pistol17

Williams makes Pavlich U-turn

By Tom Wald
July 16, 2007
PORT Adelaide coach Mark Williams has certainly changed his tune about AFL star Matthew Pavlich.
The 2004 premiership-winning mentor was singing the praises of the off-contract Fremantle captain after Port Adelaide's 91-point belting of West Coast on Saturday.
However, the Power coach might be hoping the four-time All-Australian doesn't have a long memory.
Williams openly questioned the ambition of the gun forward after he re-signed with the Dockers for three years back in August 2002.
"There's a few people back in Adelaide, a couple of young centre half-backs at our club, that are jumping for joy,'' Williams said at the time.
"They will look forward to playing in a top side and one that is certainly pushing and has been at the top for the last couple of years.
"If Matthew doesn't want to make that jump then that's his decision.''
It was clear on the weekend that Williams's opinion of the South Australian had softened over the years.
"Matthew Pavlich adds to our group exactly what we all need,'' Williams said.
"He is a quality person, he has got great character and he works really hard. He would fit very nicely into our group and is a fantastic leader.
"I have spoken to our players about him and if we had the opportunity, and he saw fit that Port Adelaide was the right mix for him, it would be a dream come true for all of our players and certainly our coaching staff.''
AAP

I just hope Pav has a good memory of what Williams said we he signed the last contract compared to now...

I look forward to hearing Williams' latest dummy spit once Pav re-signs. Fair dinkum, the way the sook carried on last time you'd think we'd stolen Pav off them for nothing in the PSD.

I don't know where that arrogant tosser gets off thinking he has some god given right to our players. If we do have to let Pav go, I hope we end up doing a deal with Adelaide.

He's still dirty about Josh Carr. I heard him on the radio last time he was in town and he is dead set pissed about it still.

Basically if you are pissed about what Choco has said about Pav this year (when questioned) then imagine how Port felt knowing that Chris Connoly was running around Melbourne in 2004 grand final week telling all and sundry that Josh Carr would be at Fremantle the following year.

This is the most important week of Carrs footballing life (up until that point)

Basically if you are pissed about what Choco has said about Pav this year (when questioned) then imagine how Port felt knowing that Chris Connoly was running around Melbourne in 2004 grand final week telling all and sundry that Josh Carr would be at Fremantle the following year.

Would love to see the link to that. Not saying that it is not true and you have just made it up, but with rumours of this type it always good to have some credible source so that everyone doesn't think you are a simpleton, or even an average, everyday, garden quality idiot.

I dont know how to do a google search through old news to find an article from the time (the old stuff seems to vanish) ... but can point you to an article from today which also refers to it ... albeit - in a cryptic way:

http://www.news.com.au/adelaidenow/story/0,22606,22085218-21543,00.html

FREMANTLE captain Matthew Pavlich's far-from-certain future is now sparking side brawls between the Dockers and Port Adelaide.

The Dockers are on the attack, accusing Power coach Mark Williams of impropriety in publicly speaking of Pavlich while he was committed to a critical AFL match at the weekend.

Fremantle chief executive Cameron Schwab – surprisingly ignoring Adelaide coach Neil Craig's remarks on 25-year-old Pavlich – has criticised Williams for serenading the All-Australian forward at the weekend.

"Mark has introduced something that has not been part of our sport – all of sudden it has become free and open go to talk about other clubs' players," Schwab said.

"Very important players at a crucial time in their club.

"From Mark's point of view, it has been very indulgent. He should not be speculating on the careers of our players."

Schwab added he understood speculation of Pavlich's future at Fremantle would be in the public domain and it was "reasonable" for the media to cover the issue.

"But I don't think speculation from opposition coaches is a good thing," he said.

The Power's counter yesterday is to challenge Schwab's memory, questioning if his club had been so polite to Port and midfielder Josh Carr in the lead-up to the 2004 grand final. Within days of Port's premiership win, Carr declared his desire to be traded to the Dockers.

Port chief executive John James yesterday was reluctant to fuel a war of words with Fremantle.

"But if Mark, or anyone from our club, is asked a question at a press conference, he will answer it frankly," James said.

"Similar to others (such as Craig), our coach was asked for an opinion and he gave one.

"We've been in a similar position and understand that when you have a high-profile player out of contract, particularly one from interstate, there is always a lot of media speculation. In some respects, that's football."

