MaroonBoy

Brisbane Lions
FFC(Roys), Manly, Feyenoord, Barca.
With Lynchy set to play 300 big ones this weekend, its surely time for every Roy Boy and Roy Girl to list their fav Al Lynch Fitzroy moments. COME ON...

My Number One would have to be the mark he took against North at the G in 89. It was a ripper!!!!! Hope he let Roosy and Stroops drive the car he won, after all, they helped give him a decent leg up.

My Number Two was when Lockett threw him into the fence during the last game at Moorabin in 91. Said heaps about what an effective, niggling bastard he was as a fullback.

My Number Three is when he sank Collingwood with six or seven goals at PP in 93. As we all knew, in those days Al kicking for goal was always a 50/50 affair. That day he brought the kicking boots - think he kicked 7. 1 at the end.

My Number Four would be naming my Fitzroy gnome 'Alastair' in early 89. While Al the Gnome looks a lot older, he still keeps a watchful eye on things in the garden. :)

lol mine isnt any 1 particular moment. Its his ability to take a grab on the end of a long lead when hes about 50-55 out from goal and instantly wheel round and kick a goal. He always seem to nail them. A couple of distinct times that he did it was against richmond in the 93 Fosters Cup semi final, late in the last quarter to level the scores, and a second time was against Carlton in round 1 of 1993. His conversion from long leads and instantly wheeling round would have to be very high.

mines a strange one for some strange reason always stuck in my head? ...sitting in a stand at game on Lynch's debut year hearing a bunch of middle aged Fitzroy supproting women who were total Milf material commenting that he had th best legs in the league. Had to laugh.

And for the record Do I like balls across the nose? No, Im straight.

Originally posted by OldLion
Brett Stephens went OK in the tonsorial department.

of course. the roys were guns at the "business in the front, party in the back" look

Nice comment from Lynchy on the Cooodabeens -".. drafted in 86 but arrived in 88, 'cause he had to spend 2 years growing the mullet before he would be accepted into the team."

Favourite moment. Way back in the mists of time. I reckon it was about his 4th or 5th match, at Princes Park. Second quarter he gets a nice run and flies straight over a pack on a forward flank and comes down to earth with the ball and massive roar from the crowd.

You can tell he's totalled amped about it and spends the next two quarters flying for anything kicked within about 100 meters of him - injuring Darren Kappler and cutting Roosey in the process, amongst others.

No 11

Yeah I remember the big mark. Sitting in the smokers with my uncle Len and up he went to take the screamer.
1993 end of season game at Princess Park and we are having a day out with Brisnbane boys. Knightsy wasn't looking too good at 3Qr time, we were 20 odd goals to 3 or 4. The BB full back (good old Merrett no doubt,) was giving our Mr Lynch a hard time, ( Must have thought that they were still good for a 20 goal Qr!) and after Lynchy had sunk another one he then gives the bugger a good old right cross in the ten yard sqaure right in front of the goalie! I thought well you won't be playing for a few games next year son, but nothing happens! The goalie had to see it, but no report!
End od season and he promises the Board that he will stay on.
No such luck, the Qld deal was too much. Then Roosie left and it was all over.
Who cares, the Fitzroy Reds are going great guns this year.
Onga