bigbomber

essendon
we all talk about how ******** henneman and bolton are but how come this guy doesnt get a mention. lets face it he is just another waste of time and space on our player list.

windyhill said:
We seem to be gathering quite a few of this type. IE, very much at the crossroads and needing to produce,he has talent Alves, yes as well as a few injuries, big year for him. I can smell a cleanout coming on.
where is his talent. his talent must lie outside the football world cause i have never seen it. his slow, too small and can't kick more than 35m. i reckon he was only recruited to keep his mate solomon around.

byron pickett should do a six weeker on him and put an end to the essendon shame of picking up mark alvey!

id really like to see him make it. i dont think its going to happen. what position is he best suited to play? was he an on baller at the doggies?

He's a clever footballer who knows how to pick up kicks. Think he could be a very handy player off the bench, or maybe even as a crumber in the F50. Has a bit of spark about him from what i've seen. Certainly loves a goal.

Does lack genuine line breaking pace and his height counts against him, and he isn't in and under either. Still think he can play a role though, but i'd probably rather Dyson or Winderlich playing it instead.

Poor man's Bewick perhaps ? though there isn't much shame in that.

MOJOE said:
Before his knee he had over 400 possies in a year... this could be his year.
how mny possies were effective? like i said he is slow so he can't run the lines and he can't kick further than 35m.

bigbomber said:
where is his talent. his talent must lie outside the football world cause i have never seen it. his slow, too small and can't kick more than 35m. i reckon he was only recruited to keep his mate solomon around.

byron pickett should do a six weeker on him and put an end to the essendon shame of picking up mark alvey!
bb , I`m almost agreeing with you, just giving him one more season to produce.

Before that leg injury, Alvey looked like being something out of the ordinary at Footscray. He took longer than most to get established but once he was in he became a terrific impact player. He got ahead of the ball a bit too much, mind you, most of our players did, then. He would take the handball from a midfielder after the bounce then run at goal. Very exciting. It took him 2 goes to get to Essendon. He's a talented lad but not the player he was before his knee. I hope he does well for you, this year.

i watched the match where he done his knee in 2003 on fox footy and he was killing it, he was running up and down the middle he was best on ground at that point. i think this could be it for him.

MOJOE said:
Before his knee he had over 400 possies in a year... this could be his year.

what year was that? i was a doggies member between 2001-03 and i cant recall this

astro_toby said:
What a ********ing stupid comment

Chaffey cant kick for ********

And Im going to take a comment like that seriously from someone who cant decide what club he wants to go for...

MOJOE said:
372 for 2002 (close to 400 - a figure I read in various articles last year)

http://finalsiren.com/PlayerStats.asp?PlayerID=446&SeasonID=2002

You obviously dont follow the Dogs as well as your other teams if you didnt see Alvey collect 'nearly' 400 possessions.

But he didnt collect 400+posssesions like you claimed

So i was right :p

as for chaffey - I would HARDLY say his strongest point is his pin point kicking - as i have seen him play every week for the past 6 years and beyond - i have a fair idea of that

I don't follow the dogs, but i bought a membership because my girlfriend does, and i went with her every week

astro_toby said:
... but i bought a membership because my girlfriend does, and i went with her every week
You stick with that girlfriend, astro_toby, she sounds like a good sort. Look forward to an enjoyable time with her during 2005

droppuntkick23 said:
Got nice shaved legs has Mark, should worry about getting a kick this year and stop worrying how he looks. :eek:

I had you pegged as a 14 year old immature ********, yet according to your profile you're 26.

Alot of 26 year old's are married or have kids.

I'd expect someone who comes onto another teams forum and posts rubbish to be fairly immature, especially as you post more on our forum instead of your own.

Let's hope you never breed.

droppuntkick23 said:
Got nice shaved legs has Mark, should worry about getting a kick this year and stop worrying how he looks. :eek:

It might be wise to retract a stupid statement. Most AFL footballers shave their legs.