Eagle_Fan

Interview with the package on 7 news tonight. Wouldn't usually be newsworthy I realise, but given he's barely said a thing since he arrived I'm keen to hear what he has to say on 'the pressures of playing footy in Perth'.

I didn't see the 7 interview but i saw an interview with him on 10. He was talking about Melbourne and how he followed them as a youngster, saying he wore #3 because of Gary Lyon. He said it was going to be a big game and he talked a bit more about the MCG, how he made his debut there etc I thought he looked pretty relaxed and talked quietly but confidently.

Channel 7 was basically the same.

I didn't like either interview. :( I'd rather not hear about how he 'doesn't mind going home because his friends and family are there'. I want to hear about how well he's fitted in here, how much he loves the club, and how he's fallen madly in love with all things Perth and doesn't see himself ever going back!

Although maybe the fact that he's so open about it is a sign that he plans to stay regardless? Yeah, I'm sure that's it.... ;)

You know, if Judd wants to go home at the end of the year then so be it. We have lots of big names coming out of contract at the end of this year... Cuzz, Wirra, Judd, Morrison... I'm sure there is others. We can't be too Judd conscious as others may leave as well. Ultimately, we must do whats best for the team eg if Judd wants such a big contract that Cuzz and Wirra are forced to leave then it isnt worth it... I really want Judd to stay but its the whole team that matters...

Basicly Judd said nothing about going back to Melbourne at the end of the year. He said he didn't mind travelling every second week as he got to see his family and freinds. I think it is unfair of the reporters to try and make insinuations about Judds future by asking questions that can easily be taken out of context.

My opinion, and hopes is that he will stay, but if he doesn't, then its not the end of the world, because we will get a ****load in return, no doubting that.

Just quickly of the top of my head what I'd expect from each club.

Carlton - can't think of anything, they wouldn't be involved unless they managed to get draft picks 1,2,3 and 4.

Collingwood - Didak is a must - he along with Judd i rate as my top 5 prospects of the game (other three are riewoldt, pavlich and Jon Brown). But I would expect we could bargain for even more than Didak as well. Perhaps even get a good tall in there.

Essendon - I reckon Matty Lloyd (still only 25) or Adam Ramanuaskas or Mark Johnson along with one of their young key defenders (Jacobs??) plus draft picks.

Geelong - Joel Corey plus plus plus (not sure who else).

Hawthorn - Jon Hay (depending on his 2003) plus Luke Hodge.

Melbourne - Nothing too interesting here.

North - Daniel Wells plus Digby Morrell plus very early draft pick.

Richmond - Ottens plus others.

St Kilda - Goddard or Ball or Riewoldt plus others.

Bulldogs - Nothing too interesting here.

The main clubs I reckon we'd deal with would be Colingwood, Essendon, Hawthorn (mainly cause of Luke Hodge), North Melbourne and St Kilda.

But in saying that I'd rather him stick around here.

I'm begging you, please don't start with the imaginary trades. It was bad enough having to watch the Fremantle fans do it with Matty Pavlich last year.

Originally posted by TheRealBuzz
I'm begging you, please don't start with the imaginary trades. It was bad enough having to watch the Fremantle fans do it with Matty Pavlich last year.

yea yea i know :) was a bit bored and thought i'd spout out what was in my head.

Preferably I'd wanna keep Judd at the Eagles. he's in an environment were we know he can perform, and for his own sake he's probably better staying.

He may go back to Melbourne and just become another Lenny Hayes. Start off great but become an average AFL footballer.

And we may get some superstar young kid who comes over here and does the exact same thing.

Hey fellas no long time no see.

Chris Judd is getting some work experience in property development, he better be thinking of getting some land here and developing it here for permanent long term residence.

Anyone notice that Judd has escaped from the whole speculation of his career better than Pavlich, and this is a significant comparison considering that Judd was better than Pavlich in his second year.

While Judd might not be a vice captain at a Eagles he'll earn his spot in the starting 18 and deserve it.

Say can anyone draw comparisions between Pav and Judd?

I'm gonna stay out of this one until much later.

