Karmichael Hunt

• Thread starter Thread starter J6shSC

Re: Karmichael

Hes as cheap as any draftee - and Ill be surprised if he doesnt play most games early.

Ill take him but cant see him lasting all year in my side.

There's no good reason to get him apart from wanting to avoid a zero - but with three bench spots and MPP links you shouldn't need Hunt.

Get a rookie who has the potential to put out high scores. I would rather Heppell, Hibberd, Toy, Duigan, Strauss, Lisle, Grimes or various other rookie -priced players ahead of Hunt.

FYI there was no way in hell that I would pick him up, just was honestly wondering if anybody actually planned to.

GC didn't buy him for his looks. He will play plenty of early games to drive viewers/spectators/supporters. I expect he will tackle too. In that respect he is an understandable bench option.

...having said that does anyone know the record for lowest SC score as he may be a contender for this record. I can recall a -18.

While I do not consider him a viable option at all... I guess he will probably (at the very least) play a couple of games and make some coin.... Isn't that what the cash cows are for after all.... But I suppose if you compare him to Swallow et el he wouldn't even rate. Funny one actually, they paid enough for him, might as well use him (thus garunteed points thus cash) but at the same time so many other options.

the gold coast have to play him so j/s is no issue whether he scores highly enough is another thing could be like dawson in his 1st year at st kilda

GC didn't buy him for his looks. He will play plenty of early games to drive viewers/spectators/supporters. I expect he will tackle too. In that respect he is an understandable bench option.

...having said that does anyone know the record for lowest SC score as he may be a contender for this record. I can recall a -18.

I think he is a very viable option on the bench. His break even will be low. He will play games. He will be pushed more then anyone, they need to save face and justify paying him all that $$$$ to get him in.

He might have been shaky in the VFL but he at least was the top in another code, played well in school footy. Now obviously the AFL is different but....

Ivan Maric played basketball up until 18. He had no interest in playing ball sports and never did. He had a random kick at a park with some mates...

A few years later he is the number 1 ruckman at an AFL club. Now he might not be the best but if he can some what make it then I'm sure Hunt at the very least can make supercoaches some cash.

While I do not consider him a viable option at all... I guess he will probably (at the very least) play a couple of games and make some coin.... Isn't that what the cash cows are for after all.... But I suppose if you compare him to Swallow et el he wouldn't even rate. Funny one actually, they paid enough for him, might as well use him (thus garunteed points thus cash) but at the same time so many other options.

For it to be worth your while, a cash cow would have to average at a minimum about 70 points. I can't see Hunt doing that. My guess is his average will be around the 30 mark (and that's optimistic) and his value will level off at around 180-200k. Not worth it.

I'd be surprised if his average was that low. Prestigiacomo used to average 45.

The risks with Hunt are clangers and disposal efficiency. He may be better suited to DT although isn't likely to get heaps of possessions.

He is a mature body, was an elite athlete in another code, will have good job security, will be good at contested possessions (except perhaps contested marks) and I imagine will be a tackling machine. Definitely worth looking at his NAB Cup form before ruling out.

I've seen at least -35 before from Daniel Motlop several years ago (Cost me a game :mad:), he had a terrible 1st quarter (One of the worst i've ever seen, so many clangers) and then went of injured. I swore never to have him again after that.

If Maric can average 66.70 when at 18 he was never involved in any level in any ball sport that required kicking then I'm sure Hunt can do similar

More of a potential DT option. Too many potential clangers for SC.

For his price there are so many rookies that will play and that will average higher. Def no for me. Sure he will play all games, but he is going to have a shocking average. Clanger city. He will average 30-40. 40 being maximum i reckon

He looked pretty good against Sydney on the weekend. Definitely not the player I thought he'd be. I would lock Toy in ahead of Hunt, but Hunt could be second or third GC bench option - if you're willing to risk it.