Roast Leadership

Listening to Triple M today and what Garry Lyon said about the club opened my eyes to something. Our leaders are soft and mentally week. Naming Names in the leadership group. Deledio, Cotchin, Maric, Jackson and Chaplin. First lets get the obvious one out of the way, Maric. He has self admitted to being soft spoken. His team mates have said the same thing. If he cant find his voice how can he expect to lead the club. Deledio has too much of a sook each game when he doesnt find the ball or gets tagged out of the game. He cant make decisions for the club because his confidence gets too easily shattered. Cotchin is too often looked to to show leadership but at this present time he is not standing up. He failed to do that last year too. The club has asked him to be more aggressive and I have yet to see him do that on the field.

Looking at last night I could not say who our leaders were. When North got about the 3rd or 4th goal in a row who do we have in the centre? Thomas, Pettard and Edwards. Seriously WHAT THE ****!!! Where are the leaders there. Maric (leader) should have called in Deledio Cotchin and Martin into the bounce. This has happened often this season. I have no idea what the game plan is at some points. But it seems this year that when the opposition get a run on our 2nd to 3rd tier mids take the centre bounces. If that is the case then the leadership group should grow a pair and change the game plan on the fly.

Link to the conversation here. Good points were made.
http://www.triplem.com.au/melbourne...-kangaroos-at-etihad-stadium-on-sunday-night/

Look at the great modern teams Geelong, Hawthorn, Brisbane. They all had a game plan which they stuck by. But when the game is on the line or the game is running away from them their on field leaders take over the coaching if only for a few minutes. We don't have that. Unless that is rectified we will never win a flag. Shame though because otherwise, I think we have a pretty good list:(

We don't have any leaders. We have guys that think they are but then fail to show leadership when the heat is on us.

A leader doesn't necessarily need to be a Buckley or Voss but someone who recognises something needs to be done and it's me that should do it. Run, chase, tackle, repeat efforts until you can't give anymore is what's needed from your leaders.

Only thing insightful I got from that link was this:
"Your all a bunch of swinging voters including wolf! Fair dinkum. Last year, every one including the wolf could heap enough praise on Cotchin and bagged melbournes captains. Guess what Richmond were winning ...
Now they are losing... Not a good leader... Wolf is all about media now. Not footy. Get a grip. You same parasites will Praise him next year if Richmond do well. Just bored of the lot of you."

We don't have any leaders. We have guys that think they are but then fail to show leadership when the heat is on us.

A leader doesn't necessarily need to be a Buckley or Voss but someone who recognises something needs to be done and it's me that should do it. Run, chase, tackle, repeat efforts until you can't give anymore is what's needed from your leaders.
I get what you are saying but we need at least one Buckley or voss type character. We dont really have any of the other kinds either at the moment

Only thing insightful I got from that link was this:
"Your all a bunch of swinging voters including wolf! Fair dinkum. Last year, every one including the wolf could heap enough praise on Cotchin and bagged melbournes captains. Guess what Richmond were winning ...
Now they are losing... Not a good leader... Wolf is all about media now. Not footy. Get a grip. You same parasites will Praise him next year if Richmond do well. Just bored of the lot of you."
Yeah that is a lot of crap from that comment. Cotchin was not been praised for his leadership in the entire time he has had it. He has only been praised for his playing ability, which at the moment looks close to being non existent.

I've turned over the past few weeks...
Used to think Cotch was gonna grow into his role and that Lids, although a bit of a silly, would provide good back-up.
Nup!
We got nothin!
Cotch is too much of a solid citizen - Lids is a jet but too much of a goof to lead. (Both clearly unfit too..)
Then what - Jacko? Maybe an Einstein but can not lead by example due to clangeritis....
Ivaaannnn - Not convinced
Chappy - just lol
Grimes (I think) - can't stay on the park
Jack - got punted and clearly a tortured soul.

We are rudderless at the moment.......

The thing with the midfield rotation is you cannot afford to have your premium midfielders in there every single bounce, especially with an interchange cap unless they are freakishly fit. Whilst Deledio, Martin and Cotchin should be in there more often than not, rotating Edwards, Thomas etc are based on necessity because the prime movers need a break.

In terms of leadership, Maric and Jackson are the two who really stand up when we need them. I'd consider one of them as a co-captain beside Cotchin, or as outright captain to relieve the pressure on Cotch so he can get himself right both physically and mentally.

