Mars = Crazy John gimmick

Lmao at the cheap publicity stunt Mars pulled, cost them zip it did to come out and say on national TV & papers .."Hey, we'll be the foundation sponsor at 4mn for the Tassie tilt at the next AFL license", REAL big of them...what next, sponsor idy to cross the English channel doing the butterfly:eek:...If they had any principles at all they'd come out and lay it on the Tiges..what better exposure can you get...pffft, may actually cost them some folding stuff:rolleyes:

I definately took the cynical angle on this one too Bo. What are the serious chances of Tassie gettings its own team (i.e. not a relocated Melbourne club). I wonder what the conditions of this are, ie will they still back up the dump truck full of money if a Melbourne club gets relocated there...

Lmao at the cheap publicity stunt Mars pulled, cost them zip it did to come out and say on national TV & papers .."Hey, we'll be the foundation sponsor at 4mn for the Tassie tilt at the next AFL license", REAL big of them...what next, sponsor idy to cross the English channel doing the butterfly:eek:...If they had any principles at all they'd come out and lay it on the Tiges..what better exposure can you get...pffft, may actually cost them some folding stuff:rolleyes:

Lol, yeah.

Not taking a bar (;)) if it.

Significant media exposure however for a company that will most likely not have to had over much of the promised 4million because let's face it, Tassie are not going to get an AFL team for a while if ever and if we did it would fall apart in 2-3 years over fights between the North and South where it all becomes about anyone but the players amd the footy department, the foundations fall apart, all that is left are the ashes.

Not that I think the West Sydney team is going to go much better . . .

I think you'll find they were just putting their support behind a Tassie team. One of the other teams may very well end up with the deal.

Not that I think the West Sydney team is going to go much better . . .

West Sydney is a guaranteed disaster...the AFL are nuts..even if League died...(and I've got a feeling we're witnessing the beginning of the end for the NRL) they'll still be at the back of the queue behind Union & Soccer for the hearts & minds.....total money pit....:thumbsd:

I think you'll find they were just putting their support behind a Tassie team. One of the other teams may very well end up with the deal.

Exactly, which is what makes offering so much money for the potential sponsoring of in the hope to get maximum exposure for the brand, genius.

The likelihood of a Tassie team in the next 5 years? **** all. Ever? Slight.

So it's basically free exposure to Mars who are unlikely to ever have to hand it over and I'm pretty confident they know that.

Smart marketing, buggers. :thumbsu: ;)

Exactly, which is what makes offering so much money for the potential sponsoring of in the hope to get maximum exposure for the brand, genius.

The likelihood of a Tassie team in the next 5 years? **** all. Ever? Slight.

So it's basically free exposure to Mars who are unlikely to ever have to hand it over and I'm pretty confident they know that.

Smart marketing, buggers. :thumbsu: ;)

thats why I say, Crazy John type stuff

Hopefully it was just designed to demonstrate that sponsorship isnt an issue but I would never expect it to be in a national competition. There is some idiotic idea in some quarters that sponsors would have to be Tasmanian like Hungry Jacks are only sold in WA! lmao Phoenix is right, state parochialism will kill it long before the AFL has to.

Do you think it's somewhat partly due to Cadbury Schweppes failing to put forward their proposal?

Seeing as the main factory is in Hobart, you would have thought they would be inside running for a relatively major sponsorship.

Do you think it's somewhat partly due to Cadbury Schweppes failing to put forward their proposal?

Seeing as the main factory is in Hobart, you would have thought they would be inside running for a relatively major sponsorship.

Cadbury's are like a lot of large organisations who do not wish to disenfranchise people that use their product but who barrack for different teams, hence they sponsor competitions not individual teams a la Telstra

i reckon that excuse is a bit lame TBH TT, not everyone is like me and deliberately avoids anything linked to Collingwood:p

As per top 2 team hatred:

Note to self: Never Fly Emirates, Never deal with Wizard, Never buy a Hyundai and Never deal with Optus. :p

I'm the same Bo but I know its how the marketing dufus's operate. Quite a lot of big firms do the same, Qantas, Telstra etc. I couldnt imagine not taking a cheap fare because of who they sponsor but obviously so can.