Williams' remarks on Pavlich – almost 24 hours before Fremantle played the Kangaroos in a finals-sharping clash at Subiaco – were in direct response to a question at his after-match press conference on Saturday. Asked what Pavlich would add to a Power attack that scored 22 goals in beating West Coast by 91 points at AAMI Stadium, Williams responded: "Matthew Pavlich adds to our group exactly what we all need.

"He is a quality person, he has got great character and he works really hard.

"He would fit very nicely into our group and is a fantastic leader.

"I have spoken to our players about him and if we had the opportunity and he saw fit that Port Adelaide was the right mix for him, it would be a dream come true for all of our players and certainly our coaching staff."

Williams added his club had history in working trades with Fremantle – handing the Dockers Carr and premiership team-mate Jarrad Schofield in the lead-up to the 2005 season. "There is a lot of water to go under the bridge there and obviously we have got a bit of history of trading with Fremantle, so we will see," he said.

Pavlich, an eight-season player, one-year captain at Fremantle, is understood to have put off contract talks with the Dockers until the club can declare who will be his coach next season.

There is the suggestion that if Chris Connolly remains at Fremantle – an unlikely scenario considering the Dockers are set to miss the finals – Pavlich will seek a return to SA, with Adelaide considered his favoured club.

"The club and Matthew know exactly where it is at," Schwab said. "And we will not comment until it is finalised."

Pav better re-sign, the only team i would hate to see pav at more than port is west coast. what a bunch of arrogant wan.ers that team is from their presdient, to their coach and even their captain in tredrae. cant stand them

Call us what you like, but quite honestly i think you dislike Port because the Power stands for everything that the Dockers are NOT. For what its worth, Port has an AFL premiership and has played finals regularly while you guys languish at the bottom waiting for draft picks. And what the hack were you thinking when you sold all your draft picks in a super draft to get Solomon and Tarrant last year? I seriously feel very sorry for supporters like you who may never live to see the last Saturday in September where their team is an active participant (not winning the 100m sprint lol).

I just hope Pav has a good memory of what Williams said we he signed the last contract compared to now...

If Pav has a good memory (which I hope he has), the only thing spinning in his mind would be regrets at having locked himself in purple haze for another 3 'long years' and miss out on a premiership he could quite possibly have been a part of in 2004 had he made a wise choice. Here is hoping his good memory will serve him right this time as he looks to see which team is on the rise and which one is in serious freo-fall and won't play finals. As a reasonable person, Pav will know - as all of you sure do - that his hopes of playing in a premiership lie in him moving to either Port or Crows at the end of the season. He's 26 and as a key forward is only looking at another 3-4 years at the peak of his playing career. The door is wide open at Port and Adelaide. If he misses the ride this time, he will join the ranks of great players of our game never to play in a grand final, let alone a premiership. Com'n Pav, its time...

Call us what you like, but quite honestly i think you dislike Port because the Power stands for everything that the Dockers are NOT. For what its worth, Port has an AFL premiership and has played finals regularly while you guys languish at the bottom waiting for draft picks. And what the hack were you thinking when you sold all your draft picks in a super draft to get Solomon and Tarrant last year? I seriously feel very sorry for supporters like you who may never live to see the last Saturday in September where their team is an active participant (not winning the 100m sprint lol).

Haha its funny because its true:thumbsu:

I look forward to hearing Williams' latest dummy spit once Pav re-signs. Fair dinkum, the way the sook carried on last time you'd think we'd stolen Pav off them for nothing in the PSD.

I don't know where that arrogant tosser gets off thinking he has some god given right to our players. If we do have to let Pav go, I hope we end up doing a deal with Adelaide.

Fair call and by the look of things that's where he seems to prefer to go as well. Bottomline is the croweater won't be wapped in purple haze anymore either way.

Things get a tad annoying when the boot is on the other foot. Frankly, I'm not fussed about Pavlich. We would need to unravell too much to get him.

The fact that you hate us is fine with me. We all tend to dislike what we cant control or cant defeat. I dont dislike Freo, I just dont respect them. Respect can only be achieved with onfield success, everything else is inconsequential.

and yet you still can't draw a decent crowd to see your team demolish last years premiers.

If Pav has a good memory (which I hope he has), the only thing spinning in his mind would be regrets at having locked himself in purple haze for another 3 'long years' and miss out on a premiership he could quite possibly have been a part of in 2004 had he made a wise choice. Here is hoping his good memory will serve him right this time as he looks to see which team is on the rise and which one is in serious freo-fall and won't play finals. As a reasonable person, Pav will know - as all of you sure do - that his hopes of playing in a premiership lie in him moving to either Port or Crows at the end of the season. He's 26 and as a key forward is only looking at another 3-4 years at the peak of his playing career. The door is wide open at Port and Adelaide. If he misses the ride this time, he will join the ranks of great players of our game never to play in a grand final, let alone a premiership. Com'n Pav, its time...