I'd rather Cotchin just play footy to be honest.
I thought Jacko was the man even back when cotch got it.
I dont really know who else could do it apart from Riewoldt and that won't happen.
We seem to have a lot of introverts and I'd love us to have a real strong presence in the team regardless of ability.
Someone like a Nick Maxwell comes to mind.

Listening to Triple M today and what Garry Lyon said about the club opened my eyes to something. Our leaders are soft and mentally week. Naming Names in the leadership group. Deledio, Cotchin, Maric, Jackson and Chaplin. First lets get the obvious one out of the way, Maric. He has self admitted to being soft spoken. His team mates have said the same thing. If he cant find his voice how can he expect to lead the club. Deledio has too much of a sook each game when he doesnt find the ball or gets tagged out of the game. He cant make decisions for the club because his confidence gets too easily shattered. Cotchin is too often looked to to show leadership but at this present time he is not standing up. He failed to do that last year too. The club has asked him to be more aggressive and I have yet to see him do that on the field.

Looking at last night I could not say who our leaders were. When North got about the 3rd or 4th goal in a row who do we have in the centre? Thomas, Pettard and Edwards. Seriously WHAT THE ****!!! Where are the leaders there. Maric (leader) should have called in Deledio Cotchin and Martin into the bounce. This has happened often this season. I have no idea what the game plan is at some points. But it seems this year that when the opposition get a run on our 2nd to 3rd tier mids take the centre bounces. If that is the case then the leadership group should grow a pair and change the game plan on the fly.

Link to the conversation here. Good points were made.
http://www.triplem.com.au/melbourne...-kangaroos-at-etihad-stadium-on-sunday-night/
If I was the coach I would of made sure Deledio , Cotchin and Martin where in the middle after 2 goals in a row . I would make that a team rule . Now that's Leadership

The thing with the midfield rotation is you cannot afford to have your premium midfielders in there every single bounce, especially with an interchange cap unless they are freakishly fit. Whilst Deledio, Martin and Cotchin should be in there more often than not, rotating Edwards, Thomas etc are based on necessity because the prime movers need a break.

In terms of leadership, Maric and Jackson are the two who really stand up when we need them. I'd consider one of them as a co-captain beside Cotchin, or as outright captain to relieve the pressure on Cotch so he can get himself right both physically and mentally.
If like to see a lot of Cotchjns media work on AFL game day especially stripped back. He needs to concentrate on his footy. I think he is our man but he's got to get focused on what's beneficial for him and the team only , not what Hamish McIntosh thinks he should do.

Maric might be soft spoken, but he the second most passionate player on the list behind Jack, and actually has a presence and has an ability to inspire his teammates. He doesn't take any bull****. I think he could be that fiery leader we need. Make him co-captain.

Cotchin used to be so good at dragging us back into footy games. Look at R1 2012 when we were 27 pts down and he got us back in it. Even the Freo game last year in R5 when he went had 9 touches and went at 100% in the last quarter. I would've thought that he'd be even more motivated to play like that now that he's captain. Makes me wonder how bad his injuries have been over the two last years.

Pretty bad I reckon . Time to wrap him in cotton wool for a while and get him back to full health

i think you'll find clubs have also made a pact to belt him at every chance including off the ball . Every time he runs past someone he is bumped / belted .

Just looking back at that 3rd QTR now from '12. We are 30 points down. Cotchin has no touches for the quarter with 10 minutes left. Then says **** this and goes forward kicks two in a row then goes back in the guts and gets the next clearance. Has about 5 other touches for the quarter. Lids has about 7. Jack stands up. Takes a crucial mark pack mark from a kick out and then a few minutes later takes it upon himself to snag one from the boundary. There was an example of our leaders standing up. They can do it, just not regularly. At all. Looking back at '12 it's also quite obvious to see that both Cotchin and Lids have injuries at the moment. Lids was zipping around back then, yet he doesn't even back his pace anymore now.

I will say though that I think Jack is unfairly maligned by everyone in terms of leadership and grabbing the big moment. Time and time again he has stood up for us over the last few years but everyone seems to forget that.

Just looking back at that 3rd QTR now from '12. We are 30 points down. Cotchin has no touches for the quarter with 10 minutes left. Then says **** this and goes forward kicks two in a row then goes back in the guts and gets the next clearance. Has about 5 other touches for the quarter. Lids has about 7. Jack stands up. Takes a crucial mark pack mark from a kick out and then a few minutes later takes it upon himself to snag one from the boundary. There was an example of our leaders standing up. They can do it, just not regularly. At all. Looking back at '12 it's also quite obvious to see that both Cotchin and Lids have injuries at the moment. Lids was zipping around back then, yet he doesn't even back his pace anymore now.

