Kane Johnson

• Thread starter Thread starter TimeFor11

Jeepers, you'd swear he'd been arrested for interfering with a grandmother! It's as if he walked into the station and started relieving himself ON a policeman, rather than just down the back of the station (which is a massive building, by the way). 2am is not 5am and near his home so sounds like he wandered out and did a wizz in a stupor.

Silly, very silly, but no hanging offence. Victimless crime. The furore surrounding Fev was because he is an unmitigated idiot who doesn't learn, no matter what the consequences or warnings provided. Sugar is a surprise and I'm sure, a one-off.

It's not as if he was doubling the speed limit around a primary school at pick-up time, smacked someone at Crown, or riding with an alleged murderer while caps were being shot off left right and centre, now, is it...

He was really good Thursday. Live and learn and Sugar has the strength of character to put it behind him. At the end of the year, look at the captaincy (which I'd prefer would've been done a few months ago), but removing him on this basis now would be destabilising and do more harm than good. If he stepped down, I'd accept it, but geez this is a large reaction.

Go Tiges.:thumbsu::thumbsu:

Jeepers, you'd swear he'd been arrested for interfering with a grandmother! It's as if he walked into the station and started relieving himself ON a policeman, rather than just down the back of the station (which is a massive building, by the way). 2am is not 5am and near his home so sounds like he wandered out and did a wizz in a stupor.

Silly, very silly, but no hanging offence. Victimless crime. The furore surrounding Fev was because he is an unmitigated idiot who doesn't learn, no matter what the consequences or warnings provided. Sugar is a surprise and I'm sure, a one-off.

It's not as if he was doubling the speed limit around a primary school at pick-up time, smacked someone at Crown, or riding with an alleged murderer while caps were being shot off left right and centre, now, is it...

He was really good Thursday. Live and learn and Sugar has the strength of character to put it behind him. At the end of the year, look at the captaincy (which I'd prefer would've been done a few months ago), but removing him on this basis now would be destabilising and do more harm than good. If he stepped down, I'd accept it, but geez this is a large reaction.

:)OUTSTANDING post Guts! Sat back and been amazed by some of the comments on here re Kane. A silly act, nothing more, nothing less.

In many ways, I see the outcry here as a mask for the fact he played bloody damn well on Thursday night and some people here can't handle that. Nothing this guy does will ever be good enough - the jury of Tigers supporter has already delivered its verdict.

Here's a simple dose of reality. I went along to the Hawks-Dees clash yesterday at the G and had a few beers. I ventured home via the train from Richmond station. While wiating for the Flinders Steet bound service to arrive, I was busting for a leak. Being down the end of the station where there were no toilets I decided to head out the exit and have a leak near the entrance on the Swan Street side. All rather harmless really...and any bloke in the same situation would have done the same. Don't condemn a man for what that the majority of you have done yourself and will do a hundred times again.

He was unlucky and he is paying for his sin....leave it at that!!! Seemed a fairly mature solution to an embarrassing incident!!!

:)OUTSTANDING post Guts! Sat back and been amazed by some of the comments on here re Kane. A silly act, nothing more, nothing less.

In many ways, I see the outcry here as a mask for the fact he played bloody damn well on Thursday night and some people here can't handle that. Nothing this guy does will ever be good enough - the jury of Tigers supporter has already delivered its verdict.

Here's a simple dose of reality. I went along to the Hawks-Dees clash yesterday at the G and had a few beers. I ventured home via the train from Richmond station. While wiating for the Flinders Steet bound service to arrive, I was busting for a leak. Being down the end of the station where there were no toilets I decided to head out the exit and have a leak near the entrance on the Swan Street side. All rather harmless really...and any bloke in the same situation would have done the same. Don't condemn a man for what that the majority of you have done yourself and will do a hundred times again.

He was unlucky and he is paying for his sin....leave it at that!!! Seemed a fairly mature solution to an embarrassing incident!!!
Agree with you that it is extremely harmless, that most people would be guilty of monthly / weekly, and unlike Fev it hasn't been indicated he was legless and abusive. The biggest problem is he done it just days after a fellow footballer got smashed by the football world for the same thing, which makes it such a no brainer.
To draw similarities it's like finding out an old screw has caught the clap and then a week later riding her bareback. mmm !!!

It's not the act so much as him being so pissed at 2am in the morning that he didn't even have the awareness to piss in his own backyard Goldie.

