Packers, Detroit Tigers
As I said in another thread yesterday, Westaway said in the footy first manifesto that he had:

"three confirmed sponsors worth in excess of $1M"

In today's paper he is reported as saying:

"The first thing we've got to do is improve income … and we're well down the track in securing some very good sponsorships,"

Now it seems to me that AS SOON AS they were appointed, they have changed their story. A very worrying sign indeed.

Anyone reading these boards in recent weeks knows I was opposed to Footy First. I sincerely want them to succeed now that they have taken over but I am even less convinced about them this morning than I was last week. And where are all of those retired Saints legends who were going to put up their hand to help the board once they were appointed?

Mate they are not allowed to do anything yet.

The new board must have their gaming licenses issued, and that won't happen until next week. They cannot make any decisions on the club's behalf in that time.

You are reading too much into things ...

Give them until Christmas and there will be a couple of positive sponsorship announcements.

They've been there for 48 hours, and they are not even allowed to do anything yet until they are licensed (a formality).

The Butterss administration had plenty of time (i.e the last 3 months) to sort out sponsorship arrangements and nothing happened except some ads in the paper.

I reckon we should give the incoming board the same leeway in terms of time.

And if they haven't done anything by the AGM in February, then you can vote them out then!

The new board must have their gaming licenses issued, and that won't happen until next week. They cannot make any decisions on the club's behalf in that time.

Give them until Christmas and there will be a couple of positive sponsorship announcements.

They've been there for 48 hours, and they are not even allowed to do anything yet until they are licensed (a formality).

The Butterss administration had plenty of time (i.e the last 3 months) to sort out sponsorship arrangements and nothing happened except some ads in the paper.

And if they haven't done anything by the AGM in February, then you can vote them out then!

Great response OWTS - spot on!

Fehring we understand your frustrations however you need to pull your head in and allow the new board a chance to 'get into the business' and effect the CORRECT changes and SECURE the best opportunities.

If you keep having a go at every single comment, rumour, innuendo etc then forget typing your disclaimers on all posts...."I sincerely want them to succeed now that they have taken over ....." as it is just sour grapes and false.

We need a united front now.

So as soon as they have their gaming licences they can start to do things, such as announce the new "confirmed" sponsors yes?

I don't see why they need till christmas to announce sponsors as they already have them confirmed?

And it wasn't three months ago when they lost their old sponsors was it?

Anyway, I just want to see some things they promised, and had already "confirmed" happen before christmas.. Rightly so they should not have to face any rath within the first week of getting appointed.. but allowing 2 and a bit months to announce something that was already "confirmed" is a bit much.. They would be able to get new sponsors from now till then easily.
So with things they "confirmed" prior to taking over, they should be made to act fairly quickly to hold any merit that they actually had these things "confirmed" to begin with..

Fehring we understand your frustrations however you need to pull your head in and allow the new board a chance to 'get into the business' and effect the CORRECT changes and SECURE the best opportunities.

If they were not "confirmed" why did he lie to us?

I've no doubt they'll get the sponsors because footy clubs always get sponsors. But what do these lies tell us about Footy First?

If they were not "confirmed" why did he lie to us?

I've no doubt they'll get the sponsors because footy clubs always get sponsors. But what do these lies tell us about Footy First?

Give it up Fehring they have yet to set foot in the place.

Are you going to jump on every bloody word, comment etc so you can push your pro-Butters stance. Perhaps like him you should leave as your unwanted.

Give it up Fehring they have yet to set foot in the place.

Are you going to jump on every bloody word, comment etc so you can push your pro-Butters stance. Perhaps like him you should leave as your unwanted.

I agree that we need to wait and see. BUT he made promises that things were ALREADY in place. Seems that wasn't the case. Makes me worry.

Still, I'll back off for a while.

I agree that we need to wait and see. BUT he made promises that things were ALREADY in place. Seems that wasn't the case. Makes me worry.

Still, I'll back off for a while.

Good move as if we started tabling every statement made by Butters and seen how many inaccurate, feeble and 'smoke n mirror' things he put out then I know who would look worse at this stage.

The thing is, people voted based on the manifesto FF sent out.. if it was not factually accurate they should be held accountable.. such as the "confirmed" sponsors.. Yes it is way to early to be accusing them of anything and I think Fehring has jumped up a little early, but I totally agree with what he is saying.. They got "elected" or were going to be based on what they promised and stated in their manifesto.. it's a bit like when bracks was elected.. his campaign - "no tolls, no tolls, no tolls"... after being elected - "how are we going to pay for this? through TOLLS!!"

It's good to bring these things up early as to not let them slip down the track... so hopefully within the next two weeks once they become confirmed board members we see som fruition to their promises..

i mean sh1t, they have to get their money from somewhere!! lets hope its not the banks!! :(

I assume that FF had sounded out some companies about whether they would sponsor St Kilda in some capacity, and now that FF have won the finer details will be nutted out, and announced once contracts are signed.

It is clear that there has not been sufficient time as yet for this to happen.

Thomas has nothing to do with the new board. At all.

That is not what I am suggesting. I am behind the new board mate, I am behind the club.

I just recall that Gt and Fox are pretty tight. We all know how GT tried to wrest control of a sponsors board to have influence over the club.

I want these situations to be totally avoided, to create a stable club, as I am sure we all do.

Not trying to be argumentative (for once!).

Now Westaway has control, I too would like to see some of the changes he has promised in place sooner rather than later.

According to The Age article to deliver on promises, Westaway needs to find $2.2 million -

"If the full 2007 profit of $1 million is ploughed into Lyon's department, a further $1.273 million would still be required to meet the top-four ambition."

Hope he gets these sponsers on track soon.

Although I was concerned with RB on some aspects (mostly footy dept spending, public spat with GT etc) I think it should be acknowledged that he did a fantastic job in turning St Kilda's finances around.

Re Thomas: glad with what he did but, he had his chance.

According to The Age article to deliver on promises, Westaway needs to find $2.2 million -

"If the full 2007 profit of $1 million is ploughed into Lyon's department, a further $1.273 million would still be required to meet the top-four ambition."

Flipping Age - where was this article three weeks ago, BEFORE everybody voted for Footy First?! What this simple statement shows is that Westaway has got a humungous task on his hands - if we'd all known it before voting, people would have been asking "yeap, sounds nice, but HOW are you going to pull out ANOTHER $1.273 mill, especially with a few sponsors gone? Promises are nice, but give us some proof..."

As it stands, Westaway and Footy First are in, so best of luck to them. I'm not burning a candle for Butterss (although I appreciate what he's done). I WANT Westaway to succeed, because if he succeeds, the Club succeeds.

I would really love to hear their plan outlined within the month of October. I think thats fair, it's enough time to settle in and make sure everything is all okay.

Would love to hear the potential sponsors they have lined up.

Any news from the new board? have they got their gaming licenses yet? and what about the sponsors they had "locked in".. im looking forward to hearing it all very soon as releasing the details should only be a formality no?

awesome work by RL and the crew with trading.. does anyone think the new board had anything to do with it? even remotely? or was it all RL and the guys already at the saints before westaway and co..?

no, don't think the new board had anything to do with recruiting.

It's the middle of October .... and nothing has been announced, sponsers? list changes? are we staying with Moorabbin or moving? what is the status?. One of Westaway's promises was to keep members more informed ....