Kenny_01

Some of the Freo supporters carrying on like getting Tarrant would be a disgrace/disaster and suggesting we would again be a laughing stock need to pull their heads in a little bit.

Disagreeing with the Tarrant trade is one thing, but some are going completely over the top.

As I said, the match comittee including Connolly, Schwab, Mark Harvey and Phil Smart know who we would likely pick up at pick 13 and they know what Tarrant can offer the club.

They know it is a calculated risk and they feel it is worth it in order to help us win a premiership. They obviously also feel this is a deep draft like 1999 where there are plenty of gems later on in the draft. They know all the facts, we don't.

So even if you disagree with the match comittee's decision to pursue Tarrant, no need to carry on about it like it is the end of the world, and a little bit of faith in our new and improved match comittee wouldn't hurt either.

Tarrant would be an excellent pick up at the right price. I dont think anyone is doubting that.
The concern is being taken to the cleaners for him.
Dont forget coaches have a career to protect as well...

sabre_ac said:
Tarrant would be an excellent pick up at the right price. I dont think anyone is doubting that.

Mate there's a panel of experts dealing with this. I'm sure they are more capable than us nerds at making these decisions!

sabre_ac said:

Do you honestly think after all Connolly has done, he is doing this to protect his career? It's actually a risk and putting his career on the line. He actually cares about our football club and his personal agenda is always 2nd.

How is this move in any way helping protect Mark Harvey's career?

Kenny_01 said:
Do you honestly think after all Connolly has done, he is doing this to protect his career? It's actually a risk and putting his career on the line. He actually cares about our football club and his personal agenda is always 2nd.

Your speculation has about as much basis as my own.
Neither of us really know.

Though excellent job in addressing my other points.

Are you happy to follow blindly like we have for the past decade and a half?

As I said we have in the past handed over too much for players, people followed blindly then.

Ultimately we wont know how much is paid untill the deal is done. But I cant see how you can sit easy and not feel nervous considering some of our trading blunders in the past.

If we can get tarrant and still have a first round pick (How ever that happens). I will be happy

sabre_ac said:

As I said we have in the past handed over too much for players, people followed blindly then.

Ultimately we wont know how much is paid untill the deal is done. But I cant see how you can sit easy and not feel nervous considering some of our trading blunders in the past.

If we can get tarrant and still have a first round pick (How ever that happens). I will be happy

I'm sorry you are just not going to get a player like Tarrant without giving up a first round pick.

Lets look at it from the other perspective, say Hase wanted to be traded and several clubs were looking at him would we accept anything less than a first round pick? (I would want more) The guy is an All Australian player and has had a bad run with injuries over the last 2 years yet you would never find any freo fan who would give him up for anything less than a first round pick.

Hell jordo would want 5 first round picks :D

I have it on good authority that a deal to secure Tarrant is being finalised right now. Looks like our pick 13 to Richmond with Polly and their pick 8 to Collingwood.

sabre_ac said:

You didn't have any other points, all you mentioned was your concern was being taken to the cleaners.

We handed over too much for Croad, but that was before Connolly and now Harvey have taken over.

Connolly in his first season gave up #5 and #21 (later #3 and #19) for Headland. Everyone thought this was too much. Jared Brennan was the likely target with #3 and where is he now? Not getting a game in a depleted Brisbane outfit. The same year we gave up Leigh Brown and got #15 (later #13) and got Scahmmer. Where is Brown now? Struggling to get a game at the Roos. So you think we won out there trading for a big name, despite all the media hype that we lost out.

We also traded Adam McPhee who wanted to leave and got Ryan Crowley. A fair result there, even though Crowley took time to come on and was rookie listed after a disappointing start.

The season after, we traded Steven Koops for the pick that got us David Mundy. Another big win. We traded Croad back for #10, Ryley Dunn. We probably lost out there but cannot always win. We made up for it by drafting Ryan Murphy with our next pick though.

The year after, we traded our first 3 picks for Josh Carr. Are any of these picks going to turn into quality footballers? Who knows, but Josh has been awesome for us. So no loss here.

So since Connolly has taken over, we have won a few and lost a few... but generally I think we are up which has made our list stronger than it has ever been. What big blunders has Connolly made since taking over?

