RacerX

Fremantle Dockers
The derby was not all doom and gloom, what about the form of McManus and Longmuir?

For McM to get pole-axed by wirrpunda get up then kick that goal was sensational. His form for the rest of the match was pretty bloody good too. I thought longmuir showed great form in the ruck and was much more effective than Mods up front (for the short time he was there).

Bandy, however, drives me nuts! He could have spoilt wilson easily at one stage but was too scared to put his body on the line,grrrr. He did a few good things then missed two scoring opportunities by trying to baulk the man on the mark. Perhaps he regressed to the Neesham era?

One glaring problem though, our midfield is woefully slow and not interested in manning up. I also question Modra's form at the moment.

Mc Manuse was extremely couragous last sat night.But he is no captain, unless he is getting knocked out, he isnt doing the inspirational stuff.
In my opinion bell should be given the captaincy next year with Black is co captain.

Bandy on the other hand should have been traded last year, and has to be traded this year.

Originally posted by RacerX:
The derby was not all doom and gloom, what about the form of McManus and Longmuir?

For McM to get pole-axed by wirrpunda get up then kick that goal was sensational. His form for the rest of the match was pretty bloody good too. I thought longmuir showed great form in the ruck and was much more effective than Mods up front (for the short time he was there).

Bandy, however, drives me nuts! He could have spoilt wilson easily at one stage but was too scared to put his body on the line,grrrr. He did a few good things then missed two scoring opportunities by trying to baulk the man on the mark. Perhaps he regressed to the Neesham era?

One glaring problem though, our midfield is woefully slow and not interested in manning up. I also question Modra's form at the moment.

mcmanus's was great and longmuir were great DB stuffed up bad on some occasions were we could have gotten a goal

however our midfield isnt slow they have some speed manning up they do struggle with though and modra i'd say will get his form back

wat i am pissed with is Black an Metro
their stupidity in 2 important moments cost us 2 goals

I do agree that McManus and Fletcher are the two worst captains in the league. They are in no way inspirational and are not the best of leaders. Unlike Cousins who really stood up as our captain and led us to victory over the Shockers with 10 possesions and 2 captains goals in the last quarter.

The guy i think that should captain your club is CCCLLIIVVEE. He is the only player that gives you guys a spark and is always a livewire. Haselby to be his deputy, i saw one game last year when he got hit hard vomited on the field and then just ran off to join in the action again. Now thats dedication!!

Originally posted by jod23:
I do agree that McManus and Fletcher are the two worst captains in the league. They are in no way inspirational and are not the best of leaders. Unlike Cousins who really stood up as our captain and led us to victory over the Shockers with 10 possesions and 2 captains goals in the last quarter.

The guy i think that should captain your club is CCCLLIIVVEE. He is the only player that gives you guys a spark and is always a livewire. Haselby to be his deputy, i saw one game last year when he got hit hard vomited on the field and then just ran off to join in the action again. Now thats dedication!!

Jod you were at the game and must have seen a player called haselby.
And you must have whitenesssed his second to none ability to read the play,work well in tight situtations and his strong marking overhead.
A few times on sat night he did some inspirational plays.You must admit that he is a potential captain of hte dockers.

I agree too young at the moment but defintely like cousins will take the job at a very young age.

Originally posted by sabre_ac:

Jod you were at the game and must have seen a player called haselby.
And you must have whitenesssed his second to none ability to read the play,work well in tight situtations and his strong marking overhead.
A few times on sat night he did some inspirational plays.You must admit that he is a potential captain of hte dockers.

I agree too young at the moment but defintely like cousins will take the job at a very young age.

Hasselby has got a lot of potential, just like around 20~30 others in the AFL of his age. He could be a top player, on the other hand he could fade like many other top prospects have in the past.
You're just putting him on an unrealistic pedestal, Sabre. I hope others don't or the pressure will crucify him. Try being a bit more realistic. It's only you're bull that is getting the negative reactions for Freo.

Oh, and I agree with whoever posted that Waterhouse was the best captaincy prospect. He has the ability to lift the side.

I think Haselby will be captain but next year the dockers should change it up with Waterhouse taking the captaincy and Bell and Haselby as deputys. It has to be done as you really have no leader??

Originally posted by Frodo:
Hasselby has got a lot of potential, just like around 20~30 others in the AFL of his age. He could be a top player, on the other hand he could fade like many other top prospects have in the past.
You're just putting him on an unrealistic pedestal, Sabre. I hope others don't or the pressure will crucify him. Try being a bit more realistic. It's only you're bull that is getting the negative reactions for Freo.

Oh, and I agree with whoever posted that Waterhouse was the best captaincy prospect. He has the ability to lift the side.

Frodo you of all people should know what is like to have to stick up for your club and talk its chances up.At the beggining of the season your team was being written off left right and center by eveyone, and you didnt lie down and take it, nor did any other eagle supporter.

And nor am i going to lie down it and take it.That said the only people really crucifing freo are a few eagles supporters led by your mainly and one certain port supporter.

I personally believe your team is not on a higher level than that of freo's.
Currently you have very little to crow about.

And I doubt you can name one young mid fielder bar simon black in the same league as haselby.

hasleby is certainly captain material but not next season or the season after he is only 19 years old thats worse than putting a 23 24 year old (i forgot how old cousins is even though cousins is doing a good job at the moment )
let hasleby's career get a bit further on before saying he should be captain
waterhouse on the other hand is deffinate captain material he lifts the team when we are down and he is deffinately missed when he is off

I have to strongly disagree with you guys about Cuz's captaincy ability.

Firstly, I don't reckon the Cuz would go near the sort of ball that got Mcmanus crunched in the last derby. He would have taken his eyes off the ball for sure.

Secondly, he doesn't appear to be comfortable talking to large groups of people. Every time I see him interviewed its as if they carved him out of pine and wacked a laquer over him.

Lastly, I don't think the players or opposition players respect him as much as captain should be respected. They probably look at him as a bit of a pretty boy.

Oh yeah, anyone who reckons clive should be captain is a dead set idiot!

[This message has been edited by RacerX (edited 27 April 2001).]

RacerX - keep your jealousy to yourself mate. Just cos your captains suck no reason to take it out on Cuz. Anyway he is flourishing his role as captain and is playing his best footy of his career. Dont be jealous Racer you've got Bell ...... ahahahahahahahahahahahahah.