Marking Tips.

James_Hutchy

Dec 16, 2008
WA Country Town
So yeah a few years ago I couldn't mark at all it was just impossible for me to take it with one grab, last season my marking got a lot better and during the off season i tried to work on it but now I just can't seem to mark it on the run out infront which is annoying because my kicking/run is good and i can mark standing still but once I'm running it bounces off :S.

a few options:

1 - use flat hands so even if you don't it on the first go, it will fall in front of you and you can grab it on the second attempt

2 - run and jump into which is moe a timing issue

3 - be "strong" in the upper body...tense up when you mark to engage more muscles

I reckon it's just practice. Try marking everything at its highest point and get your body in line with the ball.

yeah being strong helps. Go to your sports store and by a pair of those hand strengthening things you squeez. Use it as intended/advised, also there is another exercise you can do to strengthen your thumbs as you can't clunk marks without your thumbs behind the ball. Hold one of the devices in your hands like a gaming console with index fingers on one side a thumbs on the other and squeeze down with your thumbs, 3 sets of 10 for this, more as you get stronger.

You need to be confident to stretch out and grab it, confident it's not gonna come through and it you in the face.

Technically you need to make sure all your fingers are spread well appart, that means thumbs too. Getting the thumbs behind the footy are important. If you use your palms to get behind the ball it'll bounce out as plams have no give like thumbs. If your thumbs aren't strong enough then rotate your hands so your fingers point more inwards so your fingers go from say pointing upwards to slightly inwards so part of your index finger aswell as thumb gets behing the ball. I recon your hands should always be slightly rotated inwards any way. So the index finger and thumb should be behind the ball while the other fingers wrap around the side of it.

Watch it closely into your hands, get to training early and practice marking on a leed with a partner for your warm up.

I tend to agree with gbatman on getting the thumbs behind the ball. If you can get someone to stand about 10 metres away from you and have them kick the ball to you (stationary for a start) and just practice getting the hands out in front of your eyes. Once you gain some confidence, have him start to drill the ball to you harder and harder to keep building up confidence. After that you can practice on the lead. Again building up to having him drilling it at you. Like it has been said, I think its mainly confidence and practice.

Make sure you do learn how to mark out in front (forwards like lloyd and fevola who are good at marking out in front) because its a great skill to have. Makes me frustrated watching my poor tigers going for chest marks all the time and getting spoiled....

improving marking

hi guys,
ive recently been having problems marking a footy just in general play on my hands, whilst i almost never go for it on my chest it usually hits my hands and just bounces off other forwards or up depending on where its coming from.
thanks,

G'Day all,

Just a couple of questions, I thought it was a relevant thread;

Lately I've been struggling with reading the flight of the long, high ball. I seem to get the hands there but struggle to take these ones out in front (chest mark I am fine), I'm looking at rectifying this issue as I want to get back into footy again next year, and was wondering if there are any specific tips (practise is implied) on how to help judge these kicks.

Another question, does anyone have any tips on body positioning in a contest, i.e how to use the hips/arms when at the front of the fall and when playing from behind.

Much appreciated, Breeno.

G'Day all,

Another question, does anyone have any tips on body positioning in a contest, i.e how to use the hips/arms when at the front of the fall and when playing from behind.

Much appreciated, Breeno.

In one on one contest (e.g where the ball has been bombed forward on top of your heads and its that typical forward/backman scrag) body positioning is the most important. I think the most important thing for these contests is to try and see where the drop zone is going to be and try and protect it from your opponent whilst being able to keep your arms free. Hard to explain but you've got to be able to brace yourself.

I know he was a freak of nature and could take them one-handed and all that, but Gary Ablett Snr was a master at holding out his opponent till the last second then taking the mark.

A guy who was watching me take marks at training other night gave me some good advice after watching me drop a couple.. When running at the ball keep your hands up and out in front of your face (not your body) and your fingertips should be toward the sky (like praying) with your thumbs diagonally across towards other, so your hands form a W of sorts (not necessarily touching)

When the ball falls in there you should get it with an upward motion to keep it out in front and upwards motion will make the ball go up if you dont grab it giving you a 2nd opportunity to grab it..

I was making the mistake of my fingertips pointing outward from my body instead of up, which was pushing the ball down and out instead of up and out.. Simple thing but after he told me that I took a couple really paying attention and noticed immediately the difference in control..

A guy who was watching me take marks at training other night gave me some good advice after watching me drop a couple.. When running at the ball keep your hands up and out in front of your face (not your body) and your fingertips should be toward the sky (like praying) with your thumbs diagonally across towards other, so your hands form a W of sorts (not necessarily touching)

When the ball falls in there you should get it with an upward motion to keep it out in front and upwards motion will make the ball go up if you dont grab it giving you a 2nd opportunity to grab it..

I was making the mistake of my fingertips pointing outward from my body instead of up, which was pushing the ball down and out instead of up and out.. Simple thing but after he told me that I took a couple really paying attention and noticed immediately the difference in control..

Thanks a lot for that sounds like it will help me a lot, will try it tonight at training. I'v been pointing my fingrs and thumbs outwards not up and diagonal.

Its all just a confidence thing - anyone can catch!

I find that when Im out of sorts, struggling or just not in form, I tell myself its just a confidence thing. I then turn up to training, and go all session, backing myself in - full stretch, full leap - every ball I receive. Whilst you might drop a few, I find that once you latch onto a couple, your confidence just grows instantly. Keep doing it (even if your dropping it) and eventually it will come. Its all in the confidence.

Works a charm for me anyway.

Marking Tips.