Lazy Lappin

BlueBoy41

Nov 10, 2004
I am a big Matty Lappin fan but think he can be a tad lazy and undisciplined at times.

He flies for marks when he should stay down and gets shown up by hard-at-it, disciplined forwards. The latest example of this was Mark Johnson's domination on Friday night.

Why Dennis persisted with this match up astounded me, considering Johnson was clearly the best player on the ground for 3 1/2 quarters. Lappin was given a footy lesson and should have been thrown forward earlier in the match when Fev and Whitters were struggling early.

Any thoughts on Lapps and other comments above?

BlueBoy41 said:
I am a big Matty Lappin fan but think he can be a tad lazy and undisciplined at times.

He flies for marks when he should stay down and gets shown up by hard-at-it, disciplined forwards. The latest example of this was Mark Johnson's domination on Friday night.

Why Dennis persisted with this match up astounded me, considering Johnson was clearly the best player on the ground for 3 1/2 quarters. Lappin was given a footy lesson and should have been thrown forward earlier in the match when Fev and Whitters were struggling early.

Any thoughts on Lapps and other comments above?

Gee it was only his first below par game for a long time, i think you should relax a bit :rolleyes:

Funny how even skinny's worst game is still in our top 10 best players. He slipped too many tackles on Johnson and definitely should've been moved forward earlier. I don't think Lappin should stop the way he plays though. Personally I enjoy watching his exciting style of football.

Let's not dwell on this game any longer though. We got the win and now it's time to flatten some cold pies! It's the arch enemy people. I'M PUMPED!! :cool:

Johnson had his brithday on Friday night with a few tin arse goals going through.

I'd never accuse Lappin of being lazy as when most of our team run out of legs he still seems to find a bit late on to create something magic be it offensive or defensive.

There was no real point in dropping him to the forward line as all it would have done is crowded it more and taken one less creative player away from the action further afield.

Would have to question your football knowledge and even eyesight in suggesting the possibility of matty lappin being lazy. Works very hard and plays out 4 quarters every week. How quick some can be to jump on a bloke who has had not even a bad game but a game that was not quite up to his sensational standard. Very underrated player

I was actually pretty happy with his game.

As others have said, you could count on 1 hand the amount of bad games he's played for us over the past few years.

The bloke is a ripper and the best part about his game is just letting him do what he likes. Maybe he shouldve tightened up a bit more on Johno, but Johnson had a night out.

Let Lappin continue to go for the marks. That is his game and if you tell him to take those things out of it, it will only be to the team's detriment.

i cant beleive im reading a thread about lappin being lazy..i had to join today to vent my disappointment..if you want someone who is lazy in the carlton team i think houlihan, some much talent but the next step is taking a long while

Matty Lappin is one of our best and generally most reliable players, but i reckon his season hasn't started off too well..Hopefully his form clicks in the next few weeks. But yeah Johnson killed him and nearly won the Bummers the game with his fluke goals.

legendtofski said:
Matty Lappin is one of our best and generally most reliable players, but i reckon his season hasn't started off too well..Hopefully his form clicks in the next few weeks. But yeah Johnson killed him and nearly won the Bummers the game with his fluke goals.

at last ... some objectivity... Thank you legendtofski

Skinny has become probably our best, most consitent player in the last few years just doing what he does best.... and that includes flying for the occasional hanger.

Sometimes he will be pitted against an unsuitable opponent like Johnson who was probably too strong for him.... but this happens rarely. He just has to keep backing himself to read the play and he'll be right.

Lazy Lappin