He's an elite athlete who has had three ordinary years in a row, seldom shows enough passion or accountability on the field, and should be doing everything he can to turn it around - which doesn't include being blind drunk at 2am one week into the season.

Who else was there? How many of our players were there getting blind one week into the season, invited by Captain Mediocrity, who was obviously sending the entirely wrong message? One of our young up and comers (Cotchin?) lives with him - what message has Johnson sent him? One day it's ok to get smashed because it's your birthday, then it's a slippery slope to becoming an 'any excuse' ****up like Filthy Fev, as long as you don't get caught.

It all speaks to Johnson's attitude about his football and our club - he cruises through most of every season on auto-pilot as a player, and he's not a leader.

Stupid ****ing arguments by someone who is happy to have the LEADER of our football club acting that way.
Who said you need a victim to perform a stupid, irresponsible act?

A great example of what's acceptable for the young ones in our side. NOT.
A great example to other football clubs of what standards Richmond accepts from their Captain. NOT.
A great example from a leader playing at the highest level in the land. NOT.
A great example for little kids. NOT.

Grow some ****ing brains....it wasn't one of your mates squirting in the street after a big night out.....that wouldn't make the media.

THE AFL AND RICHMOND DOES MAKES THE MEDIA.
There's your difference right there.
It's call Publicity numbnuts.
Publicity gets Prime Ministers elected, celebrity's in trouble, helps good causes and starts wars.
It's how your viewed and how you ALLOW yourself to be viewed if you're in the public domain.
AND RICHMOND IS IN THE PUBLIC DOMAIN.

Every company with half a brain will now rethink spending money on the Tiges in future if we allow our Captains to act unhindered in that way and let them self administer discipline themselves. The Brand is The Richmond Football Club......Not The Kane Johnson Club.

Removing Johnson as Captain would make no difference...
"Destablising"......ha......utter BS!
Most of the time you don't notice him and he makes no difference to the outcome of the game.

Real action by Richmond against the Captain would show we are fair dinkum and that the club is serious and deserves respect for it's decisions and direction it wants to take!
Not let our ****ed up Captain penalize himself. What a joke!
Who said he was the ultimate power at the club anyway?
By doing that, smart Johnson has removed power immediately from the club.
Clever move that.....Johnson has ****ed us right over.

If Johnson wields the power down at the RFC we are truly ****ed !

Think about it before you think Johnson actions is similar to having a squirt on the way home from your local footy club......it's not.

Oh well, he's not the first to take a leak. It happens everyday, just look at the cars pulled off to the side of the Monash and blokes taking a leak on the nature strip.

He can join the club with Fev, Justin Crawford and didn't the G-Train take a leak in the trough around a bar in a pub?

The point is that our Captain did it!!!!!! Mate we finished last last year and have only played twice in finals since 1982 and won one premiership in the last 28 years. We beat Carlton, woopi doo!

Do you know why we have a pathetic record? Start from the top and work yourself down!

Been reading through some of the comments posted by these "faithful" tigers supporters and it disgusts me at the flack Kane is copping from you morons that wouldn't have a clue what the mans values and character is like. I am best mates with his cousin and have met Kane several times and he is a champion bloke and also a great family man who always takes the time with you for a chat. For those that dont know he was celebrating his 30th birthday for God sake, and I think we all know how a big night on the turps can make any human being do stuff that when they wake up the next morning deeply regret, and also like some of the people that actually have an IQ worth talking about stated in there posts, it is one slip up in a long career. They cant be angels all the time and after all, they are only human as well.

As for the idiots bagging him about his footballing ability, I am a Tigers fan myself and was at the game on Thursday night and I'm not just saying this because my best mate is his cousin but Kane was instrumental in the win. I read one comment by deliberate saying he has had 3 ordinary seasons in a row, this just shows how little you know you twit, he won our best and fairest only 2 years ago in which he kept Chris Judd to 17 disposals and Simon Black to 7. Back to Thursday nights game, he was probably 2nd or 3rd best on ground behind Richo and Foley. Every one talks about Deledio, Tambling and blokes with foot speed in the midfield, Deledio started on a wing and had a tag and couldn't find the sherrin. I love Brett Deledio, he's actually my favourite player, but unless he learns to get his own footy and do some 'gut' running to break a tag he will always just be a there abouts player. Johnson won the hard ball, centre clearances especially in the last half where we basically won the game, and as for his disposal which i agree can sometimes be his down fall, well it was superb on Thursday night.