I find it funny that Port Adelaide and Adelaide supporters just expect Pavlich to be playing for them next year because he is from Adelaide, maybe Lance Franklin should be playing for us because he is from WA, doesnt work that way. Pavlich is pretty happy in WA at the moment, has his business interests here with his best mate Hasleby, owns a horse with Judd, his Girlfriend is from WA, he owns real estate in WA. He has a lot more on offer here in Perth than Adelaide has to offer. The fact is both Adelaide sides are just as far away as Fremantle are from the Premiership, all 3 wont win it this year.

Just don't go around telling everyone what a huge success you are when constantly play to half empty stadiums.

* Maybe our crowds are not as accepting of mediocrity and on field failure as some........

* Or maybe some clubs are enjoying the flow on benefits of a mining boom.....

Regardless, statements like the one above suggesting success is measured in crowd numbers rather than premierships are a worry.

How can you hate Port so much after what they did to West Coast last w/end. :p

BTW, I think Williams is one of those coaches that you would love if he was yours, but comes across as a bit of a git to outsiders. Good for the Port Adelaide which is the sort of club (if you understand SA footy history) you either love or love to hate.

I find it funny that Port Adelaide and Adelaide supporters just expect Pavlich to be playing for them next year because he is from Adelaide,

Then get him to sign up for next year and it will stop all of the speculation, quite easy really. Either he wants to go home or he is bumping up his price to screw over freo.

I find it funny that Port Adelaide and Adelaide supporters just expect Pavlich to be playing for them next year because he is from Adelaide, maybe Lance Franklin should be playing for us because he is from WA, doesnt work that way. Pavlich is pretty happy in WA at the moment, has his business interests here with his best mate Hasleby, owns a horse with Judd, his Girlfriend is from WA, he owns real estate in WA. He has a lot more on offer here in Perth than Adelaide has to offer. The fact is both Adelaide sides are just as far away as Fremantle are from the Premiership, all 3 wont win it this year.

For the record – I agree next year he (Mathew Pavlich) will more than likely stay a Docker and end his football career in Perth. However until he suggest that he is 100% committed to the Fremantle football club and it doesn’t matter whom the coach is there is every chance he is walking.

IMO the breakdown regarding his future would be something like 80% stay at Fremantle, 15% seeks a trade to the Crows and 5% goes to Port.

At the end of the season if he seeks a trade specifically to the Adelaide Crows I believe that there is still a good chance he will remain a Docker for season 2008. We will offer something and that may not be acceptable to your clubs and a Deal will not get done between the two clubs. As everyone knows Neil Craig is anti-trade and does not endear himself to the process.

Until a deal is done he will be a Docker

Then get him to sign up for next year and it will stop all of the speculation, quite easy really. Either he wants to go home or he is bumping up his price to screw over freo.

Well no one actually knows if he has been given a contract to sign. The last time he was out of contract he almost went home. Reason for that was he didnt want the club talking about him signing, Schwab or whoever it was told the media Pav was signing when he hadnt even looked it over. This time Pav has told the club he wont talk about his future until seasons end, it looks to me like we are going along with Pav's request to talk about it at seasons end. I wish some speculation would hit Riewoldt, Dal Santo and Judd just like Pavlich is getting hammered about it.

If you think Pav will screw freo over then you have no idea what sort of bloke the Fremantle captain is.

Wow! Hold on a sec!

Since when is it that Pavlich or anyone else can't have business interests outside the state he lives in. If he does come to Adelaide, and I mean the Crows, he would have COUNTLESS opportunities to invest with prominent business people like Robert Gerard and Peter Hurley who are strongly tied to our club. One is a board memeber who is a hotel industry tycoon and has multi-million business interests including some with Mark Ricciuto and Simon Goodwin. Robert Gerard own Clipsal among other things and has been with us since day one. His investement opportunities in Adelaide would be just as big as they are in Perth.

He also has a family and close friend back in SA and has said a number of times on 5AA over the years that he would like to finish his career in Adelaide. Couple that with the apparent fact that his agent is John Reid's son and there are signs that point to a possible departure.

He might well stay with Freo but all these things combined with his reluctance to talk contract until the end of the season, would make me nervous if I was a Freo fan.