Mark Williams hypocritical???

• Thread starter Thread starter Crowked

Ok here's my "take" on Choco.

I was devastated when Jack got the flick tho in hindsight (wonderful thing it is) the writing was on the wall all season. I never threatened to "quit" the club tho. When Choco was appointed I had grave concerns as his record at the Bay wasn't too flash. I have been severly disappointed at our "choking" in 2001-2003, but never called for his head. I trust the club to do the right thing and make the right decisions. I will always stand by PAFC, no matter where we are on the ladder, but I won't always agree with their decisions. Chucking in my membership etc is never an option tho.

I love Choco's passion for the footy club and the way he wears his heart on his sleeve at times. At other times tho he makes me cringe. Most people don't understand his "style" and he gets misconstrued, which is a bad thing for our club and public profile imo. He's a very impatient, demanding man and always will be, that's him. Sometimes tho I wish he'd let Matty Primus do the talking as he's much better as far as "PR" goes. I have the utmost respect for his coaching ability, just not his public speaking ability....

Oh, and I love the sh** he gives Eddie. :)

That's just my opinion, right or wrong doesn't come into it.

Ford Fairlane said:
Name dropper!

:D

It's a fact though. That's what he told me.

One of the nicest most intelligent blokes you could wish to meet. Rare to find that in a man who was such a great player as well. He's the complete package.

macca23 said:

It's a fact though. That's what he told me.

One of the nicest most intelligent blokes you could wish to meet. Rare to find that in a man who was such a great player as well. He's the complete package.

And a Port man to boot. Almost make you wonder whether you were living in a parallel universe ... ;)

jakey said:
Jack me mate...are you serious? Mark's coaching has extracted the best from the talent he has had available. He's made many at Port Adelaide better footballers. Mark has an extraordinarily positive attitude. His enthusiasm and optimism are what has driven the club on in the past few years. Sure he gets fired up when he percieves an injustice has been done, or lack of loyalty or respect shown...but thats an awesome attribute for a coach to have.

Statistics regarding the club the South Australians most identify with has shown a notable shift towards the power over the past few years - from around 35% to nearly 40. You couldn't really be more wrong.

Maybe they aint the team for you...but that's OK.

hes extracted some good things last yr out of a couple of mature age recruits, but over all his coaching record for when it counts in unimpressive.

I seriously doubt his intelligence, the message he sends to the average person is one of a negative, sly, backstabbing, bitter coach with a definite inferiority complex. Hes always having little snipes here and there making himself look like a total idiot. someone should get some media training quick into him, tredders showed what can happen if you use the media in the right way

And on the numbers i agree that there is a small shift to port, there are definitely many more kids where power jumpers these days. The club would be much more marketable if mark wasnt there. Once theses kids grow up and see what an idiot mark is i'll bet they'll change. Its also important to realise that imo, our management is appalling at the moment with triggy running things, this can only get better. I would say in the state its 70/30 easy, no better than that.

Its also good to remember that this is as popular as the power will get, this is your high time, i hate to think of the crowds when your in the bottom half. 10,000 -15,000 ish i'll bet………. So get rid of him quick

outback jack said:
(Rubbish, rubbish and more biased rubbish)
No response necessary.

outback jack said:
hes extracted some good things last yr out of a couple of mature age recruits, but over all his coaching record for when it counts in unimpressive.

I seriously doubt his intelligence, the message he sends to the average person is one of a negative, sly, backstabbing, bitter coach with a definite inferiority complex. Hes always having little snipes here and there making himself look like a total idiot. someone should get some media training quick into him, tredders showed what can happen if you use the media in the right way

And on the numbers i agree that there is a small shift to port, there are definitely many more kids where power jumpers these days. The club would be much more marketable if mark wasnt there. Once theses kids grow up and see what an idiot mark is i'll bet they'll change. Its also important to realise that imo, our management is appalling at the moment with triggy running things, this can only get better. I would say in the state its 70/30 easy, no better than that.

Its also good to remember that this is as popular as the power will get, this is your high time, i hate to think of the crowds when your in the bottom half. 10,000 -15,000 ish i'll bet………. So get rid of him quick
Bishop, montgomery, wakelin, mahoney are recycled players who in my opinion are much better footballers at PA than they were previously. Brogan has been converted from a basketballer into one of the best ruckmen in the game. Port Adelaide under Mark has also had an excellent success rate in developing the talents of its draftees. It's a lot more than just a year of success with one or two recycled players.

Now, maybe you dont like Mark...but perhaps that has more to do with the fact that he very successfully coaches the football team you hate most. Yes, he probably could project a better face to the media on occassions, but I still maintain that the intent behind his comments is frequently misunderstood. Also, I've no doubt that his immense passion is his single most valuable quality as a coach.

And I dont think you'll ever see Port's crowds dip to 10 or 15,000. There will be an inevitable drop-off in future, less successful years, but from an avg. crowd of 29,000 to 10,000...minus 65%? Don't think so.

macca23 said:
Agree with the rest of your quote apart from the part highlighted in red.

Brian Cunningham told me a few weeks ago that the current split is 70/ 30 in favour of the Crows. Their ten year plan was to convert that to 60/40.
Apologies if i'm wrong...that was my recollection of a story that appeared in the 'tiser last year about a supporter survey.

Then again...it is was the 'tiser...

I'm consufed. Why the debate?? We all now Chocco is a psycho. It's the unfair criticism of Jenny Williams I find outragous. She's not that ugly. A good hose down, a thorough de-licing, a new pair of tracky bottoms and she could be Miss Paralowie 2005.

BTW Does she bear an uncanny resemblance to Tiny Tim, except, uglier.

