maccas_no1

Suspended
Glenelg, MUFC, Triple 8
It's time for Kris Massie to play for the Crows this week,he deserves too,his form in SANFL has been fantastic and was amoungst Norwood's best on Friday night!!!! Mattner I feel will be dropped this week, I spoke to him in The Shed after Showdown 13 and he didnt seem to confident on being picked this week. I really believe we are missing Scott Welsh,the sooner he gets back the better, same with Burton our forwardline will be just about unstoppable cause when the ball comes to groung Welsh and Burton are too players who work their butts off to keep it in the forward 50 area, we lacked that on Saturday night, the ball would go in and if it wasnt marked it would rebound straight back out again. I like just about every other crows supporter there was very frustrated, and overall thought neither team played that well, and it wasnt a reall good game to watch, it almost came to a stand still for the first 13 mins of the third quarter......... anyway we must shift our focus to this week and another big challange The Kangaroos, here in Melbourne they are hyping the Carey Vs Kangaroos, they reakon it will be a near full house!!!!! If any Crows Supporters want a good place to sit with other Crows Supporters enter through gate 2 and come sit with the Supporters group behind the goals anyone is welcome the more we have down there the louder we are going to be, and every supporter that goes Friday night is going to have to be behind our boys 120% they are going to need it!!!!

Sorry to go Off Topic here - Marty, was that you who marched out with the big flag on Saturday night? How did that feel? Pretty good, I bet!

Yes, I agree we're missing Welshy - he was great early last year, keeping the ball in the 50m area, which helped the other Crows players kick some goals.

Also missing Burton badly.

Is it just me, but are the Crows looking tired? Lethargic? Not really enjoying their footy at the moment? This is just not going on the Showdown. I felt the same when watching the West Coast game, which they won. Maybe they gave their all for the Wizard Cup and have run out of a bit of steam. When the Power players kicked a goal they were hugging, jumping round like crazy, but our guys seemed a bit "ho hum".

Originally posted by Crow54
Sorry to go Off Topic here - Marty, was that you who marched out with the big flag on Saturday night? How did that feel? Pretty good, I bet!

Yes, I agree we're missing Welshy - he was great early last year, keeping the ball in the 50m area, which helped the other Crows players kick some goals.

Also missing Burton badly.

Is it just me, but are the Crows looking tired? Lethargic? Not really enjoying their footy at the moment? This is just not going on the Showdown. I felt the same when watching the West Coast game, which they won. Maybe they gave their all for the Wizard Cup and have run out of a bit of steam. When the Power players kicked a goal they were hugging, jumping round like crazy, but our guys seemed a bit "ho hum".

Gotta agree on Burton. He would have been a huge bonus up forward on Saturday night.

Without him we seem to have:

Plan A - Kick it to Carey/Stevens.

Plan B - Ummm. Try Perrie or Roo maybe.

That's it.

Burton gives us another option that can be used in conjunction with any plan. Welsh would further strengthen the situation

What's their condition currently? Still two weeks or so I suppose?

Player Injury Expected Return
Crowell Knee Test
Marsh Hand Test
Bassett Concussion Test
Reilly Collarbone 8 weeks
Rutten Broken thumb 5 weeks
Bratton Shoulder 1 week
Welsh Thumb ligaments 3 weeks
Burton Ankle Sprain 4 weeks

So no Burton till Round 9 or so and you'd expect Welsh to return through the SANFL so at least Round 10 for him one would think.

Originally posted by napsyd
So no Burton till Round 9 or so and you'd expect Welsh to return through the SANFL so at least Round 10 for him one would think.

I think both Welsh and Burton will come trough SANFL since both will not be match fit. Welshy can run and do a lot of bike work and will only need to playa couple of SANFL games to get some match fitness.

Burton on the other hand can do a bit of swimming but thats about it. Thats why I think he will not be enough fit aerobically. He might spent 3-4 weeks in SANFL.

Barring any injuries I expect Welshy to be back in the side after the break.

Cheers;)

Back on the topic of Massie

He HAS to get a go this week. He has been named in Norwoods best every single game he had played in SANFL.

This is how I think it will go

IN:
Massie
Doughty

OUT:
Mattner
Stevens (My mail is he will be rested this week)

Also in danger of getting dropped is Gallagher. If he goes I have a funny feeling that Schell will get another crack at it playing at FF.

Originally posted by napsyd
Player Injury Expected Return
Burton Ankle Sprain 4 weeks

That is one hell of an ankle sprain! That makes what? 7 weeks off for an ankle sprain? Who here has sprained their ankle and taken 7 weeks to recover?
I just wonder if it's not something worse.(sorry to be a gainsayer!)

Originally posted by Leaping Lindner
That is one hell of an ankle sprain! That makes what? 7 weeks off for an ankle sprain? Who here has sprained their ankle and taken 7 weeks to recover?

Its a bit more than a strain mate. He damaged his ligaments pretty badly. He didn't have an operation but he is having his leg in an ankle boot for 4-5 weeks. Its similar to what he has done back in 2001 only different ankle

Originally posted by Leaping Lindner

It was, wasn't it. If I remember rightly didn't he snap or tear a tendon or ligament in his ankle? It was certainly far worse than a sprained ankle.

Cheers Macca and Stiffy. I thought it had to be something worse than just a 'sprain'. Gees we could do with the bugger right now!

Call me crazy, but I'm actually fine with Welsh being out more much longer with the ankle problem only because it means he won't be able to run as much and all, so will hopefully allow his OP to further settle and recoperate better in the time he can't run b/c of his ankle problem.

Having said this, I think he needs to be carefully monitored before he gets attempts to go 100% running wise, so that the OP does not flare up again, as thats how OP can arise, doing too much strenous physical work in the legs without proper preperation. To me, Welsh's OP is a serious injury b/c it can potentially put him out even longer further down the track.

Originally posted by crowsfan
Call me crazy, but I'm actually fine with Welsh being out more much longer with the ankle problem only because it means he won't be able to run as much and all, so will hopefully allow his OP to further settle and recoperate better in the time he can't run b/c of his ankle problem.

Okay, you're crazy!!!:D

Just kidding mate!!;)

Actually Welsh doesn't have an ankle injury - his is a thumb injury incurred in competitive training.

The good thing is that he won't have missed any running and his OP should be well and truly recovered by now.

Originally posted by macca23
Okay, you're crazy!!!:D

Just kidding mate!!;)

Actually Welsh doesn't have an ankle injury - his is a thumb injury incurred in competitive training.

The good thing is that he won't have missed any running and his OP should be well and truly recovered by now.
Freaking hell!!! Talk about a total misread. I can't believe that. Sorry guys

Originally posted by Crow54
Well the Crows were playing catch-up footy all night, so with each goal they were just edging closer. Whereas each time Port kicked a goal they were extending their lead - and had more reason to celebrate.