I don't have descriptions/explanations for top 6 as I think they've been talked about enough and are reasonably set in stone.
1. Gold Coast Suns - David Swallow
2. Gold Coast Suns - Harley Bennell
3. Gold Coast Suns - Sam Day
4. West Coast Eagles - Andrew Gaff
5. Brisbane Lions - Dyson Heppell
6. Richmond Tigers - Jarrod Polec
7. Gold Coast Suns - Josh Caddy
I think GC are pretty keen on Caddy and will get on to him pretty early knowing that Essendon would probably pounce. Will be ready to go next year. Given their reasonable midfield stocks with Ablett/Rischetteli/Swallow they can use Caddy as a forward but also have a ready made 18 yr old who can play a role in midfield rotations.
8. Essendon Bombers - Shaun Atley
I think they'd ideally prefer Caddy and would likely pounce should he slip through. They'll go next best mid in Atley who can still play tough contested footy with a capable outside game too. Lightning quick with background in athletics.
Other links: Dion Prestia
9. Gold Coast Suns - Daniel Gorringe
Will certainly go to GC somewhere in next 3 picks unless Essendon surprise and go for Gorringe but unlikely. Mobile Ruckman.
10. Gold Coast Suns - Tom Lynch
Like Gorringe is an almost certainty to go to GC somewhere between 9-11. Strong marking tall forward.
11. Gold Coast Suns - Seb Tape
Seb seems to be one of the late bolters with Emma Quayle saying he could go as early as Richmond at pick 6. Running tall defender who can match up on talls and smalls. Pretty good speed with a wise head.
12. Melbourne Demons - Jack Darling
If Darling doesn't go to Melbourne he could slide a long way imo. I reckon Melbourne might go for him as a strong bodied forward, albiet undersized) to form a future trio of Watts, Darling and Jurrah up forward. Could surprise with a Harper but I'm tipping Harper might slide if Melb dont pick him.
13. Gold Coast Suns - Jayden Pitt
Gold Coast will be looking for another quick running skillful outside player. Pitt had a great season and has so much development and upside to him.
14. Adelaide Crows - Brodie Smith
It's always hard to predict which way Adelaide may go. Clearly need another mid preferably with pace, but Rendell often goes against the grain and picks a player few anticipate. There are links to B. Smith and Ben Jacobs. But I wouldn't rule out Tape if he slides (although I hope we go for a mid). McCarthy is the type of player Rendell loves but given the Mutitude of young KPD on their list he'll have to refrain. As a crows supporter my preferances are Smedts, B.Smith, I.Smith or Prestia. I really don't think Jacobs meets the crows needs at all but apparently he's a wise head and the crows seem to fall in love with these types. In the end I've gone with the local lad.
15. Geelong Cats - Billie Smedts
Strong links to Isaac Smith, but I reckon they may play it safe going for their home grown talent who I think will be a great player. Can play in almost any position, he's skillful (both sides of body), he's quick, he's agile, he's a good size (188cm), can take a good mark and has great composure. On paper he is a tremendous prospect but seems to be underrated on bf. I reckon it's because he missed a lot of footy and as a result played back pocket in championships for minimal impact.
16. Port Adel Power - Scott Lycett
Strong links to power. I reckon they'll play it safe like Geelong and take home grown talent. He is a big lad who can play in ruck or as a tall forward. If Brodie Smith is available they'll strongly consider him.
17. North Melbourne - Isaac Smith
I reckon they may just get their man. They'll be rapped. He'll really cap off a briilliant young midfield who can all develop together. They have the hard nuts/contested ball winners in Greenwood, Cunnington, Ziebell. Add Isaac Smith to Andrew Swallow, Bastinac, Wells and Harvey and they have a serious midfield in the making. Smith provides that electrifying speed they probably need.
18. Carlton Blues - Matthew Watson
Has been linked to the blues for a while now. McCarthy may be another one but I reckon they may prefer the more ready to go big bodied Watson.
19. Hawthorn Hawks - Dion Prestia
Dion Prestia is probably not their number one priority but I think if he falls to their pick they may take him as best available and address needs a bit later. Their are so many mids in first round it makes sense to go for KPP with later picks. Tough call though I'm not too sure what they'll do. McCarthy is a possibilty.
