John Reid

Fair dinkum. WTF!:confused:

Lets sack a bloke because we dont know what he does or who he answers too?

If he wasnt doing a good job, do you really think one of the most professional and richest AFL clubs would keep him on the books? I dont.

If Triggy is doing a good job, then his men must be doing something right too, surely?

12 years while its a considerable time, isnt really that long in the life of a football professional. Kevin Sheedy coached the same club for 27. Max Basheer ran the SANFL before most of us were born. Chris Grant has been the man behind the success of Central District despite being in the job for more than a decade before their first flag.

You dont sack a bloke for doing such a good job that no one knows the extent of his role. We would know if he had ****ed it up. That much I can asure you.

Thats about it for me. This thread is too stupid to bother with any more.

I think that all have a right to discuss their views on delistings, sackings etc when they have "evidence" to go on. Although we may disagree with the "evidence" which is basically what a person sees in a player's ability, the discussion about sacking an official when we have no reason to suggest it is seen as a bit like muck-raking.
Get an email off and when you have a reply showing what JR is supposed to do and you know he has fallen short, then by all means give your opinion.

Quote of the thread. Do your research BD before creating such a silly thread.:thumbsd:

I would really love to comment on this but won't.:thumbsd: It's a GREAT question BD!

It maybe a great question to you Jen, however without him knowing what the job description is. it was ridiculous.

You probably have had experience with the main topic and know a little more than the rest of us.

do you have any evidence to support these wild and emotive views?

If not, that's fine - but let's not pretend it's anything more than a rant then.

Cool - I should have added 'Rant over' at the end of the first post.

No evidence, it’s just my option and I believe it’s time for a change.

I would really love to comment on this but won't.:thumbsd: It's a GREAT question BD!

Have a very close mate who worked for the club, who hates Reidy with a passion. I've been told all the reasons.

It's only one persons point of view ,but he is normally a great judge of character ( hell he likes me ).

but what is Reidy not doing now...that he was doing 5 years ago to warrant the sack ?

Let me rephrase the question, what is his actual job description and how is he held accountable.

Giving him the sack was a bit harsh and not exactly what I meant; maybe he should be moved into a different part of the football department and appoint someone younger who has a much better feel for the modern game. There is a generation gap between Neil Craig, John Reid and the first year draftees, so its time to look at appointing someone younger.

I don’t hate John Reid, I just believe that it's time for someone new with fresh idea and someone who can relate to the younger guys on the list.

The AFC used to be innovative and willing to try some thing new, now I just get the impression that we will only do the safe and measured things. It’s like we are stuck in the SANFL as a 1970s club, not in the year 2007.

So we shouldn’t discuss this subject on big footy? Why is that, so we can have room for 15 more threads on John Meesen or how crap Luke Jericho is?

If it is taboo to discuss someone pending termination, why is it such a common theme for the majority to call for Luke Jericho or Ian Perrie, or another whipping boys potential delisting?

I'm not saying it shouldn't be discussed, what I am saying is that if you want more than speculation and to find out the extent of his role, then contact the club. You won't find the answers on here, just speculation and educated guesses.

I believe that it’s time to move John Reid on and appoint a new GM of football operation but whom? My suggestion would start and stop with Nigel Smart

When this thread started, I thought "What The".

I am now of the understanding that there is more to this story than meets the eye.

Stay tuned.

Hmm...interesting. SA footy does tend to be dominated by the "ins" at the expense of the "outs". I dont see too many opposing views in the AFC heirachy at present.

Footy Operation Manager roles vary depending on the club. Some are very hands on in terms of the management of the team whilst others are more hands off. Knowing Reidy, I'd imagine he'd like to stick his two bobs worth in more often than not.

Assuming that the 360 degree review process applies to all at the club, I would be interested to see how John handles constructive criticism from his peers. He's in charge of "football", and the football this year has been below club's expectations. He should wear that and, in the immortal words of our coach, learn from it ;)

Personally, I'd like to see someone from outside the "in crowd" get a spot in the org structure. There are plenty of good operators around that wouldnt necessarily be yes men and may offer up a different POV to shake things up a bit. The question is, would those within the club be willing to listen with an open mind?

That's actually happening right now, courtesy of Nigel Smart. :thumbsu:

He's been telling his fellow board members some hard hitting home truths in recent times - the question is will they re-act to it constructively??

Anyone still wants this bumbling old fool in change of things such as trading and contract negations.

His time is up and he should be moved on for someone who is up to date with the current day football environment.

I am over John Reid and its time for him to move left into a different position in the football club.

I also think that he should go. When the same group of people are around too long then I think that the thinking around the club can become stale. The club needs some fresh thinking, and change.

When I think of JR I think of Neil Balme, from all accounts he has been fantastic for Collingwood and now Geelong. Take a look at Collingwood's youngsters, some of the best in the league. Plus from what I've heard, he's had a huge influence in Geelong's turnaround this season.

But I don't doubt that JR is very protected, as much as NC is.

I'm not fond of the man, but I can't fault him for this week at all. We've end up with something when we could have just as well ended up with nothing. We've got two young blokes and an extra pick so haven't done too badly out of it. At least with the trades we know what we are getting, while the picks are somewhat of a lottery. Nope, I'd sack him, but not for this weeks efforts.

A very good friend who worked for the club ( I know, I know ) tells me and has been telling me for years that JR is a grumpy bastard who really brings the place down. He reckons that God forbid you should smile or joke around him. He thinks that several players would like to see the back of him too.

One of the many average AFC administrators who has made their name of the back of the Malcolm Blight genius.

I would just like to know what he is responsible for and how his success or lack of is measured.

Has his performance been good enough to warrant him having the job for 12 years and counting?

I don't beleive his record in trade week warrants it.

I also think that he should go. When the same group of people are around too long then I think that the thinking around the club can become stale. The club needs some fresh thinking, and change.

When I think of JR I think of Neil Balme, from all accounts he has been fantastic for Collingwood and now Geelong. Take a look at Collingwood's youngsters, some of the best in the league. Plus from what I've heard, he's had a huge influence in Geelong's turnaround this season.

But I don't doubt that JR is very protected, as much as NC is.

That's a good point.

Without knowing the indicators that Reid is judged on, it's hard to say whether or not he's doing a good job. You'd have to say he seems to be doing an ok job, but that's more out of our position than any reasoning.

But, while it's good that we have such a settled, strong club, it can sometimes become a problem (like any organisation) when it's the same sets of eyes looking over everything, and doing the things they've always done.

Fresh blood and fresh ideas rarely hurt anyone.

Macca - I would be very keen to hear you elaborate on what you said about Nigel Smart, what's he up to at Board level?

Fresh blood and fresh ideas rarely hurt anyone.

Macca - I would be very keen to hear you elaborate on what you said about Nigel Smart, what's he up to at Board level?

Smarty is on the Board of Directors, and apparently is not scared to express views that are totally at odds with what other directors may think.

Nothing more than what one would expect from Nige really. :D