Malthouse to get contract extension.

you can look at it myopically; that is, from our perspective as brutally cut throat supporters who demand a flag yesterday, or you can view it a bit more objecctively.

The fact is that we'd like to drag out his contract until Round 22 to see if the appropriate improvement has been registered and that Malthouse stops playing favourites with some known entities.

But, we're presumably on some sort of rebuilding plan and last year went somee way to sugggesting that we're on track. I personally would think making up the numbers is the likely result for this year.

To a hardened MM knocker, anything short of top 4 will result in his instant dismissal. Well, sorry, but that's a foolish view IMO.

We have a coach who can squeeze blood out of a stone. 2002/3 were disappointments, but I fail to think of a current coach who could have got that list so close. His ten consecutive years in finals at WCE weren't all with a killer list. Many, if not most, had us down for the spoon last year, but we finished fifth (granted with a crappy finals performance).

Similarly, I think the likes of Port Adelaide are right to stand by Chocco. Granted, there are more fashionable coaches (which happens when other coaches win flags), but Chocco has learned from his mistakes and has proven that he has what it takes.

He's a million miles from perfect, but who is? Roos (beat em last year)? Woosha (beat em last year)? Pagan (coup of the decade)? Sheeds (oops)? Eade (serial coat tail rider)?

We've made the right call to hand over recruiting to someone who has a vague idea of talent over fat-arsedness. I reckon his love of the odd player here or there, over ability, is perpetual. But even carying Freeborn and Davis in the 2002 Grannie, we almost poached it, so it's somewhat livable if we can improve our list.

Ah! well we are are stuck with malty till the end of 2008.Looks like the pies will make a serious assault for the flag in 2010,with the new coach whoever that may be.The problem i have always had with malty is that he only has a plan a ,no plan b,c, or d.He hardly ever makes game changes when things are not working.The other coaches from rival clubs have worked him out and he always plays players out of position,which has cost us dearly.We have under achieved with malty,me thinks.His best year was 2002,and we all know what happened then.Please malty retire early,so we can get someone to coach the club who will take calculated risks which will win games and a premiership.Folks it won't happen with malty at the helm,he has had his time.

..........And Jarrad Molloy was the worst of the lot!!!!

MM was a genius getting such a motley bunch within a couple of kicks of a premiership.
Molloy at least got a mark. Leon was literally useless. Nick was ordinary, but not as bad as those too.

McGough should have played in that muck. Scotland would have been more useful too.

To a hardened MM knocker, anything short of top 4 will result in his instant dismissal. Well, sorry, but that's a foolish view IMO.

At what point do you think Malthouse should go? What footy event or events could happen that make you go ..." Shyte i have had enough this bs." Do you have a breaking point at all?

I hope MM can maintain the ground we made last year. If it doesn't happen watch for the excuses and embarrassing post match interviews. I want Collingwood to succeed just as much as anyone else on this board, I just have doubts MM is the man for the job

Yeah, good idea extending his contract. He has almost a 50% win/loss record. how many coaches that have coached a club 5 years straight have that good a record? he, he.

Brilliant 50%,win one lose one win one lose one,on average gives you 11 wins for the year,might make the eight,tease but fails to please.My issue with Micky Mouse is that he plays a couple too many of his love childs,Lockyer,O`Bree when they are quite simply not up to it,add to the fact that he has no secondary game plan or plans when things are not going our way suggests to me that his contract should not be extended.

Can he win us a premiership? It's obviously a big question and Eddie seems to think so as far as I know. If the answer is no, then we are better off going down a different path.

And; Is he playing a role in recruiting for the future? I personally don't think we will win a permiership before 2009; that said, we are more likely to win a premiership between 2009-2012, which gives enough time for the young players to make a solid contribution.

Only time will tell, my friends.

Not many people expected a fifth position finish after 22 rounds (well I expected a fourth position) so to turn it around like he did last year was quite impressive.

Mick has definately started to approach things differently.
He has always built the team around the defensive line, but he has certainly been making moves to rebuild the forward and midfield lines.
I bet all those whinging about the contract extension, wouldn't have been doing so last year after 11 rounds.
I think he's earned the position until 2009.

Look I get unhappy with some of his strategies at times (very frequently).
For example last year I had a lot of issues with his coaching.
ie: Why wasn't Tarrant leading up to the wings?
Why wasn't Josh spending more time in the forward line?
Why didn't Buckley spend more time at full-forward?
etc etc etc..........

When it comes down to it he has a view of team balance as the coach.
If we made these moves too often maybe we would have got blown out of the water. He's the coach. Give him his 1 or 2 years and see what happens I say.

Look I get unhappy with some of his strategies at times (very frequently).
For example last year I had a lot of issues with his coaching.
ie: Why wasn't Tarrant leading up to the wings?
Why wasn't Josh spending more time in the forward line?
Why didn't Buckley spend more time at full-forward?
etc etc etc...........

1. Injured.
2. No other ruck options
3. Because he's not a full forward's butt-hole

Molloy at least got a mark. Leon was literally useless. Nick was ordinary, but not as bad as those too.

McGough should have played in that muck. Scotland would have been more useful too.
scotland played in 2002 off the bench.the 2 davies and freeborn had good games in the prelim final against the crows so it was hard to drop them but molloy at least he could have belted voss we might have one and he would have been rubbed out for a long time which also have been good

What a coincidence.
Today's Herald Sun has an article on Melbourne's coach, Neil Daniher.
10 years at the club and over 200 games as coach without a flag.
How many years has Mick been at the helm for? Because he is definitely catching up.