20. Fremantle Dockers - Reece Conca
Fremantle usually like to go local and Conca has had a ripper year at league level in WAFL. Do they take best available and add to midfield depth or do they go for KPP such as McCarthy. Similar position to Hawks imo. Either could pick up McCarthy here or we could see McCarthy slide. I think they may just go safe with the local lad and bank on meeting needs later in ND and getting Anthony in PSD.
21. Sydney Swans - Patrick McCarthy
I think McCarthy will finally get picked up at Sydney although he could easily deservedly go earlier. Sydney could either address needs of KPD or a pacy midfielder/forward like Lamb. I'll go with McCarthy as he is a real talent and I think Sydney would be rapped.
22. Western Bulldogs - Mitch Wallis F/S
23. Geelong Cats - Jed Lamb
I reckon the cats would have been hoping McCarthy slid to their pick when they went for best available at pick 15. They could go for Lucas Cook or maybe even Luke Mitchell but I reckon they'll go best available and like so many others try their luck for a KPP later in draft. They probably need another KPF and KPD as both ends of the ground are ageing on their list. Will be a tough call, because if they dont manage to get at least one KPP this draft they may find themselves short in 2011/2012. Having said all that I'm tipping they'll role the dice and pick up Lamb who has so much x factor in the forward line. Kieran Harper or Luke Parker may be other options.
24. St Kilda Saints - Ben Jacobs
Hard one to pick. They'll have to base their pick on what's available. Could be Jacobs, Harper, Lamb, Prestia, Parker, Green. They obviously want pacy midfielders but it may come down to best available. IMO jacobs and Harper are gonna slide a bit. I'll go with Jacobs as best available but doesnt really suit their needs. This is the hardest pick imo.
25. Brisbane Lions - Josh Green
Apparently they are pretty keen on Green, but Harper is still available. Tough decision. Could go either way.
I reckon from pick 18 onwards it could go anyway. I can't belive Prestia, Lamb, Harper, Jacobs, McCarthy have all slid so much but they can't all fit in. Tape, Isaac Smith, Lynch and Heppell had such good 2nd half of the year it pushed a few players back.
1. Gold Coast Suns - David Swallow
2. Gold Coast Suns - Harley Bennell
3. Gold Coast Suns - Sam Day
4. West Coast Eagles - Andrew Gaff
5. Brisbane Lions - Dyson Heppell
6. Richmond Tigers - Jarrod Polec
7. Gold Coast Suns - Josh Caddy
I think GC are pretty keen on Caddy and will get on to him pretty early knowing that Essendon would probably pounce. Will be ready to go next year. Given their reasonable midfield stocks with Ablett/Rischetteli/Swallow they can use Caddy as a forward but also have a ready made 18 yr old who can play a role in midfield rotations.
8. Essendon Bombers - Shaun Atley
I think they'd ideally prefer Caddy and would likely pounce should he slip through. They'll go next best mid in Atley who can still play tough contested footy with a capable outside game too. Lightning quick with background in athletics.
Other links: Dion Prestia
9. Gold Coast Suns - Daniel Gorringe
Will certainly go to GC somewhere in next 3 picks unless Essendon surprise and go for Gorringe but unlikely. Mobile Ruckman.
10. Gold Coast Suns - Tom Lynch
Like Gorringe is an almost certainty to go to GC somewhere between 9-11. Strong marking tall forward.
11. Gold Coast Suns - Seb Tape
Seb seems to be one of the late bolters with Emma Quayle saying he could go as early as Richmond at pick 6. Running tall defender who can match up on talls and smalls. Pretty good speed with a wise head.
12. Melbourne Demons - Jack Darling
If Darling doesn't go to Melbourne he could slide a long way imo. I reckon Melbourne might go for him as a strong bodied forward, albiet undersized) to form a future trio of Watts, Darling and Jurrah up forward. Could surprise with a Harper but I'm tipping Harper might slide if Melb dont pick him.
13. Gold Coast Suns - Jayden Pitt
Gold Coast will be looking for another quick running skillful outside player. Pitt had a great season and has so much development and upside to him.