Connolly now is more experienced and wiser, and Harvey is on board after long serving as apprentice to the master of trading, Kevin Sheedy. I am more than confident they will do a good job.

sabre_ac said:

Geez Sabre, you are starting to sound like the wehavethegrizzle mob. What's with all the "following blindly" rhetoric. We are supporters, not shareholders as some crackpots would make you believe, and our only choice is to follow/support them or jump ship.

Our lot is to take the good with the bad, and lately at the trade table it has been predominantly good. If you don't trust those in charge of the club then fine, but to suggest that others have been "fooled" into trusting them is a bit rich.

Roundhouse said:
Geez Sabre, you are starting to sound like the wehavethegrizzle mob. What's with all the "following blindly" rhetoric. We are supporters, not shareholders as some crackpots would make you believe, and our only choice is to follow/support them or jump ship.

Our lot is to take the good with the bad, and lately at the trade table it has been predominantly good. If you don't trust those in charge of the club then fine, but to suggest that others have been "fooled" into trusting them is a bit rich.

Are you sure we aren't related :p

Kenny_01 said:
Some of the Freo supporters carrying on like getting Tarrant would be a disgrace/disaster and suggesting we would again be a laughing stock need to pull their heads in a little bit.

Disagreeing with the Tarrant trade is one thing, but some are going completely over the top.

As I said, the match comittee including Connolly, Schwab, Mark Harvey and Phil Smart know who we would likely pick up at pick 13 and they know what Tarrant can offer the club.

They know it is a calculated risk and they feel it is worth it in order to help us win a premiership. They obviously also feel this is a deep draft like 1999 where there are plenty of gems later on in the draft. They know all the facts, we don't.

So even if you disagree with the match comittee's decision to pursue Tarrant, no need to carry on about it like it is the end of the world, and a little bit of faith in our new and improved match comittee wouldn't hurt either.

I'm not saying it would be a disaster but it will certainly be short term thinking. Good luck with us competing with Hawthorn and the Bulldogs when we have a hole in our list due to lack of 20 and 21 year olds.

By the way I dont know if I make the El Negativo list....but it aint a crime to have an alternative opinion - bringing in a 26 year old at the expense of a top 8 17 year old is a risk.

My main problem with Taz is that he does not seem keen to come here and has been a problem off the field this year so giving up effectively our 1st round pick, Polak and a player is way over the odds (especially if it is Crowley or Schammer). Also his best footy was in 2003 not 2006 - so its a risk, like the draft - Taz is not a guaranteed solution.

Would I,like Taz in our team - absolutley at the right price. The best thing about Taz in is we can certainly afford Luke McPharlin in the backline.

Plus if I cant question the Docker Overlords of decision making on Bigfooty - where can I do it.

Get Tarrant and Solomon by all means but do not pay over the market value.

Personally - I'd never trade a first rounder, and if I had to it would be a deadset blockbuster....Taz dont fit that description.

Wisbey on this years draft -
"This year, every club would be excited about the full first round options, and fairly excited about half of round 2.
The same pick number in different years can have wildly different perceived value going into the draft. Removing hindsight I'd rather have, say, pick 8 or 9 in this year's draft than pick 1 or 2 in last year's."

Geelong thought they were close and got Ottens - how did that go for them? Underestimate where you are at and you pay a large price for it. Get Taz but not at the cost of a first rounder, Polly and perhaps a solid player ....tooooooo much.

Upgrade 13 for 8 with Polly take best available ...Drum was a top 10 pick so for every what about Riley Dunn comment I hear - think Drum....we are giving up a quality player (not guaranteed but I bet Taz dont come with a written guarantee either). Pick 8 could get us a Jack Reiwoldt/Proud type or who knows a gem may fall - if a Gumbleton goes to C'wood (yes unlikely) at Pick 8 we have paid a massive price indeed.

The Moo man says it must be an Ian Turpie/Larry Emdur deal ......The Price Must Be Right.

Guys
Where all on the same side here.
I am just cautious about the trade, like I said I would love to get Tarrant as long as we still have a first round draft pick.
So whether that means trading 2nd round picks/Polak and Medhurst so be it.

Our biggest concern our midfield hasnt bee addressed, unlike many of you I dont believe that there is enough development in the current squad to become a toped ranked midfield.
Sandilands will go a long way to filling the void, but I think we are still short.

