Silent Alarm

sack Lyon
10k Posts
Who wants a packet?

Considering the short bus attendants who got a ticket to the Granny prematurely, I reckon you won't need a packet.

mate.... you are a dickhead... i bet you have a cool haircut though
A dickhead for raising criticisms of the team throughout the season – which were obvious, things like average players not deserving their game time – which rang to be true?

The club isn't as strong as people love to go on about. People are kidding themselves. Recruitment isn't that amazing, Lyon has a very good list but isn't doing enough with them, and there are still niggling, lingering issues with the culture that were momentarily but only shortly curtailed.

It's now a rebuilding phase.

Poor old Pav gave a whole lot to this club and it's over for him. That's not melodrama, that's the truth. Lukey's gone, Sandilands is a year older, guys like Duffield and Johnson keep getting injuries... as good as the younger brigade is, they won't be winning a flag.

You can say I'm a dickhead, I probably am in life, but this side has serious question marks. Freo has always had a fan culture of patronisation and adoration for mediocrity. You do know this is a side who were clapped off the ground after getting flogged by Essendon in a final? Fans need to hold the team more accountable. I don't like booing and deplore spitting, but people need to actually hold players accountable.

My haircut's alright, just another young punk with a short back and sides.

A dickhead for raising criticisms of the team throughout the season – which were obvious, things like average players not deserving their game time – which rang to be true?

The club isn't as strong as people love to go on about. People are kidding themselves. Recruitment isn't that amazing, Lyon has a very good list but isn't doing enough with them, and there are still niggling, lingering issues with the culture that were momentarily but only shortly curtailed.

Poor old Pav gave a whole lot to this club and it's over for him. That's not melodrama, that's the truth. Lukey's gone, Sandilands is a year older, guys like Duffield and Johnson keep getting injuries... as good as the younger brigade is, they won't be winning a flag.

You can say I'm a dickhead, I probably am in life, but this side has serious question marks. Freo has always had a fan culture of patronisation and adoration for mediocrity. You do know this is a side who were clapped off the ground after getting flogged by Essendon in a final? Fans need to hold the team more accountable. I don't like booing and deplore spitting, but people need to actually hold players accountable.

Way over the top IMO. Plenty of improvement shown by the younger players who are being made to earn their spot.

First time we have played finals 3 years running and a team that is always competitive. Stop drinking the kool aid, I expect us to be up and about next year - imagine a full year of Fyfe, Son Son and Neale and you can see the improvement coming.

You can rebuild, I am off to the finals with RTB again next year.

You keep bringing up the Essendon final, how f-ing long ago was that? what has that got to do with the current coach or even players, let it go, your point is meaningless to anyone other than you.

Way over the top IMO. Plenty of improvement shown by the younger players who are being made to earn their spot.

First time we have played finals 3 years running and a team that is always competitive. Stop drinking the kool aid, I expect us to be up and about next year - imagine a full year of Fyfe, Son Son and Neale and you can see the improvement coming.

You can rebuild, I am off to the finals with RTB again next year.

You keep bringing up the Essendon final, how f-ing long ago was that? what has that got to do with the current coach or even players, let it go, your point is meaningless to anyone other than you.
I've brought it up like three times.

You can say "imagine a full year with..." and make a season sound promising. So Fyfe, Son Son, and Neale might play 22 games and hit good form, but maybe Pav'll retire in round 5 and Johnson and Sandilands and Ballas go MIA. You're trading on hypotheticals which isn't the smart way to assess footy. You have to be realistic. I liked and agree with what Ross was saying about how the sides behind Freo aren't going to overtake Freo, that's very true, but sides like the Hawks and Swans are very good and won't go anywhere. You have to be realistic and rationally, impartially assess Fremantle's chances in 2015: and I, personally, don't give them much.

I'm happy to support this club and I always will. It's unique. There's a cool culture surrounding the way the fans and town associate with the team, the colours are good, the training ground's the nicest in the comp... but the lingering truth is this: Freo are pretty shit. The dark old days linger on.

Also, I'm not drinking the Kool Aid. The people on this forum are. The ones who hopelessly defend average players, ignore utter champions like Mzungu, and get caught up in the AFL-w***ery hype of sloganeering and everything else. Some people call you a negative arseh*le when you bring up the truth and act impartial and offer an opinion that isn't blindly optimistic and fawning. I mean... jesus christ

Freo has always had a fan culture of patronisation and adoration for mediocrity.
In my dealings with Fremantle supporters, I find this statement to be very true. In the last few years, they have always been happy to make finals. In losing a GF last year, they were better for the experience.

Fast forward 12 months, and you guys are out in straight sets. Fremantle fans again happy to point to how they are in the finals and put up a good effort. A couple of key injuries, but will be better again next year. As a fan of any team in any sport, I would not stand for this straight sets exit. Yet it seems a lot of Fremantle fans are OK with it.

In my dealings with Fremantle supporters, I find this statement to be very true. In the last few years, they have always been happy to make finals. In losing a GF last year, they were better for the experience.

Fast forward 12 months, and you guys are out in straight sets. Fremantle fans again happy to point to how they are in the finals and put up a good effort. A couple of key injuries, but will be better again next year. As a fan of any team in any sport, I would not stand for this straight sets exit. Yet it seems a lot of Fremantle fans are OK with it.
In what way does this have any influence on the club?

I've brought it up like three times.