All in all, for all you idiots/morons and people who know nothing about the game, give the man a break. He has been and still is one of our best midfielders, show a bit of faith in the man and back off.

Again the point is, his the captain and a captain has a lot of responsibilities. Ok it was his 30 birtday party, what, he had to piss at a cop station, head office! Who are you calling idiots and morons.

I think you have a conflict of interest here.

Stupid ****ing arguments by someone who is happy to have the LEADER of our football club acting that way.
Who said you need a victim to perform a stupid, irresponsible act?

OK, I saw Scotty Burns watering his plants outside of water restriction times - I guess he should get $30K and 6 weeks? Hurt the same number of people (arguably more if you want to get earthy)

THE AFL AND RICHMOND DOES MAKES THE MEDIA.

I'm not sure what this sentence, or lack thereof, means...

Removing Johnson as Captain would make no difference...
"Destablising"......ha......utter BS!
Most of the time you don't notice him and he makes no difference to the outcome of the game.

Real action by Richmond against the Captain would show we are fair dinkum and that the club is serious and deserves respect for it's decisions and direction it wants to take!

Yeah, blokes who have 2 flags and just came off 26 touches in the guts make no difference. Do you watch football at all? :rolleyes:

The respect is lost, to the extent it is, for as long as it takes him to come back. A huge penalty would draw further and more lasting attention to an immature and repugnant, but hardly heinous, act. Taking the moral high-ground against a bloke with an otherwise fine reputation within the playing community is really missing your target.

Sheesh, grow up lad.

Sponsors care far more about getting their names on the back page, adorning the jumpers of the winning side they sponsor, than they do about a bloke taking a widdle late at night and the message that supposedly sends to the kiddies. The TAC aside, I guess, but to my knowledge we're not supported by any anti- public-urination lobby.

Johnson getting fined and stepping down is pretty darn humiliating. Punishment taken (suggested by him which was impressive). Case closed. Move on and focus on the improving winning culture we saw on Thursday, rather than the action of a bloke who lost his senses for a bit. On your logic, I guess we should have turfed Richo for his on-field petulance a few years back, and sent Schulz to someone else for driving over the limit. Both would have been more credible suggestions than your above tripe

Guys like you are pretty keen to tear something down the moment we show signs of building something. Feel free to express your displeasure by not turning up for the rest of the season - you'll be a lonely guy, and shan't be missed.

Go Tiges:thumbsu::thumbsu:

Agree with you that it is extremely harmless, that most people would be guilty of monthly / weekly, and unlike Fev it hasn't been indicated he was legless and abusive. The biggest problem is he done it just days after a fellow footballer got smashed by the football world for the same thing, which makes it such a no brainer.
To draw similarities it's like finding out an old screw has caught the clap and then a week later riding her bareback. mmm !!!

Great analogy! :D

Yep, I'm sure the above thoughts have occurred to Sugar more than once in the last 48 hours. He'll have 2 weeks to prepare himself and I think we'd be very surprised if we saw anything < 100% from our Captain for the rest of this season, not that he doesn't give his all most weeks anyway. I think smashing him would be waaaay too hard. He's a very good player, our Captain and we should be disappointed, but not unforgiving. This way, he has every incentive to come back furious. Any more and it would be dis-spriting to him and very likely others around him.

Suprised no one has mentioned the Original poster of the story- A carlton fan who knows the officer... What are the chances of this cop being a carlton supporter too :p

I come to a mixed reaction.

The cop could have asked him to leave/stop etc, and left the matter alone. Avioding bringing the incident into the media- which was no harm to anyone or anything was intentional.

He wasn't violent, just drunk and unaware of his actions.

His friends and family can also come into the situation. Being his party, centre of attention... you'd think the guests would have an idea where he is and what he's up to.

But the incident has been made public, therefore a reasonable price is to be made. As stated, the 5K fine and one match suspension is the minimum, with the leadership group still to decide any potential further penalties.

A setback for Kanes 2008 season, we can't allow it to setback the teams 2008 season too.

Been reading through some of the comments posted by these "faithful" tigers supporters and it disgusts me at the flack Kane is copping from you morons that wouldn't have a clue what the mans values and character is like. I am best mates with his cousin and have met Kane several times and he is a champion bloke and also a great family man who always takes the time with you for a chat. For those that dont know he was celebrating his 30th birthday for God sake, and I think we all know how a big night on the turps can make any human being do stuff that when they wake up the next morning deeply regret, and also like some of the people that actually have an IQ worth talking about stated in there posts, it is one slip up in a long career. They cant be angels all the time and after all, they are only human as well.

