Matty White

Man U, Storm, Victory
I am amazed nobody on here has really talked this kid up. I think he has had a great season and with another pre-season under his belt could well find himself in the starting 22.

Anyone else think he can take the next step and become a regular in our midfield group for 09?

Already in our best 22.

It's players like him in our 10-22 best players that will take us to a flag, not just the core group of Lids/Cotch/Foley.

That's why it's important to keep your White/Edwards/Polo/Connors type of players instead of trading a heap of them for Kerr!

I am amazed nobody on here has really talked this kid up. I think he has had a great season and with another pre-season under his belt could well find himself in the starting 22.

Anyone else think he can take the next step and become a regular in our midfield group for 09?

THINK quite a lot of people talk him up .. Bojangles, IDGAF, others....!

A big wrap for this kid. Came on leaps and bounds in 2008 and easily in our best 18 these days.

Maybe it's just the number 35, but I see a bit of Robert Harvey in him when he gets moving with the ball.

should be shopping around to see if they can trade him for something. did some nice things but hardly set the world on fire, seem pretty unaccountable and struggles most of the time.

honestly pal, you wouldnt know if your ass was on fire, he's 21 , had a breakout year started regularly knocking up 15-20 possies a game, has pace to burn, nice penetrating kick and courageous...If he can lift further and reg get 20+ possies he will be a sensational player...I like the Boy:thumbsu:

You beat me to it on this one. I have been regularly impressed with Matty White for most of his matches this year. In fact, I am trying to remember when he HASN'T been in the 22 in 2008?

Been one of my favourite kids to have come on well this year. Trade Schmade!!! What a crap idea. He is the bright future of the tiges.

Has definately had his best year so far and I was never a fan of his.
Always thought he rushed himself into everything and his disposal by foot is not good.
He has improved this year and if he can improve his kicking over the pre season he should entrench himself in our best 22. At the moment, I wouldn't say he's a certain starter yet.
I like his tackling and attack on the ball, but he seems to play a bit too deep in the forward line for my liking.

Ok... here's my take on Whitey. Love the guy and have been amazed at his progression. Has spirit and he is one of the rare few that when its his "time to go", he puts his body on the line for the team.

The best sides of the last decade, Geelong and Brisbane (my opinion only), have had one thing that the rest of the comp havent. And its EVERYONE, EVERY WEEK, doing what it takes for the good of the team. Now that could be any of the following:

- sacrificing your own game, for the good of the team
- sacrificing your body for the good of the team
- persisting when things look lost
- improving and driving forward when games are in the bag

Matty White is one of the only blokes on our list that to me, shows these abilities, selfless deeds and honours the jumper the way it should. He isnt in the top 15 on our list and l dare say that he may never be (with additional talent always being introduced), but he puts the club first and warrants selection on talent. And to me... thats the first bloke l select EVERY WEEK.

Too many other blokes dont do the above and they may be 10000% more talented. But they can go to hell, because that aint going to win you a flag. Blokes like Travis Johnstone, Daniel Wells, Nick Stevens, Chris Tarrant, Justin Koschitzke and Co will NEVER be premiership players, because they only care about one thing. Themselves. ;)

Matty White may never become a premiership player, but he's the kind of bloke that everyone will always be overlooked at the star of the premiership team, but will hopefully always be remembered at the glue that got the team to flag.

Nothing but pure respect for these players. I hope he gets what he deserves - a long, fulfilling and very successful career as a Richmond Premiership Player.

:thumbsu:

Matt White to become apart of our side going forward needs to work on these things:

- composure with the footy. He tends to run like mad and not settle himself before he kicks, which often results in his kicks missing the target.

- build up his body further to be able to take on the big boys in the midfield.

- disposal skills when under pressure.

Played pretty well this year as a defensive forward with spurts on the wing. Needs to take his game up to the next level.

I feel a bit bad because i hated him last year, but he has continued to impress, very courageous and confident man, hopefulyl can improve his fitness and can spend longer stints in the midfield. Deserves alot of recognition for this season because he has kicked goals in pressure situations and taken the game on when needed to.

you weren't that **** that was quite derogitary about him were you?,,,Hate is a very strong word and should be directed anywhere but tigers that fail to make the cut

Reckon he's a gun. Everyone craps on about his poor disposal by foot, has anyone watched Axel this year? some of his helicopter kicks would even spin Richo's head around.

Just wish TW and co would settle him in one position, he's either part of the midfield rotation, defensive small forward or back pocket. Seems to be thrown all around the place this year.

For some unknown reason i managed to watch a lot of Tigers games on tv this (foxtel i guess) and White is one of the players that has really stood out this year.
I can't believe he doesn't get the love on this board that i think he deserves. I keep reading that his disposal is crap but i honestly disagree, it's hard to kick perfectly when you run that bloody fast. He lays one of the best tackles going around, especially for his size.
He is the type of player every club needs. Always gives 100% and looks like he loves playing the game so much he would do anything to continue his career. Great pick up for you guys as it is these GOP that really define a team.
Anyway thats just an opinion of a SAINTS man, you can read it and know that others think he has what it takes or you can just tell me to piss off. Either way i got my point across.

BTW glad you guys were better than Carlton this year had $300 bet with mate a work.

Cheers