Toots Hibbert said:
I think both coaches are doing a good job for their clubs at this stage.
Craig is not in a position to play mind games at this stage and if he has it in him to do so down the track the fact that he has played everything with a straight bat up to now will give him a stronger hand.
Yep, fair call.
Toots Hibbert said:
I really do not understand why so many of you claim Choco is a poor media performer other than wanting to tear down a leading figure in the enemy camp.
Damn! You guessed! :p
Toots Hibbert said:
Mark has come out with some memorable lines in his time, he has managed to get Eddie Everywhere on the back foot on occasion, his gesture with the tie last year is one of the great sporting images of recent times.
Yes, I liked the tie thing and "You Were Wrong!" was right on the money.
Toots Hibbert said:
Not only that but when you concentrate on his bit of niggle re spying and such like
It's just that (IMHO) Choco's not good at being tongue in cheek, his persona is such that when he tries it he just comes across as whingeing.
I admit that he is not helped in this by incompetent newspaper writers and the like, who can't tell the difference and report everything as though it were meant seriously.
Toots Hibbert said:
I think it's a good sign that committed Crows fans want to tear him down. It means he is doing his job.
As are we :)

SpringChoke said:
I'm consufed. Why the debate?? We all now Chocco is a psycho. It's the unfair criticism of Jenny Williams I find outragous. She's not that ugly. A good hose down, a thorough de-licing, a new pair of tracky bottoms and she could be Miss Paralowie 2005.

arrowman said:
Yep, fair call.
Damn! You guessed! :p
Yes, I liked the tie thing and "You Were Wrong!" was right on the money.
It's just that (IMHO) Choco's not good at being tongue in cheek, his persona is such that when he tries it he just comes across as whingeing.
I admit that he is not helped in this by incompetent newspaper writers and the like, who can't tell the difference and report everything as though it were meant seriously.
As are we :)
Agreed.

captain ebert said:
if choco can coach a premiership team, i dont think his PR skills would be all that bad.

perhaps you meant craig had better "media skills"? anyway, who cares? media skills dont win you flags either.

all it does mean is that he'll be a cardboard cut-out at press conferences - able to make the best of the worst situations with all of the classic cliches & you'll be blissfully unaware.

mark williams tells it how it is & you love it.
In today's game a coach has much more responsibility than jnust coaching the team. He is the face of the clubs and fronts up to media more often than any other person in the club. He does after match press conferences, he does radio interview, tv interviews and so on so his media and PR skills have to be up to it.

While I thought Choko's comments on the GF were refreshing (and I would have done the same) it todays business they could be very damaging. Football clubs live and die by sponsorship money and if you lose your major sponsor you are pretty much screwed and thats a fact.

SpringChoke said:

hahaha. :D

Stiffy_18 said:
While I thought Choko's comments on the GF were refreshing (and I would have done the same) it todays business they could be very damaging. Football clubs live and die by sponsorship money and if you lose your major sponsor you are pretty much screwed and thats a fact.

You have to hear todays 'Behind closed doors' on 5aa. Old Blakey, he's the best character on 5aa IMO. Today, lets say he take the pi$$ out of Choco's GF statement (Alan Scott, you were wrong!) just a tad. Worth a listen.

Crowked said:
You have to hear todays 'Behind closed doors' on 5aa. Old Blakey, he's the best character on 5aa IMO. Today, lets say he take the pi$$ out of Choco's GF statement (Alan Scott, you were wrong!) just a tad. Worth a listen.
with Choke-o's gay high pitched voice...........it was a classic....... :D

SpringChoke said:

Pure Gold :D :D :D

Crowked said:
Thanks for the tip. I got to listen to it. Blakey is a classic :D

Stiffy_18 said:
In today's game a coach has much more responsibility than jnust coaching the team. He is the face of the clubs and fronts up to media more often than any other person in the club. He does after match press conferences, he does radio interview, tv interviews and so on so his media and PR skills have to be up to it.

All these back-slapping (formerly back-stabbing) Port supporters who think that Choco isn't an embarrassment to the Port hierarchy away from the footy field should think again.

That smart-arsed comment of Williams on grand final day caused a mountain of grief down the Port, and all but cost it it's major sponsor. Bucky told me that they had to send a 3 man delegation down to see Scott, which he originally refused to see. It then took the 3 of them 2 days of talks to calm him down to the point where he was prepared to continue as a sponsor.

Good one Choco!! :rolleyes:

macca23 said:
All these back-slapping (formerly back-stabbing) Port supporters who think that Choco isn't an embarrassment to the Port hierarchy away from the footy field should think again.

That smart-arsed comment of Williams on grand final day caused a mountain of grief down the Port, and all but cost it it's major sponsor. Bucky told me that they had to send a 3 man delegation down to see Scott, which he originally refused to see. It then took the 3 of them 2 days of talks to calm him down to the point where he was prepared to continue as a sponsor.

Disagree completely

Alan Scott is a tool through and through. His ego knows no bounds.

Port could find alternative sponsorhsip no worries

Mark Wiliams was entirely justified in telling Scott to get back in his box.

Jars458 said:
Disagree completely

Alan Scott is a tool through and through. His ego knows no bounds.

Port could find alternative sponsorhsip no worries

Mark Wiliams was entirely justified in telling Scott to get back in his box.

It's irrelevant that you think that way.

The Port hierarchy didn't. They know that a million and a half a year is pretty hard to come by.

Personally, I don't disagree about your comments on Alan Scott, but a moment of self-gratification for Choco is barely worth a million and a half dollars.

macca23 said:

& they then returned home with a $100k bonus.