As for the idiots bagging him about his footballing ability, I am a Tigers fan myself and was at the game on Thursday night and I'm not just saying this because my best mate is his cousin but Kane was instrumental in the win. I read one comment by deliberate saying he has had 3 ordinary seasons in a row, this just shows how little you know you twit, he won our best and fairest only 2 years ago in which he kept Chris Judd to 17 disposals and Simon Black to 7. Back to Thursday nights game, he was probably 2nd or 3rd best on ground behind Richo and Foley. Every one talks about Deledio, Tambling and blokes with foot speed in the midfield, Deledio started on a wing and had a tag and couldn't find the sherrin. I love Brett Deledio, he's actually my favourite player, but unless he learns to get his own footy and do some 'gut' running to break a tag he will always just be a there abouts player. Johnson won the hard ball, centre clearances especially in the last half where we basically won the game, and as for his disposal which i agree can sometimes be his down fall, well it was superb on Thursday night.

All in all, for all you idiots/morons and people who know nothing about the game, give the man a break. He has been and still is one of our best midfielders, show a bit of faith in the man and back off.

Yeah well my brother's, wife's cousin is married to Richo's hairdresser and she reckons Richo is the best kick for goal in the AFL.

Take it some where else. We dont need displays of inbreeding and nepotism ruining our boards

Johnson wouldnt get a game at any other AFL club

Well there's nothing like a Johnson thread to bring out the f***wit supporters.

Hypothetical - what if it was Richo who had done the pissing? Doubt the same anti-Johnson comments would be made. Despite both players up to that point having had no off field indiscretions.

No, all these ferals getting bent out of shape are really taking their frustration out on the fact that they don't like Kane Johnson. All the rest is just window dressing to justify their dislike.

If it had been richo they'd just be saying 'what an idiot' instead of calling for him to be sacked.

One week suspension and 5K is appropriate. That's what Richo would have copped, I reckon.

Well there's nothing like a Johnson thread to bring out the f***wit supporters.

Hypothetical - what if it was Richo who had done the pissing? Doubt the same anti-Johnson comments would be made. Despite both players up to that point having had no off field indiscretions.

No, all these ferals getting bent out of shape are really taking their frustration out on the fact that they don't like Kane Johnson. All the rest is just window dressing to justify their dislike.

If it had been richo they'd just be saying 'what an idiot' instead of calling for him to be sacked.

and wy do u reckon that is Dan ??????????????

Again the point which most of you have missed, His The Captain, the leader of the crew. Get it!

We don't hate Johnson, well I don't!

Richmond captain Kane Johnson says sorry to police
Karen Collier and Grant McArthur
March 25, 2008 11:35am

TIGER captain Kane Johnson has delivered a letter of apology to police chief Christine Nixon expressing regret for urinating on the wall of a police complex.

The remorseful Richmond skipper's hand-delivered note stressed he did not set out to offend the force when he was arrested outside the St Kilda Rd complex early on Sunday.

And he has offered to work with Victoria Police to make amends.

Johnson delivered the letter to the Victoria Police Centre reception in Flinders St yesterday afternoon.

Ms Nixon, who opened the personal apology this morning, declined to release the letter publicly.

But a spokeswoman confirmed the gesture and said the Chief Commissioner was impressed.

"He apologised and wanted to emphasise his actions at the weekend were in no way meant to cause offence and that he hadn't deliberately selected the complex to disrespect police," spokeswoman Nicole McKechnie said.

"He offered to do anything to assist in the future with Victoria Police to make amends."

Johnson, who was arrested for urinating on the St Kilda Rd Police complex at 2am on Sunday, yesterday pledged to help stamp out binge drinking.

Richmond football director Greg Miller said Johnson wanted to warn the community about the problem and the club would take a stance through its captain.

"Kane is not a regular drinker, it was a one-off, and he certainly hasn't been drinking since Christmas," he said.

"It was his birthday, he celebrated and he went too far.

"I guess that is a topical subject at the moment and he understands that, and if he can help deliver that right message he will.

"Already the Prime Minister has met Andrew Demetriou and sought the AFL's assistance (to stamp out problem drinking), so I think we are going to become proactive."

http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/story/0,21985,23428263-2862,00.html

Lol so Kane might have only had a middy or two if he barely drinks. ;)

Two-can Kane. :D