UAE Team Emirates
297 games from '71 to '85
AFL Team of the Century Wing
North Team of the Century Wing
Brownlow in '73 & '74
Syd Barker Medalist '80
1975 Premiership player
Club captain '76 - '79

This bloke was a little before my time but those who saw him say was brilliant. A dashing wingman and half-back, he is the only North selection in the AFL Team of the Century. A dual Brownlow Medalist who lead the club for four seasons, Greig was part of the 1975 side, but missed the 1977 flag with a knee injury. I've been wondering why Greig gets such little recognition. I expect his quiet nature combined with having nobody in the media to pump his tyres up is the reason he is largely unheralded. After all, surely a wing selection in the Team of Century indicates he is a top 20 mid of all time? Maybe even top 10?

So why is there no 'Keith Greig Medal' at the club? What could it be for? After all, we can't expect others to give our greats the recognition they deserve.

Where does he rank amongst North players? Second behind Carey?

Tell me more, North Board.

If you got all the best silk worms in the world and gave them the perfect conditions to weave their magic it still wouldn't be as silky as Greig. The guy glided on top of the ground. Quick, evasive, courageous and a great overhead mark. I believe he won Mark of the Year in 76/77??

Try to envision a much stronger version of Daniel Wells with the overhead skills of Aaron Edwards and the balance of a cat.

Greig had everything. Speed, balance, brains, marking, kicking and courage.

There's a reason he was made captain of a premiership side at 25 years of age.

Try to envision a much stronger version of Daniel Wells with the overhead skills of Aaron Edwards and the balance of a cat.

Greig had everything. Speed, balance, brains, marking, kicking and courage.

There's a reason he was made captain of a premiership side at 25 years of age.

I have a feeling you saw him play. Where does he rank as a North player and why does he get little recognition?

Also, did he get on well with Barassi?

Keith Greig (born 23 October 1951) played on the wing for the Australian rules football North Melbourne Football Club from 1971 to 1985. He is considered as one of the most exciting players of the era, earning the nickname "Racehorse" because of his blistering speed on the field.

Greig was recruited from Brunswick in 1971. Greig captained the club from 1976 to 1979, and played a then club record 297 games. He represented Victoria 13 times in the state games, captaining the side once in 1978, and was named an All-Australian in 1983. He won the Brownlow medal twice, in 1973 and 1974.

He is a life member of North Melbourne, and was selected in the AFL's Team of the Century as a wingman. In 1996 Greig was inducted into the Australian Football Hall of Fame.

-----
As a dashing wingman and half-back, Keith Greig became one of his clubs most honoured players. In his 297 games for North he won two successive Brownlow Medals, including Norths first. Greig was also a member of the "Kangaroos" first Premiership in 1975, he captained his team for four seasons, represented his state on 13 occasions, and also led his state as captain in 1978. Eventually Greig was made a life Life-Member at North Melbourne and was also made a Member of the British Empire in the Queen's Birthday Honours List in 1975 for his services in sport.In 1992 he was Norths, Chairman of Selectors, and was also named on the wing in the AFL's Team of the Century in 1996 and inducted into its Hall of Fame.

Along with Ross Glendening & Jimmy Krakouer, Keith Greig was my favourite from that generation of players.
I too, think a medal should be named after him, but you cant honour all the past players. I wonder if Wayne Carey will have an award named after him. Without disrespecting Syd Barker, but his name is not relevant for our times now. Perhaps a hyphenated B & F would be more appropriate. I do think that something should be done to recognize these greats of our club. Best 1st year player, Most votes in the Brownlow, or something like this.

Apologies. :oops:
Very, very good thread.

The man was a champion of champions. The used to call him racehorse, or the gazelle, such was his speed and grace.

Those on the mark knew he was going to try to run around them, we're ready for it, and he'd do it anyway, at will, every time.

A magnificent high mark, booming drop punt or torpedo punt kick for goal, mostly at full pace on the run too.

Clever, tricky, courageous, and cool headed.

He has been mentioned in his traditional role as a wingman, and as a half-back flanker (where he was played after he did his knee), but he was also a brilliant centre. He dismantled and made Phil Carman ( when with Collingwood before he joined us) look stupid in an epic final at VFL Park. One of those unexpected Barrassi moves.

He was one of my heroes, and one of my Dad's special favorites. I can clearly remember him shouting out "go racehorse" as Greig streamed down the wing dodging all comer as usual, flying at great pace. He had Leigh Matthews measure too, until the dirty prick used his elbow to even the odds.

A TRUE great of the game!

And there's another thing .......it's why the serpent Caro hates North, from when he deservedly beat Kevin Bartlett to take the brown low medal. Oh pure nectar!!!

He was a magnificent player to watch. He used to bandage his ankles on the outside like a racehorse. When we kicked in from a point we would often kick it to Keith because he was a great mark in any company, let alone a great mark for his size. He was scrupulously fair but unlike a some ''fair'' players, his courage could never be questioned. What a side we had with Keith and Schimma on the wings. Whenever he ''did'' his knee (I reckon he had three recos but could be wrong), he would eventually return via the seniors and after a few games he was back to his best. None of this Reserves business for the champs in those days.