When comparing think about the style of their football, impact in first year, skills, gameplay, professionalism, on field and off field behaviour.

its hard to know what to think of Judd personally - he doesn't say very much, but he does appear to have a great work ethic and obviousbly trains very hard so he is dedicated to the cause.

Completely different player to Pavlich.

Judd's main skills are his speed and accelaration and change of speed, his hands below knee level (I already consider him to be close to the best in the AFL in this department), his kicking is also very good off both feet.

His biggest problem area currently seems to be marking, in particular dropping easy uncontested marks.

Aside from that I can't think of too many real defencies in his game, and he is only going to get better as he gets naturally stronger, faster, wiser and more skillful.

Originally posted by Black Thunder
My opinion, and hopes is that he will stay, but if he doesn't, then its not the end of the world, because we will get a ****load in return, no doubting that.

Just quickly of the top of my head what I'd expect from each club.

Carlton - can't think of anything, they wouldn't be involved unless they managed to get draft picks 1,2,3 and 4.

Collingwood - Didak is a must - he along with Judd i rate as my top 5 prospects of the game (other three are riewoldt, pavlich and Jon Brown). But I would expect we could bargain for even more than Didak as well. Perhaps even get a good tall in there.

Essendon - I reckon Matty Lloyd (still only 25) or Adam Ramanuaskas or Mark Johnson along with one of their young key defenders (Jacobs??) plus draft picks.

Geelong - Joel Corey plus plus plus (not sure who else).

Hawthorn - Jon Hay (depending on his 2003) plus Luke Hodge.

Melbourne - Nothing too interesting here.

North - Daniel Wells plus Digby Morrell plus very early draft pick.

Richmond - Ottens plus others.

St Kilda - Goddard or Ball or Riewoldt plus others.

Bulldogs - Nothing too interesting here.

The main clubs I reckon we'd deal with would be Colingwood, Essendon, Hawthorn (mainly cause of Luke Hodge), North Melbourne and St Kilda.

But in saying that I'd rather him stick around here.

you think you can get lloyd, reiwoldt, didak etc etc etc for judd, omg.... cant see it at all, since most of them arent from w.a.

Originally posted by grinspoon
you think you can get lloyd, reiwoldt, didak etc etc etc for judd, omg.... cant see it at all, since most of them arent from w.a.

what would that have to do with it. didak is from adelaide, riewoldt is from queensland, koschitzke is from new south wales.

there are actually quite a few examples of players playing in the AFL in states away from their home. probably around 150 of them currently ;)

Originally posted by Black Thunder
how so :confused:

Some of those trades are beyond unrealistic. Hay + Hodge? Lloyd + young key defender + draft picks? Wells + Morrell + early draft picks? Mate, I've said my fair share of exeggerated praise towards Judd, but those trades are unrealistic. Don't think Carey at his peak would command such trade value.

give Judd (cousins and Kerr) everything they want. All three have got to stay.

I'd rather go with a shortened Docker styled list (as hard as it is to admit) than let him walk over money.

of course if it's homesickness then do what Brisbane did - one est. player good enough for your best 18 and the highest damn pick you can get. nothing less.

if ya can;t fit them in the salary just increase their superannuation.

If the Eagles let Judd ( or cuzz, kerr, wirra, gardi for that matter) go I will spit chips! They have to do everything they can to keep him at the club! He is an out and out superstar!
Atm we have one of the best (if not the BEST) midfields in the league! WHy would you let one of them go?? You would pay him or cousins or kerr preety much whatever they want and keep them happy. Or you stress to them that you have to keep the team together for the betterment of their careers (ie like the Lions did) and hope like hell that they are club orrientated and have some loyalty to their fellow players, coachs and the fans!
p.s Me thinks that a good finals campaign would keep him in WA if money came into it and we couldnt match a victorian club.
pps: Remember that Roo and probably milly and maybe Jako wont be on that list for 2004! That should ease some of the cap

if Judd truely wants to go back to Melbourne then there is no amount of money that we can pay him to stay. just ask Brissy about Des.

Juddy was a Melbourne supporter in his youth so hopefully our win on the weekend over his childhood side might help convince him to stay in the west.