Jono Browns interview re 2004

• Thread starter Thread starter rustyg70

He said He said When he Interviewed with MM he wanted to come to Collingwood but Changed his Mind once he went back to the Bears

I just love his honesty.
It is something our side could have done with during our down years.
He calls a Spade a Spade.

The Akka incident is probably something our club could have done with, looking back.

6 mill over 4 years was the 2005 offer, 2008 apparently was less than what the Lions offered, nearly became a Pie. Probably would have beaten Geel in prelim and then flog the Power in the final and knock over the Cats in 2011.... Oh well.

"Collingwoods attack on the footy was ordinary that day"
It was!
We beat them 2 weeks prior in a final. They didn't look like getting up Against Sydney in the prelimary final and they just got over the line!

We went in the 2003 GF as favourites and got smashed!

It was!
We beat them 2 weeks prior in a final. They didn't look like getting up Against Sydney in the prelimary final and they just got over the line!

We went in with our chest puffed thinking this is a formality.
Sounds a lot whyI bought up this Question.
Did we think we were the best in 11, rest back, thinking it will just happen, them get kicked in the arse?

We went in with our chest puffed thinking this is a formality.
Sounds a lot whyI bought up this Question.
Did we think we were the best in 11, rest back, thinking it will just happen, them get kicked in the arse?

Both those teams touched us up during the year so doubtful.
I suspect we played our GF vs Brisbane in that 1st final as it got the monkey off the back.
Similarly in 11 the prelim took it out of us mentally and physically.

It was!

Sorry no. That Grand Final was over the second Rocca was suspended. Anyone with any semblance of footy knowledge knew that. The Lions were licking their lips the second that verdict was handed down. The Lions legitimtately feared Rocca. They just didn't know how to stop him. With Rocca gone, the Lions got a GIANT confidence boost and attacked the game harder than they would have had he been there. Add to that, our whole list went in deflated without Rocca there.

I literally called it on the day. I was there with my normal crew and as SOON as the first bounce happened, my exact words were "We're going to get absolutely smashed. They look like they don't want to be there". My mate called me an idiot for making such an "outlandish" early call. 2 hours later...

Sorry no. That Grand Final was over the second Rocca was suspended. Anyone with any semblance of footy knowledge knew that. The Lions were licking their lips the second that verdict was handed down. The Lions legitimtately feared Rocca. They just didn't know how to stop him. With Rocca gone, the Lions got a GIANT confidence boost and attacked the game harder than they would have had he been there. Add to that, our whole list went in deflated without Rocca there.

I literally called it on the day. I was there with my normal crew and as SOON as the first bounce happened, my exact words were "We're going to get absolutely smashed. They look like they don't want to be there". My mate called me an idiot for making such an "outlandish" early call. 2 hours later...

I totally agree, it was my thought exactly at the time too. Brisbane could not cover Rocca. As soon as Rocca was out, Brisbane knew they had us covered and would win. Collingwood knew they could not win with Rocca out. This game was played and won in the mind and before the game even started and this was shown in the relative intensities out on the field.

Thanks for mentioning the Rocca suspension. If Brisbane had've had Brown suspended it would have been on par....so yeah we were deflated, it was the second year in a row one of our vital key position pieces had been suspended in the prelim.
Had Pebbles played, Brissy would have been worried a lot more about him and Fraser and Tarrant might have got off the leash a bit more.

Had identical thoughts at the game. It's hard to put my finger on exactly what was wrong but we were just off from the second the game started, I have no doubt the Rocca suspension was a huge part of that. Mick had J.Cloke playing forward that day didn't he?

I got shot down as a "bitter Collingwood supporter" mentioning to mates in the days afterwards that the game could have been completely different if Rocca had played. The typical retort was that there was no way he was a 10 goal difference or whatever it was in the end. Of course, on his own he wasn't a 10 goal difference but the difference he made to the structure was immeasurable. We'll just never know unfortunately.

Had identical thoughts at the game. It's hard to put my finger on exactly what was wrong but we were just off from the second the game started, I have no doubt the Rocca suspension was a huge part of that. Mick had J.Cloke playing forward that day didn't he?

I got shot down as a "bitter Collingwood supporter" mentioning to mates in the days afterwards that the game could have been completely different if Rocca had played. The typical retort was that there was no way he was a 10 goal difference or whatever it was in the end. Of course, on his own he wasn't a 10 goal difference but the difference he made to the structure was immeasurable. We'll just never know unfortunately.

Oh I don't know....the year before he nearly won it for us (that kick was a goal)

Ahh the 2003 GF, what an awful list that achieved so much.

Just look at that GF team, how the hell was that team in a GF let alone favourites to win on the day, all credit has to go to Mick for getting everything out of the list.

We really were a two man team back then and if we were missing one of Buckley or Rocca we were nothing. I remember the day when Rocca lost his appeal, I was almost more upset after hearing that than when we lost the actual game because he loved playing Brisbane and he killed them every time. The game was over in the first ten minutes when we were 4-5 goals down, when Brisbane had a nice lead like that they never lost.

Yep, the old "Rocca couldn't have kicked 10 goals" argument is a fantastic way to know if you're talking to an idiot, or someone who knows about footy.

Oh I don't know....the year before he nearly won it for us (that kick was a goal)

I was right behind that kick. It was in by almost half a metre. That "non-goal" and the atrocious Lynch free kick cost us that flag.

ben kinnear, richard cole, ryan lonie....tristen walker...matthew lokan... as for being favourites, premierships arent popularity contests..

I don't know why everyone has a pot shot at Lonie all the time.
He was one of our best player in the finals in one of those GF years.
The others I agree with.
He added a lot of run and good kicking from defence.

I don't know why everyone has a pot shot at Lonie all the time.
He was one of our best player in the finals in one of those GF years.
The others I agree with.
He added a lot of run and good kicking from defence.

and he was very young..i didnt mean to take a pot shot at him. He tried his best. I had a look at the stats at the end of 2003 and he wasnt in good form. He hardly had a contested possession in the last few weeks and that's not the form to take into a grand final. I think we all know the story about how the brisbane players voted for him etc etc and I'm not going to promote the story here. It's a total lack of respect. The guy did his best and he was a pretty good outside player in his overall career. I'm not having a shot at the other players too. However, there are some of them who were just not up to the job. It's ok for brown to have a general shot at Collingwood's desire on that day but the omission of Rocca must have really shot their confidence. They had so few gun players when compared to Brisbane. I named those players to demonstrate that we had quite a few weak links on the day. Have a look at the two teams on that day. We have quite a few talented players but look at the players I named and try to find similar "weak links" in the brisbane team. There arent many. I still think the players and the coach did pretty well to get to 2 grand finals in a row. Lonie has no reason to be ashamed.

Teams[edit]
B:
26 Ben Johnson 14 Shane Wakelin 8 James Clement
HB: 39 Matthew Lokan 35 Simon Prestigiacomo 13 Richard Cole
C: 6 Brodie Holland 5 Nathan Buckley (c) 37 Ryan Lonie
HF: 11 Shane O'Bree 34 Jason Cloke 17 Scott Burns
F: 28 Ben Kinnear 38 Tristen Walker 20 Chris Tarrant
Foll: 25 Josh Fraser 2 Shane Woewodin 18 Paul Licuria
Int: 4 Alan Didak 29 Heath Scotland 22 Rhyce Shaw
1 Leon Davis
Coach: Mick Malthouse