The talk about getting Solomon to Lure Tarrant better be bull**** though, this guy we definitely have no need for.

Either way bring on 2007.

Kenny_01 said:

This time of the eyar Cam is salivating. He loves doing the deal(s) which may on may not always be in our best interests.
Cam did the Croad deal giving up chosing hodgeor ball or judd

For croady and elvis(who spent half of 2002 and 2003 injured)
Croady went back at end of 2003 for pick 10 which we used to get Dunn
Still waiting to get Dunn to string a couple of game stogether at Wafl level.
Elvis is still to really grab the game by the scruff of the the neck
Then there is the DJ deal enough said

Now we have the tarant deal . Is he really worth it or is it just doing the "deal"

I reckon if most teams knew that a certain player was DEFINATELY going to be as good as tarrant, then they would lock away a 1st round pick and grab him. I mean some 1st rounders are total duds.

funkyfreo said:
I reckon if most teams knew that a certain player was DEFINATELY going to be as good as tarrant, then they would lock away a 1st round pick and grab him. I mean some 1st rounders are total duds.

....and some 26 year olds never reach the heights they did a few years earlier.

PS Kenny I'm going to kick your bum in the fanstasy NBA league to prove I know the value of a first round pick :D

Moo said:
....and some 26 year olds never reach the heights they did a few years earlier.
Absolutely - it is a lottery and you take your chances where you think they will work.

Moo said:
I'm not saying it would be a disaster but it will certainly be short term thinking. Good luck with us competing with Hawthorn and the Bulldogs when we have a hole in our list due to lack of 20 and 21 year olds.

By the way I dont know if I make the El Negativo list....but it aint a crime to have an alternative opinion - bringing in a 26 year old at the expense of a top 8 17 year old is a risk.

My main problem with Taz is that he does not seem keen to come here and has been a problem off the field this year so giving up effectively our 1st round pick, Polak and a player is way over the odds (especially if it is Crowley or Schammer). Also his best footy was in 2003 not 2006 - so its a risk, like the draft - Taz is not a guaranteed solution.

Would I,like Taz in our team - absolutley at the right price. The best thing about Taz in is we can certainly afford Luke McPharlin in the backline.

Plus if I cant question the Docker Overlords of decision making on Bigfooty - where can I do it.

Get Tarrant and Solomon by all means but do not pay over the market value.

Personally - I'd never trade a first rounder, and if I had to it would be a deadset blockbuster....Taz dont fit that description.

Wisbey on this years draft -
"This year, every club would be excited about the full first round options, and fairly excited about half of round 2.
The same pick number in different years can have wildly different perceived value going into the draft. Removing hindsight I'd rather have, say, pick 8 or 9 in this year's draft than pick 1 or 2 in last year's."

Geelong thought they were close and got Ottens - how did that go for them? Underestimate where you are at and you pay a large price for it. Get Taz but not at the cost of a first rounder, Polly and perhaps a solid player ....tooooooo much.

Upgrade 13 for 8 with Polly take best available ...Drum was a top 10 pick so for every what about Riley Dunn comment I hear - think Drum....we are giving up a quality player (not guaranteed but I bet Taz dont come with a written guarantee either). Pick 8 could get us a Jack Reiwoldt/Proud type or who knows a gem may fall - if a Gumbleton goes to C'wood (yes unlikely) at Pick 8 we have paid a massive price indeed.

The Moo man says it must be an Ian Turpie/Larry Emdur deal ......The Price Must Be Right.

As I said in the other thread Moo, all valid points. I wasn't trying to insinuate that we should all be of the same opinion, but rather we should acknowledge that our trading record since Connolly has taken over has been ok so there is no need to be all doom and gloom if the trade went through, even if you are against the trade.

I'm sure in the future I will be against a couple of trades too but that doesn't mean I won't be backing in the match comittee 100% because trades won't always work out and it is 50/50 whether you lose/win it. The club is taking a calculated gamble so it might work out, it might not. But in the end, I realise that the club who see the players everyday and monitor our gamestyle and analyse the 18yr olds to death over many years have a better idea than we do so I am happy putting my faith in them... especially since we now have a very competant match comittee with no outside agenda. So I might be personally against a trade but I will still support it or atleast be confident that it was done in the best interests of our club. If we all agreed on everything, it would be a boring world.