Lets not kid ourselves.....

• Thread starter Thread starter sabre_ac

The eagle side where coming up against ultimately really lacks any potency.
They have a backline headed by two players in their last year.
A backline that frankly has little hope of holding the likes of Longmuir/Farmer/Medhurst/Croad and Waterhouse.
Our forwards will not only stretch their backline but make it look second rate.
Midfield wise sure they look strong with Cousins,Kerr and Judd.But as do we with the likes of Bell,Haselby,Pavlich and Headland.
Again we have the stronger outfit.
Moving on to there forwardline and it really becomes a joke, becaus other than Matera who do they have?
With McPharlin maybe making a return and Parker that much stronger for another game under his belt where almost at full strength down back.

So Freo supporters lets not kid ourselves here, where coming up against a side totally reliant on 3 players, and O how sweet it is going to be putting them away this coming sunday.

I like bagging the Eagles' players as much as the next person but let's be honest, they are a good side and we will have to be at our best to beat them... On paper, their backline and forward lines might not look great but they play well together. A champion team is always better than a team of champions. I'm expecting a close game and am hoping for a win but it's not like we have the 4 points in the bag. They probably are equally confident in winning as we are. And their midfield is better than ours. It functions better. They work very well with Gardiner who is the in form ruckman in the competition at the moment. Footy is won between the ears and we will need to be mentally switched on.

The 3 players I'm concerned about are Gardiner, Judd and Wilson (if he plays). And Cousins' but he has been down this year and I am confident Carr will do a good job on him.

Originally posted by Kenny_01
I like bagging the Eagles' players as much as the next person but let's be honest, they are a good side and we will have to be at our best to beat them... On paper, their backline and forward lines might not look great but they play well together. A champion team is always better than a team of champions. I'm expecting a close game and am hoping for a win but it's not like we have the 4 points in the bag. They probably are equally confident in winning as we are. And their midfield is better than ours. It functions better. They work very well with Gardiner who is the in form ruckman in the competition at the moment. Footy is won between the ears and we will need to be mentally switched on.

The 3 players I'm concerned about are Gardiner, Judd and Wilson (if he plays). And Cousins' but he has been down this year and I am confident Carr will do a good job on him.

Well said Kenny.

The Eagles always seem to lift a notch or two when they play us, we just have to lift 3 notches.

Don't know if Wilson is popular with the Eagles selectors, but if he plays, just put Haddrill in the hole, lets face it he gets bashed every week and comes back for more.

a bit of news out of the WC camp.... one of the midfield crew is not a happy camper amongst some of the players and wants out at the end of the season.

Freo are going along swimmingly at the moment - a few kinks in the game plan that still has to be sorted out but we are getting there

Originally posted by Freo Hitman
a bit of news out of the WC camp.... one of the midfield crew is not a happy camper amongst some of the players and wants out at the end of the season.

& jod23 rates him highly - & save the "that is BS" stories...cause I have heard from a very very reliable source , he wants out !!

I presume he's referring to Kerr. I too have heard this several times although I have no idea as to the reliability of the sources.

Jimmy Walker straight swap for Kerr sounds fair to me.

Yeah it's becoming incresingly obvious that Kerr is an unhappy camper at West Coast. There was the 'bar-room brawl' between Kerr and Cousins and I read today on afl.com.au that Kerr thought Cousins was a "pretty good leader". Hardly glowing praises for a player who everyone respects.

What do you guys reckon his chances are of coming to Adelaide?;) :D ;)

Originally posted by masai

Don't know if Wilson is popular with the Eagles selectors, but if he plays, just put Haddrill in the hole, lets face it he gets bashed every week and comes back for more.

Hadrill the sacrificial lamb (or is that virgin). I am sure he would be pleased about your faith in his ability to fill a hole. :D

the eagles

Lets face it some of the points Sabre is making are true BUT John Worsfold has done amazingly well to get the best out of his players especially at Subi SO don't underestimate a team that plays tremendously at home. I for one think it should be a crackerjack game and hoping it is a good game ,besides who doesn't like getting into the eagles supporters.......On another note where i sit at Subi there is a guy there with his wife who supports the dockers week in week out which is great but something terrible happens come derby time ,he comes out in his eagles gear .THAT SH*TS ME! YOU CANNOT support both teams its that simple as far as i am concerned PERIOD!!!

Originally posted by Sera
Kerr signed a 3 year deal last year. That means he will be at the club until 2005.
Leigh Brown signed a 3 year deal 18 months ago & even urged his team mates to do the same ....where is he now ;)

But the Eagles honour there contracts rather than stab players in the back.

Originally posted by West Coast Stre
But the Eagles honour there contracts rather than stab players in the back.

Oh yeah .... How many years did Karl Langdon have left on his contract before he was "retired"

Originally posted by RIPPER_46
Not to mention Ian Downborough and Steve malaxos and Woosher himself.

Steve Malaxos and Woosher retired. Ian Downsborough was about to be axed from the Eagles team and his contract was up. It's not as if he wanted to stay at the club. Leigh Brown was a great club man who was shafted by the Dockers. Encouraged Pavlich and Haselby to stay on the list and then got shunted off to North Melbourne. Loyalty for you.

. Leigh Brown was a great club man who was shafted by the Dockers. Encouraged Pavlich and Haselby to stay on the list and then got shunted off to North Melbourne. Loyalty for you.

Very True. But me gets the feeling he asked to leave & be traded ;)

More likely that paying handbags such as Croad and J Lo more than what they are worth put too big a squeeze on the salary cap ala Woewodin.

Yep your right ... something you'll be feeling when you try and sign Judd

Retirement of Milli and Jakovich ought to see us with more than enough funds to keep Judd. And if not a Number 1 draft pick will suffice.

I am sure you'd rather keep Judd than an untried #1 pick who may well be the next Anthony Banik