14. Adelaide Crows - Brodie Smith
It's always hard to predict which way Adelaide may go. Clearly need another mid preferably with pace, but Rendell often goes against the grain and picks a player few anticipate. There are links to B. Smith and Ben Jacobs. But I wouldn't rule out Tape if he slides (although I hope we go for a mid). McCarthy is the type of player Rendell loves but given the Mutitude of young KPD on their list he'll have to refrain. As a crows supporter my preferances are Smedts, B.Smith, I.Smith or Prestia. I really don't think Jacobs meets the crows needs at all but apparently he's a wise head and the crows seem to fall in love with these types. In the end I've gone with the local lad.
15. Geelong Cats - Billie Smedts
Strong links to Isaac Smith, but I reckon they may play it safe going for their home grown talent who I think will be a great player. Can play in almost any position, he's skillful (both sides of body), he's quick, he's agile, he's a good size (188cm), can take a good mark and has great composure. On paper he is a tremendous prospect but seems to be underrated on bf. I reckon it's because he missed a lot of footy and as a result played back pocket in championships for minimal impact.
16. Port Adel Power - Scott Lycett
Strong links to power. I reckon they'll play it safe like Geelong and take home grown talent. He is a big lad who can play in ruck or as a tall forward. If Brodie Smith is available they'll strongly consider him.
17. North Melbourne - Isaac Smith
I reckon they may just get their man. They'll be rapped. He'll really cap off a briilliant young midfield who can all develop together. They have the hard nuts/contested ball winners in Greenwood, Cunnington, Ziebell. Add Isaac Smith to Andrew Swallow, Bastinac, Wells and Harvey and they have a serious midfield in the making. Smith provides that electrifying speed they probably need.
18. Carlton Blues - Matthew Watson
Has been linked to the blues for a while now. McCarthy may be another one but I reckon they may prefer the more ready to go big bodied Watson.
19. Hawthorn Hawks - Dion Prestia
Dion Prestia is probably not their number one priority but I think if he falls to their pick they may take him as best available and address needs a bit later. Their are so many mids in first round it makes sense to go for KPP with later picks. Tough call though I'm not too sure what they'll do. McCarthy is a possibilty.
20. Fremantle Dockers - Reece Conca
Fremantle usually like to go local and Conca has had a ripper year at league level in WAFL. Do they take best available and add to midfield depth or do they go for KPP such as McCarthy. Similar position to Hawks imo. Either could pick up McCarthy here or we could see McCarthy slide. I think they may just go safe with the local lad and bank on meeting needs later in ND and getting Anthony in PSD.
21. Sydney Swans - Patrick McCarthy
I think McCarthy will finally get picked up at Sydney although he could easily deservedly go earlier. Sydney could either address needs of KPD or a pacy midfielder/forward like Lamb. I'll go with McCarthy as he is a real talent and I think Sydney would be rapped.
22. Western Bulldogs - Mitch Wallis F/S
23. Geelong Cats - Jed Lamb
I reckon the cats would have been hoping McCarthy slid to their pick when they went for best available at pick 15. They could go for Lucas Cook or maybe even Luke Mitchell but I reckon they'll go best available and like so many others try their luck for a KPP later in draft. They probably need another KPF and KPD as both ends of the ground are ageing on their list. Will be a tough call, because if they dont manage to get at least one KPP this draft they may find themselves short in 2011/2012. Having said all that I'm tipping they'll role the dice and pick up Lamb who has so much x factor in the forward line. Kieran Harper or Luke Parker may be other options.
24. St Kilda Saints - Ben Jacobs
Hard one to pick. They'll have to base their pick on what's available. Could be Jacobs, Harper, Lamb, Prestia, Parker, Green. They obviously want pacy midfielders but it may come down to best available. IMO jacobs and Harper are gonna slide a bit. I'll go with Jacobs as best available but doesnt really suit their needs. This is the hardest pick imo.
25. Brisbane Lions - Josh Green
Apparently they are pretty keen on Green, but Harper is still available. Tough decision. Could go either way.
I reckon from pick 18 onwards it could go anyway. I can't belive Prestia, Lamb, Harper, Jacobs, McCarthy have all slid so much but they can't all fit in. Tape, Isaac Smith, Lynch and Heppell had such good 2nd half of the year it pushed a few players back.