Toast Joey's 200th

• Thread starter Thread starter Squizz

Surprised I had enough energy to post this thread ... having alot of trouble digesting my humble pie (for suggesting that Montagna was unlikely to sustain his elite performance level).

video http://www.saints.com.au/video/2013-05-28/montagna-on-playing-200-games

http://www.saints.com.au/news/2013-05-28/persistence-pays-off-for-200-gamer

After 30 senior games in his first four seasons in the AFL, major milestones were not foremost in Leigh Montagna’s mind.

It wasn’t until 2006 that Montagna hit his stride. Since round two of that season he has missed just five of St Kilda’s 174 games.

(on the 200) “It’s very special. Something I’m very excited about and we have a 200 club board (in the gym) with all photos of past champions and to be able to join that is something I am very proud of.”

In 2009 and 2010 he received back-to-back All-Australian selections, top three best and fairest finishes and Grand Final appearances.

“That was probably the peak of my career as a team and probably individually as well. I’m really enjoying my footy at the moment."

“I’m still hanging on to the belief that if I can play for three years, I’ve been around long enough to know things can turn around pretty quickly at clubs."

“I’ve got a lot of faith in Scott Watters and the direction the club is going."

“I’m enjoying working in the middle with Jack Newnes and Seb Ross. I think they are going to be quality footballers. I’m really liking Nathan Wright in the back line, he is hard and tough and is going to be playing a lot of senior football."

“There are lots of sprinkles of potential in guys and they need to get games into them and develop. That will be part of my role at the club and hopefully I can be a part of it when they are all up and coming superstars and I’m still hanging around and can hang off their coat tails.”

This season to date, Montagna leads the club for disposals (per game).

He ranks 3rd for inside 50s with 4 per game, and second in tackles with nearly 5 per game.

Despite averaging 27 possessions, he is way down the list (24th) in clangers at just 1.9 a game.

He has been a great ambassador for the club, and recently was singled out by Seb Ross:
“We’re a pretty tight-knit group in the midfield but Joey has been massive this year. You can see the way he’s been leading on the ground and it’s exactly the same off the ground. He’s played a pretty big role in how the boys have gone about it this season.”

Earlier in the season:
Watters said fellow leaders Nick Riewoldt and Leigh Montagna were keeping up their end of the bargain. Montagna had been ''terrific'' in the first five rounds.The coach said their level of play had set a standard that some other members of the Saints' leadership group needed to reach.

Took him a while to become the player he is but he got there in the end. Should be an inspiration to our young blokes as he epitomises the never say die attitude. You'll get there if you want it. :thumbsu:

He's a star and doesn't look like slowing down.

Took him a while to become the player he is but he got there in the end. Should be an inspiration to our young blokes as he epitomises the never say die attitude. You'll get there if you want it. :thumbsu:

Looks as though currently he could play on until he is 34-35!!

Well said hayes, along with Lenny, Nick, Demps, Monty would be a great mentor to the young blokes. Part of what Watters said on 360 mentioned how important it is to have the senior core there to support youth.

Well done to Monty, tough as nails and skilful and did it the hard way. Just sounds like a brilliant bloke as well. :thumbsu:

I really think Montagna is one of the most underrated players in the side. He is just so consistently very good its amazing and always puts in 100%.

I really hope his general lack of injuries means he has another 3 or 4 years in him as he is a true Saint.

One player ive always rated highly. Had a bit of a crappy season not long ago and i was surprised to see a few supporters wanted him traded.
If he can remain injury free he will be good to have around for a few yrs yet to help lead the young midfielders.
Good on ya Joey :thumbsu:

http://www.saints.com.au/news/2013-05-30/when-joey-fell-into-the-saints-pouch

John Beveridge recalls Montagna as a 17-year-old like it was yesterday.

“I saw Leigh at Marcellin College one day. He wasn’t playing but he was with a group of boys. It may have only been seven or eight people, but I just detected that he was obviously the leader of this group.”

When he saw Montagna play later that year, he was delighted with what he saw. “I can’t remember who it was against, but I saw him kick four on the MCG … he was very impressive.”

“Leigh played for Victorian Metro in the Australian Championships in 2001. We as a recruiting staff were quite strong about him … we rated him as a second rounder and it has proven to be a very good pick.”

“As it turns out,” Beveridge said, “Jack Newnes was also taken at pick 37 after playing for Northern Knights and attending Marcellin College. It’s a remarkable coincidence.”

Brilliant player and by all reports, brilliant leader. It's great to hear guys like Seb Ross specifically pick out Joey as one of the main on and off-field leaders. Hasn't slown down or lost heart, despite our on-field performances/ladder position. This is exactly what we need. Can't speak any more highly of the work he's done this year and throughout his career.

While on a Milestone front, If Riewoldt, Dal Santo, Koschitzke, Dempster play this week all on track to reach milestones against Melbourne.

Riewoldt, Dal Santo 250, Koschitzke 200, Dempster 150.

"Is it true that they call you Joey because Gehrig used to carry you around in his pouch'

;)

Great work Leigh, still in ripping form :thumbsu:

http://www.saints.com.au/news/2013-05-30/by-the-numbers-leigh-montagna

Game with 30+ disposals: 39

Most tackles: 13 vs Melbourne, round 10, 2009

Most marks: 12 vs Hawthorn, round 16, 2007

Most inside 50s: 12 vs West Coast, round 15, 2009

Most rebound 50s: 10 vs Geelong, round 4, 2008

Most clearances: 11 vs Richmond, round 21, 2010

Most bounces: 17 vs Richmond, round 17, 2006 :eek:

Reckon he's very much in the running, with Riewoldt, for the Trevor Barker this year. Roberton will easily get the best young player, and will probably finish third behind those two.

Midway through the second quarter, the 178cm Montagna runs back with the flight (horribly exposed) and gets crunched by the 193cm Thompson coming the other way.

The commentary?

Hypocrite "Great play" (by Thompson)

Someone else "The courage to leave Nick Riewoldt ..."

W@nkers.

Meanwhile, Monty dusts himself off and wins the next possession (which wasn't even mentioned by the _uckers).

Couple of seconds later Du-wayne says "they're putting their bodies on the line, North Melbourne".

Then Thompson hacks at Riewoldt and concedes a free. Du-Wayne says "even Brad Scott at 11 goals to 1 doesn't want to concede a free that he didn't think was there."

Careful with that last remaining braincell whilst you're in the solarium, _ucknut.

Have you seen the Joey badges they were selling for his 200th game? Well on background it says 250games all over it! Seriously what a balls up! How can they continually stuff things like this up. Who checks these! Obviously no one!

Well the unsold ones they get to resell at his 250th ;)

Earlier this year a mate of mine attended a wedding, at which Joey was in the bridal party.

My mate got him on the phone to wish me a happy birthday and we had a good old chat.

Not only is he a champion Sainter but also a champion bloke as well.

Congrats Joey on reaching 200 games, hope you can make it to 300!