I think he was a sparkey by trade. Last time I saw him was about twenty years ago, maybe 30. He was watching his son play footy one Sunday afternoon in Lower Templestowe. One of the best players who ever played - just standing on the wing minding his own business. I was playing tennis on a court adjacent to the oval. As you can imagine, I was a bit distracted. Anyway, the ball went out of bounds and Keith marked it effortlessly. I couldn't help myself. I applauded [insert embarrassment smiley]. When he looked up, I said ''you haven't lost it, Keith.'' He just laughed. True story.

I was in awe of him as a kid. He used to play on our side of the ground (the old Gasometer side) and he was so fluid in his play...him and Robbie Flower were cut from the same cloth.

I will never forget when he got reported and his remark that even being reported was a 'slur' on his name.

Good thread - he's not even given the recognition in this forum with past topics! Magnificent player, such grace and courage. Carey the greatest I've seen, but after him would be (in no order) Schimmelbusch, Blight and Greig.

If I remember correctly Doug Hawkins was a North supporter as a kid and he used to idolise Greig. Hawkins came close in his style too.

He has been mentioned in his traditional role as a wingman, and as a half-back flanker (where he was played after he did his knee), but he was also a brilliant centre. He dismantled and made Phil Carman ( when with Collingwood before he joined us) look stupid in an epic final at VFL Park. One of those unexpected Barrassi moves.

Keith was a very good finals player.

One of his greatest moments was when Barassi played him in the centre in the 1975 preliminary final against the Richmond midfield that had just come off back to back flags. Greig, Cable and Barry Davis (85 disposals) completely obliterated Richmonds Bartlett, Sheedy and Sproule (31 disposals).

Keith backed up a week later in the grand final by beating Geoff Ablett and getting named amongst Norths best.

Keith missed out by 4 votes on securing his 3rd straight Brownlow Medal in 1975. He was hampered by injury in 1976, and was flying at the start of 1977 polling 14 votes (2 umpires) in the first 5 matches, before doing his knee in round 6 and missing all but 2 games for the rest of the year. If he had continued his form before injuring his knee then Keith would have comfortably won his 3rd Brownlow Medal in 1977.

He returned in 1978, never quite the same player, although he was still a very, very good player, and was made captain of Victoria.

Keith later moved to half back due to his knee injury and went on to gain All Australian selection in 1983.

Mr Reliable, Keith was a plumber mate. I recall hearing that he had real trouble in later years in doing his job due to the extent to which his knees were stuffed.

He was probably more consistent and reliable than Blighty. Less mercurial, but just as brilliant. People would come to North matches just to watch him play.

His great rivals of the era were Keith Fletcher of Essendon (yes, the father of Justin Fletcher), Brian Wood of Richmond, and Robert Flower of Melbourne. Was better than all of them, but Flower came closest.

And in those days, the wingman played on the wingman!!

Keith was a very good finals player.

One of his greatest moments was when Barassi played him in the centre in the 1975 preliminary final against the Richmond midfield that had just come off back to back flags. Greig, Cable and Barry Davis (85 disposals) completely obliterated Richmonds Bartlett, Sheedy and Sproule (31 disposals).

Keith backed up a week later in the grand final by beating Geoff Ablett and getting named amongst Norths best.

Keith missed out by 4 votes on securing his 3rd straight Brownlow Medal in 1975. He was hampered by injury in 1976, and was flying at the start of 1977 polling 14 votes (2 umpires) in the first 5 matches, before doing his knee in round 6 and missing all but 2 games for the rest of the year. If he had continued his form before injuring his knee then Keith would have comfortably won his 3rd Brownlow Medal in 1977.

He returned in 1978, never quite the same player, although he was still a very, very good player, and was made captain of Victoria.

Keith later moved to half back due to his knee injury and went on to gain All Australian selection in 1983.

Correct Old Skool. I was at that Preliminary Final in 1975, and I think it was the first time he had played in the centre. Was one of those crowd "gasp" moments - hell Greig is not playing on the wing - he's in the centre.

He made them look like fools all afternoon. Treasured memory looking down from the top deck (GA) of the members stand out at Waverley. Beam me back there Scotty!!

Mr Reliable, Keith was a plumber mate. I recall hearing that he had real trouble in later years in doing his job due to the extent to which his knees were stuffed.

He was probably more consistent and reliable than Blighty. Less mercurial, but just as brilliant. People would come to North matches just to watch him play.

His great rivals of the era were Keith Fletcher of Essendon (yes, the father of Justin Fletcher), Brian Wood of Richmond, and Robert Flower of Melbourne. Was better than all of them, but Flower came closest.

And in those days, the wingman played on the wingman!!

Thanks, MG. I knew he was a tradie. Guessed the wrong one.

What a team we had with Keith and Schimma and Blighty. I was only thinking of Graeme Melrose the other day. Barry Cable's second rover. Played in the shadows of the greats but was a fantastic professional footballer. We had heroes and unsung heroes all over the ground.

