL!!!!) get into debates with our supporters at the footy and elsewhere who STILL believe him to be a liability to us. I have argued for several years that I can see some Jimmy in Jobe.
Now, let me explain that. I was always amazed at how JH was NEVER flustered or caught in a pack and he would eventually get it out to a teammate who may be meters away and not the obvious one - his vision and coolness was unbelievable. I reckon Jobe's got that talent as well and will become even more vital as we hone the running game and our players get better at running laterally to the packs and taking the ball from JW.
And before anyone jumps on me - I DID NOT say JW is as good as JH (yet ;))

Jobe should be made Captain next year.
Lloyd has done a fantastic job thus far and will continue to do so this year.
I think with our young group we need a leader, who plays in the middle and wins his own ball, in and under, showing the younger guys how to do it.
Lloyd should step back next year and focus more on devaloping Neagle and Gumby vs the whole team.
Less pressure on him to perform etc...
I think it would be a win - win.
Lloyd is and always will be a Champion player, he doesn't need to be captain to prove that...

Jobe for Captain 2010 :thumbsu:

The inability of opposition players to tackle guys like Judd and Ablett was present for Watson on quite a few occasions, and he seemed to take his time to sum up the options rather than just panicking. Looked like he had all the time in the world, and for a bloke who isn't at all quick I think that's something pretty special.

Hopefully he can just continue to improve, his skills have done so out of sight in recent times. Very very important player for us, and doesn't seem to get injured either.

He has lifted another level has Watson. As HIOLI said above, he seemed to have a lot of time on his hands against Carlton and used the ball very well. Took his time to size up his options and quite often he made the correct decision. He does get knocked around a fair bit, goes off with a few aches and pains each match; But rarely gets seriously injured.

He is a very, very important player for us now. He does the bulk of our clearance work and he makes the Houli's of our team look good. You need your in and unders just as much as you need your exciting outside recievers. No doubt.

Hopefully he can kick on ever further as the year progresses and we hear his name in the same breath with the likes of Mitchell & Priddis.

I think with our young group we need a leader, who plays in the middle and wins his own ball, in and under, showing the younger guys how to do it.
Lloyd should step back next year and focus more on devaloping Neagle and Gumby vs the whole team.
Lloyd is and always will be a Champion player, he doesn't need to be captain to prove that...

I concur :thumbsu:

Well.
I mean
McVeigh is almost surely next in line for the Leadership.

That's what you'll say until we lose a game. Then he goes back to being a hack.

I think he is a much better player than Priddis. Jobe wins a lot of clearances and his efficiency rating would be higher.

McVeigh is the next captain, but Jobe is certainly an important part of the leadership at Essendon. Amazing that he has played the same amount of games as Monfries.

I think he is a much better player than Priddis. Jobe wins a lot of clearances and his efficiency rating would be higher..

You're probably right. I must of spoke from a Dream Team point of view there. :p