Stylo

Hurts so much more than it used to. I'm absolutely gutted we let last night slip, more gutted than I can ever remember being after a loss. When we were crap it didn't really matter, losses were expected, not much was at stake, now we're a genuine shot at September action losses like that just cut so deep.

There was a plethora of positives to take from the game but the overriding feeling for me is that this will come back to bite us. How good would it have been to win.

On the bright side, I actually think we're a shot against the cats next week. The boys will be seething after that one.

But I digress; the question I'm asking is, how emotionally invested in this football club are you? Has it gotten stronger for you since Dimma's, reign, as it has for me? Are you like me, where you know after a loss like that you're probably going to have a crap week? Strange really to think that my mood is so dependent on how well a bunch of dudes smack leather around a paddock.

Hurts so much more than it used to. I'm absolutely gutted we let last night slip, more gutted than I can ever remember being after a loss. When we were crap it didn't really matter, losses were expected, not much was at stake, now we're a genuine shot at September action losses like that just cut so deep.

There was a plethora of positives to take from the game but the overriding feeling for me is that this will come back to bite us. How good would it have been to win.

On the bright side, I actually think we're a shot against the cats next week. The boys will be seething after that one.

But I digress; the question I'm asking is, how emotionally invested in this football club are you? Has it gotten stronger for you since Dimma's, reign, as it has for me? Are you like me, where you know after a loss like that you're probably going to have a crap week? Strange really to think that my mood is so dependent on how well a bunch of dudes smack leather around a paddock.

I'm feeling shit today. Just gutted with that loss. Proud of the effort but should have won it. Massive loss in the scheme of things. Would have set us right up at 4-1.

Regardless of how good we have been, I've always let losses get to me and had it drag through the weekend.

An hour or so after last nights game I was surprisingly philosophical about the loss. Given the number of changes, the opposition, the location, key players being well held and a couple of howlers in the last quarter (from players and umpires), I was really happy with the way we fought the game out.

This team will be better than any I've seen in my lifetime and knowing that helps me move on from a loss like last night better than in years previous. That said, I really wanted to launch the tv off the balcony after Ballantyne kicked that goal!

We will give a good account of ourselves next week and with some big inclusions in the next couple of weeks (Nathan Foley, please hurry up!), I'm confident we will comfortably make the 8.

I expected to lose this week so I'm not really that upset. To hit the front with 2 min to go and not have the boys flood the backline was probably the biggest disappointment, but oddly (for me) I was over it in about 5 minutes.

Funnily enough I thought heading into this week that we have a better chance against the Cats, so looking forward to that.

I realise I've been inured to losing now. I was a kid in school when Richmond were great - we always won or were at least competitive. It was a major shock and took me a long to come to terms with the fact that we were crap through the 80s. Richmond don't lose regularly - that's not football!

Now - I know we are rubbish. Our two brief excursions into respectability - 95 and 2001 - didn't last long enough to change that. As soon as White kicked that goal last night, my first thought was - we won't hang on here. Even though there was less than 2 mins to go, I had an unshakeable fear that Freo were going to do us. It's maddening. Last year, when we led Adelaide by 8 goals to 3 at quarter time, the rest of the game I was filled with dread that they were going to run over us. IT ALWAYS HAPPENS - at least in my mind.

When Friday Night games used to be shown on delay - if we had a good lead at half-time, I would cheat and check the live scores on the radio or the net. The reasoning being I was so afraid of the pain of losing from there, that I couldn't stand the thought of sitting through it.

I have a lot of other commitments over a weekend, and I can usually only make 3 or 4 games a season. If I go, I usually have top book it 6-8 weeks in advance - and now I only choose to go to those games where we are hot favorites to win - like last week against Bulldogs, or last year against Freo at the G:rolleyes:.

The pain of too many losses has burnt me to where I just feel a dull ache, and think 'Why am I wasting my time and money for this?'. If that makes me a fair-weather supporter, so be it. I still follow the results and watch everything on TV - but it's like watching a bad horror movie - 'I know what's coming, and I don't want to sit through it'.

My head says that wasn't actually such a bad loss. Against somebody who has the wood over us, heaps of outs, and getting crucified by the umpires - I could be happy with it. But my heart won't listen, and that's why I'm still absolutely feeling that loss.

We keep finding novel ways to lose...I don't know whether to laugh or cry these days...
But its the Umpires (rule interpretation inconsistencies) and the AFL (Pies bias) that I save my vitriol for...