You can say "imagine a full year with..." and make a season sound promising. So Fyfe, Son Son, and Neale might play 22 games and hit good form, but maybe Pav'll retire in round 5 and Johnson and Sandilands and Ballas go MIA. You're trading on hypotheticals which isn't the smart way to assess footy. You have to be realistic. I liked and agree with what Ross was saying about how the sides behind Freo aren't going to overtake Freo, that's very true, but sides like the Hawks and Swans are very good and won't go anywhere. You have to be realistic and rationally, impartially assess Fremantle's chances in 2015: and I, personally, don't give them much.

I'm happy to support this club and I always will. It's unique. There's a cool culture surrounding the way the fans and town associate with the team, the colours are good, the training ground's the nicest in the comp... but the lingering truth is this: Freo are pretty shit. The dark old days linger on.

Also, I'm not drinking the Kool Aid. The people on this forum are. The ones who hopelessly defend average players, ignore utter champions like Mzungu, and get caught up in the AFL-******y hype of sloganeering and everything else. Some people call you a negative arseh*le when you bring up the truth and act impartial and offer an opinion that isn't blindly optimistic and fawning. I mean... jesus christ

only bradesman does that

In my dealings with Eagles supporters, I find that they are far to willing to accept drug taking, cheating and being in general a disgraceful club. Still to this day Eagles supporters argue that poor Benny did nothing wrong cause he was never caught on game day. Mate your cupboard is so full of skeletons do you really want to tell anyone anything. On your way out can you take your new mate Silent Alarm he much prefers your culture and always has.

Do you know how many West Coast fans blame Sydney for resting players as the reason you guys weren't in the finals? Pretty much all of them. All of them at least mention it. Give me a break.

Please don't give me this holier than thou' "any team in any sport" blah blah when your mob within the same city in the same sport do the same thing. Don't even get me started on the excuses that have been afforded your players this year.

I'm certainly not happy with our season by the way.

I sat freezing my butt off in the nose bleeds at the 'G last year looking down at the yellow confetti knowing that we stuffed it up. That was more than a legit shot at a premiership. That could have been it. There may not be another chance in our lifetimes for Freo. It's just how it works. I hope thats not correct but I don't think we are guaranteed anything.

I think the club on some level expected at least a prelim final. Hell, I did. Our club needs to learn and get better from this. There is no other choice unless we want to become Richmond or St Kilda. As an organisation we are better than that.

It was simply an observation of what SA posted.
But what you said is meaningless. "In your dealings with Fremantle supporters ..." are you trying to give this a detached air of wisdom?

Every single supporter base reacts by and large the same to their teams success and failure. It's your own personal projection on to them that makes you think opposition supporters act a certain way, because it suits your own internal narrative. You are talking nonsense.

Didn't West Coast applaud their team off at the end of last year, after they lost?

They did that in the final home game of their spoon year too.

I always find it funny when people make sweeping generalizations about clubs based on their experiences with an incredibly small percentage of supporters. Plenty of Freo fans don't accept mediocrity, just like all the other teams.

I'm inclined to agree more than disagree with SA. We shouldn't live under ignorant bliss about the state of our list and the football department. We've gone backwards in 2014, right when we're in the middle of a window. There's a good core of younger players coming through, but we're going to lose three of our best ever players (who all happen to be key position) by 2016, and while we've recently started to develop depth, it debatable whether they'll be ready in time, let alone if they'll be good enough. Lyon is an excellent coach, but not above reproach. He's made his share of mistakes this year, and needs to continue to improve.

Certain things went against us this year, but crashing out in straight sets (irrespective of the opposition who were very good) makes it our most disappointing season yet. The good news is I think if we get our shit together, we do have a chance next year.

They did that in the final home game of their spoon year too.
I knew it was the last game of one of their disappointing years, but spoon year is especially bad.

There's accepting mediocrity and then there's accepting shit.

I hope next year when people raise criticisms of the team they aren't shut down by the moron brigade on here.
This.

Drives me up the wall, there are some serial culprits that simply gloss over and refuse to acknowledge the existence of such discussions and proceed to hop up on their moral pedestal when a reasonable and measured criticism about a player or way in which the team played. Shades of the North game earlier in the year last night, and then about a third of the games this season.

This.

Drives me up the wall, there are some serial culprits that simply gloss over and refuse to acknowledge the existence of such discussions and proceed to hop up on their moral pedestal when a reasonable and measured criticism about a player or way in which the team played. Shades of the North game earlier in the year last night, and then about a third of the games this season.
how dare you say suban is crap , he's best 22 , ross knows best , rolleyesemoticon

Bam!

hit-the-nail-on-the-head.jpg

You're probably too young to remember, and obviously weren't there, but the Essendon game was the first time the club ever made a final, so it was an achievement. Pretty sure they haven't been applauded since after losing a game. Keep on eye on Gold Coast/GWS fans' reactions when they achieve their first final, I wonder if we'll see the same. Although I doubt they will take 8 years to get there, given the concessions they receive

Well said, I guess you had to be there to "get it".

Freo has always had a fan culture of patronisation and adoration for mediocrity.

You've just perfectly describe what Geelong was like for decades, particularly in the pre-draft days when a lot of the players were locals or came from our zone.

Geelong lost, 'damn'
But Gazza kicked 10, 'yay' all's good in the world.

I think after '06 the fans had finally had enough and after the 5th round of '07 the players had finally had enough.

We've had our run now, tough times and tough decisions ahead. During the period of success, people have spoken about our recruitment, our development and our winning culture. It will be put to the acid test now, it's going to be interesting to see how they move forward and rebuild again. It could be painful but hopefully exciting too.