Just Wondering

Eagles
All three are coming out of contract at the end of this year.

Personally I think they'll all stay at Freo, but hypothetically which of the three would you be willing to unload if the salary cap restrictions started causing some real problems?

Tough tough question.

All 3 will no doubt be stars. As much as I didn't want to, I voted for Justin, mainly due to the fact I think Pavlich and Hasleby are vital parts of our team. We would struggle to win more games if Pavlich or Hasleby were missing, compared to if Justin was missing. Justin, however could end up a better player than Pav or Hasleby. He's handy in the ruck, a good mark and the start of this year being an exception, hes a reliable kick.

Longmuir probally just over pavlich due to the fact he is a definite career player at the club.
Plus he is not as physically mature as Pavlich and so still has more improvement to go.
Haselby will be the heart of the midfield and like Longmuir will be a career player for the club.

If asked who I would let go first, on the fact that the first 2 are home grown I would say bye bye to Pavlich.
But lets hope it never comes to that.

Too hard to call. What a quandary. Schwabby and the boys will sort it out. They'll all stay.

Voted for Longmuir

Yeh I hope we can keep all three as well, but if it came down to it I'd keep Longmuir and Haselby just for the fact that they are homegrown talent and likely to be 10 year players for the club. I think with the whole Pav situation at the moment, his failure to sign until the end of the season probably shows that he is very homesick and if he doesn't leave now, then another few years down the track he might reassess his options.

That being said I hope Pav decides to stay at freo and become a 10 year player at the club, but it's always important to keep homegrown talent in the side.

Out of interest, does anyone know who else is coming out of contract for the dockers at the end of this season??

WHY BOTHER

Why bother with a crap question question like that.None are going to leave so why come in here with your trash.Go bother the people you really care for and leave us alone.

Re: WHY BOTHER

Originally posted by anchor man
Why bother with a crap question question like that.None are going to leave so why come in here with your trash.Go bother the people you really care for and leave us alone.

Mmmmmmm, I thought it was a legitimate question.

As Buzz stated "Personally I think they'll all stay at Freo"

My thoughts.....Pavlich

:cool:

Re: Re: WHY BOTHER

Originally posted by Goldenblue

Mmmmmmm, I thought it was a legitimate question.

As Buzz stated "Personally I think they'll all stay at Freo"

My thoughts.....Pavlich

:cool:

So how about this poll if I posted it on the Eagles board.

Considering how crap the Eagles have been in the last few years which premiership player should you have traded for good young talent 5 years ago. Personally I think they all should have all stayed.

a) Jakovich
b) McIntosh
c) Matera

It's a troll of a poll.

If it is a choice between a dozen other players and the three on the poll then they would go instead of Pav, J Lo or Hase. The answer Buzz. None, neither, no one, not on your life. If they wanted to leave and therefore it was out of the clubs hands then the club would have no choice anyway. Otherwise a whole host of players would go first. It's like saying who would Essendon lose, Hird, Lloyd or Fletcher. The answer of course was Damien Hardwick.

Re: Re: Re: WHY BOTHER

Originally posted by funky_monk

So how about this poll if I posted it on the Eagles board.

Considering how crap the Eagles have been in the last few years which premiership player should you have traded for good young talent 5 years ago. Personally I think they all should have all stayed.

a) Jakovich
b) McIntosh
c) Matera

It's a troll of a poll.

If it is a choice between a dozen other players and the three on the poll then they would go instead of Pav, J Lo or Hase. The answer Buzz. None, neither, no one, not on your life. If they wanted to leave and therefore it was out of the clubs hands then the club would have no choice anyway. Otherwise a whole host of players would go first. It's like saying who would Essendon lose, Hird, Lloyd or Fletcher. The answer of course was Damien Hardwick.

Then post a poll.

As for being crap, at least we are still better than your rabble. Ever finished above us? How's your finals tally?

Shows your mob are worse than are "crappy" players.

Freo are the Eagles bitches...
:p :D

Re: Re: Re: Re: WHY BOTHER

Originally posted by Goldenblue

Ever finished above us?
:p :D

Ummm, you have shocking memory :)

Freo finished above WC in 2000 :D

And for the Eagles being better than us, and even though we only won two games last year, you must agree that the Dockers and Eagles performances have been on par over the last 2 and a half years.

Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: WHY BOTHER

Originally posted by dbhattarai

Ummm, you have shocking memory :)

Freo finished above WC in 2000 :D

And for the Eagles being better than us, and even though we only won two games last year, you must agree that the Dockers and Eagles performances have been on par over the last 2 and a half years.

True, I admit my mistake. :cool:

Just can't handle fools who can not read into a decent question.
There are some decent Freo supporters out there.

A hypothetical question about footy players on a footy forum.

What was I thinking?

