Luke Webster

• Thread starter Thread starter tjrra

tjrra

Just interested if anyone saw the item in todays paper that reports that Luke Webster could be promoted of the rookie list by the end of the month. He has been in good form in the WAFL and if he is promoted would be a great turn around after a knee reconstruction.

He has been great this season for the Royboys . His inclusion will put more pressure for spots on the team because if he is promoted he will play - Freo will not or any club for that matter promote someone off the rookie list not to play.

Originally posted by masai

The club has been quite successful with bringing Rookies through.

I can see a dynasty in the making if we keep up the hit rate with the rookie list.

Haddrill , Grover , Hayden , Sandilands , Siegert , all regular senior players and Webster, Mott , Colreavy , Dodd & Gilmore to come. Talk about hiding them from the draft. :D

Originally posted by RIPPER_46
Good to see him B.O.G. for W.A. by a long way in the Sanfl vs WAFL game.

Well done Luke.

I agree.

Mott was dominating the ruck and showed that he might be held onto.

Obviously Stanley Magro does not love Brad Dodd's style of play, obviously Stan hasn't looked in the mirror at himself. Brad would have been ideal in this game.

By the way, I thought I knew my WAFL players pretty well, but where does the small Harding who played for W.A. hail from, never seen him before.

Couldn't agree with Webster getting the Simpson Medal.He played well and looked all class with what ever he did but for mine Brad Bootsma was the Gropers best player.
The only way the Dockers can bring Webster onto the list this year is if there is a long term injury,and as good as the kid may be that is something I am sure none of the Freo supporters would like to see.It appears that we can not elevate him one out because of the salary cap.Damn shame that.
Mott disappointed me somewhat.He won heaps of taps but his work around the ground was pretty ordinary.Oh and on his tapping was it that he couldn't direct it to our rovers or were our rovers to slow to pick up on where he was going to tap it?

Originally posted by anchor man
Couldn't agree with Webster getting the Simpson Medal.He played well and looked all class with what ever he did but for mine Brad Bootsma was the Gropers best player.
Brad Bootsma for me as well.

The only way the Dockers can bring Webster onto the list this year is if there is a long term injury,and as good as the kid may be that is something I am sure none of the Freo supporters would like to see.
I don't think that's true. Since the Dockers don't have a full complement of primary list players, they can promote a rookie without putting a player on the Long Term Injury List.

It appears that we can not elevate him one out because of the salary cap. Damn shame that.
Salary cap pressure would be the only thing stopping Webster being elevated from the rookie list though I recall Schwab (or some other Freo official) saying something recently along the lines that they were travelling OK with regards to the salary cap this year.

Mott disappointed me somewhat.He won heaps of taps but his work around the ground was pretty ordinary.Oh and on his tapping was it that he couldn't direct it to our rovers or were our rovers to slow to pick up on where he was going to tap it?
Mott doesn't impress me at all. I reckon he'll be de-rookie-inised and let go come season's end.