Also, did he get on well with Barassi?

Greig, Barassi: the untold story

By Geoff McClure
May 3, 2004
kg_rb_0305,0.jpg

Keith Greig and Ron Barassi, during happier times.

From the outside it appeared to be one of footy's greatest partnerships. On the field was North Melbourne's skipper, star player and dual Brownlow medallist Keith Greig. Showing the way off it was the master coach, Ron Barassi, the man who delivered the club's first premiership, in 1975, followed by another two years later. In reality though, this seemingly harmonious relationship was anything but, Greig now revealing it became so strained that in 1979 he went within a whisker of walking out on the club.

In fact, in an extraordinary interview that will shock footy fans of that era, Greig has revealed that the only reason he stayed was Barassi agreed not to talk to him for all of the next season. In the interview, taped late last week, and to be shown on Fox Footy's Grumpy Old Men next week, Greig said the fallout happened after Barassi continually harangued him. "Ron said to me, 'If it wasn't for football you'd be nothing but a shit plumber'," Greig told this column at the weekend when asked to elaborate on the fallout.

"He could be very cutting and often put me down in front of the other players. It seemed that when things were not going right for him he would blame the senior players, mostly me, and I got jack of it." Greig said that at the end of '79 (the year after relinquishing the captaincy) he told club secretary Ron Joseph he wanted to go to another club because "I couldn't put up with him any more".

Not a word was spoken

Said Greig: "A meeting was arranged in Joseph's office and we said, 'Ok, what are we going to do about this.' I told Barassi if he left me alone and let me do my own thing we would be OK. And that's what happened - Barass didn't speak to me for the entire 1980 season and consequently I won the best-and-fairest that year. I had been with him for seven years but by the end of '79 I had become tired of his ways. Barassi told me later that the 'shit plumber' remark was the worst thing he'd said in footy. We were never good mates, never been close, but we get along OK now. I even went to his testimonial last year, so we're fine now.

http://www.theage.com.au/articles/2004/05/02/1083436472976.html#

Greig, Barassi: the untold story

By Geoff McClure
May 3, 2004
kg_rb_0305,0.jpg

Keith Greig and Ron Barassi, during happier times.

From the outside it appeared to be one of footy's greatest partnerships...

Thanks mate. Master coach upsetting star player is a pretty common theme from all sports.

What a fanatstic thread. As good a player as you would ever see. The word silky was created for him. In the era he won two Brownlow medals it was a hollow time for North in terms of winning anything and we celebrated like it was a premiership.
Ripper question - why isn't he honoured more? Great question.

Thanks mate. Master coach upsetting star player is a pretty common theme from all sports.

Ron was a rough as guts type that made it on sheer willpower and hard work, and I think he was jealous of Keiths insane talent and ability to make it look so easy. Ron was the type to crash through players whilst Keith would just stroll around them as if they weren't there. Keith always looked as if he was going at half pace. He really was that good.

However, never let it be said that Keith Greig ever shirked a contest. He had insane courage and he has the scars to prove it.

Thanks, MG. I knew he was a tradie. Guessed the wrong one.

What a team we had with Keith and Schimma and Blighty. I was only thinking of Graeme Melrose the other day. Barry Cable's second rover. Played in the shadows of the greats but was a fantastic professional footballer. We had heroes and unsung heroes all over the ground.

Funny that Mr R, I was only thinking the same re Graeme Melrose in the last couple of days too. The thread about "Cabes" turned my mind to the subject. Melrose, a South Fremantle player from recollection, was a skilled and very gutsy rover for sure. What a 2nd change to throw onto the ball!

We should have had more cups in the cupboard I reckon. Still, 10 isn't bad (not just 4 in my eyes)!

[Anyway, the ball went out of bounds and Keith marked it effortlessly. I couldn't help myself. I applauded [insert embarrassment smiley]. When he looked up, I said ''you haven't lost it, Keith.'' He just laughed. True story.
Fantastic! Perhaps we need a 'true story thread' for some of these memories.

Anyway. Great question and I don't reckon we do honour him enough. I saw him when I was a kid between 79 and 84ish. And he was a champ. But I was young and some of my memories were probably from my stepdad. All the footage proves it though.

He's extrememly highly regarded by others of football pedigree and I have heard on a few occasions Dermott Brereton, calling him one of the most balanced player's he'd seen and the only player that was equally balanced kicking forward whilst moving backwards, such was his grace.

Lovely bloke to! I met him at Mick Nolans testimonial one Sunday arvo at the gabba.
My mate Matt, who was working for a radio station at the time interviewed Keith (as well as Barrassi, Barry Goodingham and Ron Joseph). Anyway, Keith had to leave mid interview for some photos then sought us out later to complete it! Great bloke, and mind you, these interviews weren't planned, we just lobbed up with a mic and recorder. First time in my life I stood in awe of someone (and I was probably 37 at the time!).

Very, very few people could be seen as more important to the NMFC