Funky Monk, I think the club made the right decision by retaining all three champions. I feel this way because I think it's important to build a sense of tradition and culture within a club.

Maybe you'll come to realise this when your club actually produces a champion player.

But hypothetically, I would have chosen Peter Matera.

The day an eagle admits that any aspect of the dockers has ever been better than the eagles is the day hell freezes over...

Actually, that day will be when the Dockers, (whose supporters for some reason hate us with a passion), actually ARE better than the West Coast Eagles, two times in a year and make the eight. Two wins out of what is it now? 15 derbies now? And one of them was lucky coz Phil Matera nearly kicked a goal with seconds left in the one pointer. That is not enough to make us respect you and admit you are better than us. Win two out of three grand final appearances in your first seven years and then we will respect you. But of course, I forgot, you are already seven years old....

Seriously, Buzz is a down to earth guy. He wasn't trolling, he was asking a legitimate question, just as the one about Matera, Jako and Milli would have been a legit question if Funky Monk had thought of asking it first.

By the way, It was a great win today. COngrats Freo, we support you when we are not playing you. Take a clue from our coaches people, and get behind the other WA team, whichever you support.

Originally posted by USAEagle

Seriously, Buzz is a down to earth guy. He wasn't trolling, he was asking a legitimate question, just as the one about Matera, Jako and Milli would have been a legit question if Funky Monk had thought of asking it first.

In the days of the Rivals boards I went to the Eagles board and asked whether the eagles hypothetically should have traded Matera a few years ago considering what they could have got. I was ripped apart by Eagles fans at the mere suggestions that Matera should have been traded. I agree with what you said Buzz, West Coast should have kept all three players in my hypothetical poll.

But that was my point as well.

Like I stated in my initial poll when Essendon had salary cap issues last year they didn't delist any of the top 5 players at the club (which arguably Jlo, Pav and Hase are in). They got rid of Damien Hardwick. Given the choice (as you suggested) Freo would delist/trade Metro, Walker, Shipp, Toia, Eastaugh, Fewster or even a Victorian like McPhee IMO.

Just as Eagles fans may be horrified at the idea that Matera could have been traded as a Freo fan given the choice those players wouldn't be going anywhere. None of them.

If I came across too harsh I apologise. I just come from the main board and had a gut-full of the attitude of Collingwood supporters (at least we won in the end!!!).

.......at least we won in the end......

Yeah, I agree...and you can BOO Eddie McGuire as much as you like.

Originally posted by sabre_ac
Longmuir probally just over pavlich due to the fact he is a definite career player at the club.
Plus he is not as physically mature as Pavlich and so still has more improvement to go.
Haselby will be the heart of the midfield and like Longmuir will be a career player for the club.

If asked who I would let go first, on the fact that the first 2 are home grown I would say bye bye to Pavlich.
But lets hope it never comes to that.

LOL

Logmuir will never be half the player that Pavlich will be

Freo are lucky you are not running things.

Originally posted by Jars458

LOL

And this is why your not incharge of the dockers, also highlights your sheer lack of knowledge concerning the dockers.

I agree that Longmuir will never be as good as Pavlich but Longmuir will still be a very good player and will be a vital part of our team.

Originally posted by Jars458

LOL

Last year Longmuir was a far superior player to Pavlich, and has every potential to become the clubs best player to date. The Dockers just need to find the right position for Longmuir (full forward IMO) and leave him there.

i dont hate the eagles or supporters any more than another team its just the way your team is treated in the media.

when you have a bad loss everything is glossed over and any little positive is found,no players are ever named as playing bad games or making skill errors.your coach is never questioned about his decisions.
plus hearing jeff newman wan##ng over the eagles while reading the weather is taking it to far.

less coverage of freo the better as its always stupid storys about chris connellys pants being to short or half our squad will be axed at the end of season,not stuff i want see or read.its crap.

i want storys that pull at the heart strings like jakos heart prob,more powder puff pieces for freo,and i want freo to have a injury crisis as well,yes we do have injured players as well,more exscuses for freo as well.

:D :D :D

Jeba, interesting topic this one. If I was a Psychiatrist(spelling??), I'd have a field day with some or most of the freo supporters.

Now I may be wrong and please feel free to retort, but freo supporters seem to have a monumental sized chip on their shoulders, and seem to go into some sort of hatred driven, foaming at the mouth type of frenzy at the mention of the west coast eagles.

Now this blatant hatred of the eagles and anything associated with the club stems from the fact that we've managed to comprehensively flog you guys on the field, but we've also been very successful in a short period of time. Despite this, we hear year after year how the tide will turn, blah, blah,blah...

Anyway, I reckon your lot are doing pretty well under connolly. I really rate him as a coach. I also think soem freo supporters should try and shake this "sooky-sooky la la" image and share thier hate around to some of the other 14 clubs in the afl.

I'd be interested in your responce Jeba.