Harold22

Rookie
Very rough pick.. slow, very poor disposal, very dumb football brain....only thing going for him is his build and hardness. i dont like this choice. i think a tall midfielder is wat was needed and there were many of those. this wat compliment the class and hardness of ball, dalsanto and the like well. cain ackland is a good pick allthough deluca could bite the saints in the arse in a few years. worth a shot at ackland though as he can play straight away. and another thing, y is troy schwarze still on the st kilda list. he is the most frisustrating player in the AFL.

every stkilda supporter hates schwarze, he paid us all back against brisbane though. Yeah i think we should have waited a little latter for Ackland still some very good youngsters on offer at that stage. McGough still don't know... hope he does prove critics wrong. I thought your comment about his footy brain was a bit stiff i just question his disposal and playing not on a wet day.

Apparently they went over to South Africa today didn't they?

milnedog44 said:
every stkilda supporter hates schwarze, he paid us all back against brisbane though. Yeah i think we should have waited a little latter for Ackland still some very good youngsters on offer at that stage. McGough still don't know... hope he does prove critics wrong. I thought your comment about his footy brain was a bit stiff i just question his disposal and playing not on a wet day.

Apparently they went over to South Africa today didn't they?
yeah 8am

*sigh* Harold, you're a moron.

Everyone knows, Mark McGoughs best weapon IS his football brain. He gets enough of the ball, but his disposal is poor. Don't say stupid things to make St.Kilda supporters get the wrong idea. McGough dosen't have great pace, although he is a hard nut, very good in the wet and could help you with games outside the Dome.

WZA said:
*sigh* Harold, you're a moron.

Everyone knows, Mark McGoughs best weapon IS his football brain. He gets enough of the ball, but his disposal is poor. Don't say stupid things to make St.Kilda supporters get the wrong idea. McGough dosen't have great pace, although he is a hard nut, very good in the wet and could help you with games outside the Dome.
with the pace factor........ i really get annoyed when people say weakness lack of pace like footydraft.com because you can always work on your pace to make yourself quicker and also you can definitly work on your skills. So what you are really trying to say is that mcgough is a fantastic player with everything going for him, if you take away the things you can work on to make yourself a better player!!!!!!

milnedog44 said:
every stkilda supporter hates schwarze,

That is bullcrap. I don't and never did hate Troy.
Interestingly, you posted the same anti-Troy sentiment on the Roos board. Methinks YOU hate the guy, but I know several dozen Saints supporters that think otherwise.

riccardo said:
That is bullcrap. I don't and never did hate Troy.
Interestingly, you posted the same anti-Troy sentiment on the Roos board. Methinks YOU hate the guy, but I know several dozen Saints supporters that think otherwise.

I just don't know why he gets a game

My thoughts are that the Saints recruiters have targeted a need for an in-and-under "hard ball get" player who has to feed the ball out to our running players and they decided that McGough fits the bill. These players do take risks and often disposal is poor because of the pressure but they are necessary even vital. They often have poorer raw statistics than the other midfielders.

Thompson and Powell are St Kilda's current players to fill this role with Baker, Hayes and Ball all doing some of this work and to a lesser extent Harvey and Dal Santo.

I think McGough will fit in nicely and if he "plays his cards right" he might end up as one of the mainstays of our midfield in years to come.

StKildonan said:
My thoughts are that the Saints recruiters have targeted a need for an in-and-under "hard ball get" player who has to feed the ball out to our running players and they decided that McGough fits the bill. These players do take risks and often disposal is poor because of the pressure but they are necessary even vital. They often have poorer raw statistics than the other midfielders.

Thompson and Powell are St Kilda's current players to fill this role with Baker, Hayes and Ball all doing some of this work and to a lesser extent Harvey and Dal Santo.

I think McGough will fit in nicely and if he "plays his cards right" he might end up as one of the mainstays of our midfield in years to come.
well said mate

StKildonan said:

Players like Del Santo and Ball, with their amazing skills, are best utilised as "outside" midfielders, replacing the likes of Harvey in the next few years. StKilda should leave the dirty "inside" work to Baker, Hayes and McGough, replacing Thompson and Powell.

hotpie said:
Players like Del Santo and Ball, with their amazing skills, are best utilised as "outside" midfielders, replacing the likes of Harvey in the next few years. StKilda should leave the dirty "inside" work to Baker, Hayes and McGough, replacing Thompson and Powell.
hotpie in your opionon is and will mark mcgough be a quality player for the saints?? honestly?

Snickers said:
hotpie in your opionon is and will mark mcgough be a quality player for the saints?? honestly?

He'll be a solid contributor in the middle, as long as you don't have any misapprehensions about what he can and cannot do. He'll protect your classier players from the heavy traffic and he''ll get the ball enough to be a good player.

Just don't try to turn him into a "utility" - he aint one.

hotpie said:
He'll be a solid contributor in the middle, as long as you don't have any misapprehensions about what he can and cannot do. He'll protect your classier players from the heavy traffic and he''ll get the ball enough to be a good player.

Just don't try to turn him into a "utility" - he aint one.
thanks

Nightwolf_69 said:
Is there a reason as to why StKilda supporters hate Schwarze?
i know that i dont hate him. he just gets frustrating to watch sometimes as every player does occasioally.

watch the tape. mcgough follows the ball around and if u watch closely at his games, u often see the ball get kicked over his head as he is not smart enough to think ahead and position himself. he is just a hard worker who has good fitness and makes contests, instead of being at the contest at the start. and troy schwarze is not an afl player, cut off the deadwood before it hurts u.

Harold22 said:
watch the tape. mcgough follows the ball around and if u watch closely at his games, u often see the ball get kicked over his head as he is not smart enough to think ahead and position himself. he is just a hard worker who has good fitness and makes contests, instead of being at the contest at the start. and troy schwarze is not an afl player, cut off the deadwood before it hurts u.
he will be a solid contributer, i hope he proves you all wrong. Go Goughy!!

Savatage said:
So far off the mark, it's not worth even going through.
i dont like people talking about who should be "outside" midfielders. you should just see the ball and go for it

Savatage said:
So far off the mark, it's not worth even going through.

Whats wrong with saying that your best players should be on top of the pack not at the bottom of it? Its all about using your resources wisely. If a bloke can kick the ball a mile or run a million miles an hour, theres no point having him wrestling at a ball-up or attempting to handball while on all fours.

Harvey is a great example, he's generally been best when playing as an outside player. Doesnt make him soft, far from it, but thats the best way he can help the club, hes best utilised when the ball is given to him, and he runs and delivers the ball out of traffic. When he dives into a pack and gets it himself he's less effective. McGough, IMO will be able to do some of the hard work that Ball currently does, to make Ball an even more effective offensive player.

You need ugly players to make your pretty players look good.

hotpie said:
Whats wrong with saying that your best players should be on top of the pack not at the bottom of it?

Well if our best players strength is being an actual In and under type, then let him play to his strengths! Luke Ball is going to be, if not already, one of the best in & under midfielders in the AFL.

He is not the best ya could have I ecspecialy know he wouldn't be my first pick over Deletio,Roughead guys like that.But I reckon he will hold his own in there