I will say though that I think Jack is unfairly maligned by everyone in terms of leadership and grabbing the big moment. Time and time again he has stood up for us over the last few years but everyone seems to forget that.
You'd think it would be common sense to leave Jack I the leadership group even if Chappy looked like coming in. You'd just tell the players we've had a tie for 6th place and they'd forget about in a week.

I think we have a future fantastic courageous leader that will lift when the team needs him the most and will have the respect of every opposition player and coach! I think in around 5 years time he will be wearing #17 not #31

He's a ripper Vlaustin , amazing how it took till round 11 to give him a run on the ball. Hardwick is changing the game of football on its head ( insert fit as muscly competitive beast with excellent skills in centre bounce ) . We should extend Dimmas contract till 2018 after that brilliant move. I honestly though Vlaus was a one domentional back flanker wow wee , talk about bring out the big ones Dimma

he is a ripper! i am choosing to ignore your sarcastic criticism of dimma and compliment another one of our players by saying that as long as matty dea is playing his role down back whch he has been doing then we can play tigga in the middle!

Just read a story about Ray Allen and Rashard Lewis who began on a team together in Seattle, split for while on separate team, and are now back together as veterans on the Miami Heat in the NBA Finals.

This excerpt seems particularly relevant for the discussion on this board over recent times regarding the need of champion player for your youngsters to learn from.

-----

They spoke one day on the team bus.

By then, Rashard Lewis had seen enough of Ray Allen’s routine to be curious. “Every shot was game speed, game conditions,” Weiss said. “I never just saw [Allen] dribble over casually and take a shot. Everything was always working on improving the quickness and the accuracy.”

Lewis wanted to know how to develop a routine for himself. “I could tell he watched and he was still trying to figure out who he was and what he was going to be in this league,” Allen said. “Everything I did was very routine and very ritualistic when it came to playing basketball. What time I got to the practice facility. What time I got to the arena before games. … I think having a routine is important for everybody, starting off with children, because you’re trying to build habits in your life and you want positivity. You want people to do things for you. You want greatness. Consistency is all about greatness.”

Lewis was living a dream — flush with cash, freedom, and free time, and loaded with talent. He had a big career in front of him, but he knew he had to manage it. Allen remembers how Lewis approached learning how to sustain the dream.

“Look, I want to make the type of money that you make, a guy at your level, the type of money that you guys make,” Allen recalls Lewis telling him. “I want to be on that level.” As always, Allen preached dedication. “Soon enough, I would get to an arena at a certain time before games and Rashard would be right behind me, maybe 15-20 minutes, and he started building his habits, his routines,” Allen said. “You could just see him putting it into effect, because he changed. He stopped going out as much.”

Allen had the same effect on much of the young team. “At home, I used to meet him at the arena three and a half, four hours early before the game to get shots up,” said Antonio Daniels, a guard who joined Seattle in 2003. “Attitude reflects leadership. He basically showed what you need to do to be successful. He was the first one in the arena every day. Even when I tried to beat him, I couldn’t.”

“We would make a huddle around him and listen to everything he had to say about how you take care of yourself off the court, as well as being prepared on the court,” Lewis said. “He was our storyteller.”

When Allen preached, Lewis listened. What Allen did, Lewis copied. Allen cycled throughout the city on his bike, building the muscles in his legs. Lewis purchased a bike and took it to Houston in the offseason to do the same. Allen had a boat that he occasionally took around Mercer Island. Lewis bought one and did the same. Their families met and merged. Juanita became close with Flo, Ray’s mother. The families vacationed together. The mothers routinely talked on the phone during halftimes, discussing how their sons were faring and critiquing their games.

------

If that wasn't tl;dr for you find the rest of it here to read: http://grantland.com/features/ray-allen-rashard-lewis-miami-heat-seattle-supersonics/

he is a ripper! i am choosing to ignore your sarcastic criticism of dimma and compliment another one of our players by saying that as long as matty dea is playing his role down back whch he has been doing then we can play tigga in the middle!
Dea has been very capable of holding down that spot when for for quite some time about 2-3 years but isn't Vlaus a beauty . He will more than likely take over from Cotchin