Surprisingly I wasn't even very mad. I threw more of a tantrum at the "almost" loss against Carlton. I think still being 3-2 eases some of the pain.

I think a combination of stupid rule changes and the Bombers farce has really drained me of some of my enthusiasm. The competition is quickly becoming a farce. The silence in the media following the recent revelations is sickening. The AFL are showing us just how corrupt they really are.

Had penciled this match in as a loss, but likewise the Carlton match and was expecting us to be 2 and 3 not 3 and 2 ,so its a better start to the season then I'd anticipated

My head says that wasn't actually such a bad loss. Against somebody who has the wood over us, heaps of outs, and getting crucified by the umpires - I could be happy with it. But my heart won't listen, and that's why I'm still absolutely feeling that loss.

All bullshit excuses really. Good teams find a way to win. Eg geelong

Surprisingly I wasn't even very mad. I threw more of a tantrum at the "almost" loss against Carlton. I think still being 3-2 eases some of the pain.

I think a combination of stupid rule changes and the Bombers farce has really drained me of some of my enthusiasm. The competition is quickly becoming a farce. The silence in the media following the recent revelations is sickening. The AFL are showing us just how corrupt they really are.

nice pic. jeff seid...is that you?

i agree though, the AFL are making the sport look like a joke.

All bullshit excuses really. Good teams find a way to win. Eg geelong
teams like collingwood and geelong seem to have everything sorted though, when was the last time they were ordinary?
cats have made finals since 2007, they missed in 2006.
last time collingwood missed finals was 2005.

teams like collingwood and geelong seem to have everything sorted though, when was the last time they were ordinary?

Nah just thought I'd go with a juicier looking avatar to honour our black and red brothers.

We can only dream of this sort of stuff. A lot has to go right on and off the field. No doubt we're heading in the right direction. The fact we haven't been pummelled on the scoreboard for a long time proves it.

You make a lot of sense but I am not interested in finals.

I want premierships which will not happen this year probably so I still do not give a crap.

I am more interested in our teams preparation for our next premiership shot!!;)

Geez a bit of bloody perspective some of you. I agree, it was an absolute gun wrenching loss. But the sun always comes up and if you don't move on, you'll never move forward. No Foley, Chaplin, Morris, King, Conca. That is 5 senior blokes. Vlastuin fitted straight in and faded obviously because his tank is not good yet. Going to be a jet though. Yes, they were missing Pavlich and Sandilands, but Pavlich would have been underdone anyway and probably wouldn't have had much of an impact. Morris was missed sorely on those little pricks Walters and Ballantyne. Walters has to be the biggest flog in the AFL especially with those gay tattoos. Well beat geelong next week.

To be perfectly honest , I had marked down Carlton,Stkilda,Bulldogs as wins & Collingwood,Fremantle,Geelong as losses at the start of the year and thought we would be 3-3.

I got a bit excited before last weeks game and thought 'Maybe' we could pull the pies game and again this week just another 'Maybe' But ofcourse it wasnt to be - So back to my origanal expectations with a loss against the cats and 3-3.

That for me is when our season really starts & The most important games (8 point games) are against our real opposition Adelaide,Kangaroo's,Bombers,Port,Carlton etc. - We really need to win these games where we have lost in the past

Great post OP.

It cuts deep more than ever, I agree.

My sister is a St Kilda supporter who hasnt missed a game in the last 8 years. She advises me that, "You don't want to make finals, as bad as it is being at the bottom losing over and over again, you don't want the hope." "Wait til you lose a final...try 2 preliminary and 3 grand finals..then you will know what hurt is".

Of course we want our team to do well, whats the point otherwise? But I suspect we will have some sorer losses to come s brace yourselves fellow tigers!

As for the Cats next week, without Tuck/Foley/Conca/Chaplin I think we will really really struggle. Can't see us winning it.

As for the emotional investment. Football runs my life, I bet against Richmond every week and have a grand on us to miss the 8 to somewhat square the emotional ledger.

#unhealthyhabbits

First game
On the wings, seeing G-Train monster us with a massive bag.
Not much emotion, little bit of sadness.

Second game
Smashed by the Bulldogs.
Anger, frustration, revenge.

That was when i first had a thirst for footy.

Years go by. Wins were rare. Happiness was on the down low.