But in all seriousness. I have read some posts and the last thing we want to do is take a risk on a head coaching position when we have a list like ours (young and full of potential/with current stars too).
As someone mentioned, Mick Malthouse, whether you like it or not, is one of the best coaches in the AFL. Recent years might say otherwise, but thats the truth. I'd rather have an acknowledged coach who has true history then at THIS STAGE, give the head job to an inexperienced coach, and we all know there aren't other star coaches out there that are available.
Malthouse SHYTES all over Williams so no one better mention Mark Williams.
I think a couple more years, and a few more pre-seasons as head coach and we'll have Guy McKenna ready. Patience is a virtue (Is that right?)

Of course he improved us from 15th to 7th. I just can’t understand why it’s only 1 year. We have gone gangbusters in his short tenure.

In the circumstances of where we are and in isolation you are right but that is not how decisions should be made. That is a recepie for fluking success or failing and I’ll leave you to work out what happens in that scenario. If we shouldn’t rightly expect too much this year then how on Earth does that not answer the whole question given how long MM has been the coach?
We have a coach who can squeeze blood out of a stone. 2002/3 were disappointments, but I fail to think of a current coach who could have got that list so close.
Roos and Sheedy have done more and won flags (2005, 1993).
Similarly, I think the likes of Port Adelaide are right to stand by Chocco.
1st v 2nd. Good God don’t we at Collingwood understand that better than anyone? OK ignore that. My greatest issue is how MM responded to losing GF’s and what therefore happened subsequently. Christ we still have much the same list structure issues.

My greatest issue is how MM responded to losing GF’s and what therefore happened subsequently. Christ we still have much the same list structure issues.

I agree there are some players who we held onto for to long. The main 2 that come to mind are Walker and Lokan. Having said that I can't really think of 2 many sides in the history of the game that have had a massive cull After finsihing second. Especially when the side that beat us is reagrded by some as just about the greatest side of all time.

I can only assume that the club felt being the 2nd best side in the comp that it did not have to make many changes to become the first. It didn't turn out that way but surely its a reasonable theory.

My main problem with malthouse is I reckon he gets to close to some players and fails to make tough decisions. Players like Leon and tarkyn get a free ride while others such as scotland get dumped when clearly he had the goods. He is also pretty stubborn. The jason cloke situation is a clear example of this. For 2 years he kept trying to tell us he could played forward when everyone said he couldn't. But he kept persisting because he wanted to prove everyone wrong.

Not sure if extending the contract is a very good move. Surely have to get results for a new contract is a far bigger incentive to do well.

I agree there are some players who we held onto for to long. The main 2 that come to mind are Walker and Lokan. Having said that I can't really think of 2 many sides in the history of the game that have had a massive cull After finsihing second. Especially when the side that beat us is reagrded by some as just about the greatest side of all time.

I can only assume that the club felt being the 2nd best side in the comp that it did not have to make many changes to become the first. It didn't turn out that way but surely its a reasonable theory.

My main problem with malthouse is I reckon he gets to close to some players and fails to make tough decisions. Players like Leon and tarkyn get a free ride while others such as scotland get dumped when clearly he had the goods. He is also pretty stubborn. The jason cloke situation is a clear example of this. For 2 years he kept trying to tell us he could played forward when everyone said he couldn't. But he kept persisting because he wanted to prove everyone wrong.

Not sure if extending the contract is a very good move. Surely have to get results for a new contract is a far bigger incentive to do well.
come on mate your being a lil harsh there on leon arent you? Had a pretty good season last year and is a very important player to our line up. I think he warrants a spot on our senior list dont you think?

Also where was this said that MM got a contract extension?

Dratts.....another 2 years with malthouse.We'll definately be mediocre at best then.I was having a liitle chat with micky maguane,earlier today.Bumped into him in a lift near work.He's a top bloke and we spoke briefly about his return to colligwood to coach the pies.I told him that there are a lot of collingwood supporters out there that would like to see him and daics back at the club.Micky could take us to a premiership if given the chance to coach i believe.He is very keen to return one day,but now we have to wait till 2009.Mick maguane ( coach),Nathan buckley(ass coach),Peter Daicos (FORWARD COACH).The future coaching line up when malty goes.By then players like dawes ,reid,browm,goldsac,d...k,thomas,pendles,travis cloke,dids,fraser etc should all be guns ready to make a strong assualt on the premiership.WE will have the players,and the coach who will get us there.But it's still a few years away.By the way pies fans listen to SPORT927 EVERYMORNING,MICK MAGUANE AND MICHAEL CHRISTIAN,are the 2 presenters with Tony Jones ,who talk sport for the SERIOUS sports follower not like the ********ers on sen.Sport 927 is 927 on the am band.

come on mate your being a lil harsh there on leon arent you? Had a pretty good season last year and is a very important player to our line up. I think he warrants a spot on our senior list dont you think?

Also where was this said that MM got a contract extension?

I think he was ok last year but I don't think he has done anywhere near enough in his previous season to be kept on the list.

Without trying to sound racist(because anyone who knows me knows I am not) Malthouse has conceeded himself he has cut him more slack because he is an indiginous player and he thought it was important to have more inginous players at collingwood. He somthing said along those lines about 2 years ago. I don't really agree with this point of view although I am not dead against it either.

Even after a really good start to the season last year he still fell away and got droped back to the 2s. If a player has not cemented his spot in the ones after 7-8 seasons then I don't think that player should be retained.

Sure he is an excitment machine and when he is on he is very valuable. He just does not do enough on a consistant basis IMO.

On Malthouse-it has been reported in the press in the last 24 hours that he will be getting and extension on his contract.

Malthouse to get contract extension.