McPhaaaarrrlllliiiiinnnnnn!!!!!

Should have had 7 goals. Farmer took his first one, missed 2 in the 3rd. Also delivery dried up in the third term and he was off for much of the fourth in that injury scare. Thank god it wasnt serious, I thought for a moment he'd broken his jaw.

Can't you just be happy for once, Sabre? This is the best we have played in years! :D Farmer kicked 7 goals fer chrissakes. I see the move of McPharlin forward as the gamble of a desperate coach, and he hit the jackpot. Not that I don't think McPharlin can play forward-clearly he can-but perhaps we need Haddril and Polak back first, hmmm? Conceded 129 points today.

This is the kind of win you remember for years. :cool:

RIPPER_46 said:
:rolleyes:

Sabre the reason it worked so so well is that it was from way way way out of left field.

Maybe to Conolly.
Though to the rest of the football world it was blatantly obvious.
What other side would play the best arialist in the competition down back?

sabre_ac said:
Maybe to Conolly.
Though to the rest of the football world it was blatantly obvious.
What other side would play the best arialist in the competition down back?

Most would. McPharlin is a natural defender and long term will be a defender.

In fact the last and only other time I remember seeing McPharlin forward was against Melbourne last year. He kicked 3 and looked good. It's not going to be an every week thing; CC choose to do this today because:

1. Tall forwards seem to prosper at the MCG

2. Melbourne's defence is shyte.

3. We kicked 52 points here 2 week ago.

So we needed goals. Big gamble to play McPharlin up there when our defence is stretched with the losses of Haddrill and Polak. Turned the game into a shootout. Lucky we kicked straight.

Yes, McPharlin is one of the best marks in the comp, and in time he may become a gun forward, but the best teams are built on the foundation of a solid defence, and I don't call conceding 129 points solid. Expect to see McP down back next week, unless Haddril is back.

Yep, especially with Rocca out.

Parker will adequatley cover Tarrant.

Haddrill should return this week aswell

pinkus maximus said:
Haddrill should return this week aswell

Did anyone see how Haddrill went? Wasn't really watching it while listening to the Mighty Ducks thump Claremont. Two great wins in one day!

Luckily for me I've just got back from going out for a few beers in Melbourne after that bloody ripper of a game!! Went to the game last week vs Carlton and decided to come over to see the family and catch the dockers game this weekend! God I'm glad I did, surrounded by snooty Melbourne supporters who just bagged their own players and glared at me whenever I yelled too loudly for the dockers! Oh it was the sweetest thing ever!

Sitting right there when Farmer casually strolled in, took a look at all the Melbourne players as if to say "You think I should drop kick it, push it through with my foot or give it a bit of a roost??" and then sneeringly kicked it through the sticks! God he nearly had the Melbourne supporters foaming champagne at the mouth! You gotta love him!

And our new twin towers! The mighty Pav and the spring heeled McPharlin will hopefully continue to tear down screamers or simply drop the pill into the laps of the Wiz and Medders! And I've gotta mention Grover, I know we had a lot of other players that played brilliantly but he seemed to be all over the place and played the best game I've seen from him ever! Well done!!

Ok I'll stop bragging now, head home on Monday and will go to subi on the weekend and watch us flog the woods!!

On Ya Freo!!! :) Thanks for making my trip to Vic one to remember!

Balip said:
Did anyone see how Haddrill went? Wasn't really watching it while listening to the Mighty Ducks thump Claremont. Two great wins in one day!

Haddrill didn't play but should be good for next weeks game!! :)

Kenny_01 said:
Most would. McPharlin is a natural defender and long term will be a defender.

I don't agree at all. He played most of his junior footy in the forward line and played there quite a bit in his days at the hawks. His his one and only colts match for EF he kicked 7 goals in a half of footy. I have thought that he was always a natural forward. The times he has played forward against Melbourne (x2) and Richmond he has looked the goods. I think the main problem has been our lack of options in the backline and the weakness of our midfield in the past. McPharlin would only be effective if the ball is getting up to FF. In the past our midfield has been weak meaning that we really rely on his good marking and rebound from defense to set up play. When Hadrill and Polak come back into the team I would really like to see McPharlin stay up forward. I think that he is a better longterm prospect than Polak in the forward line. I feel that he is a better kick for goal and has a bigger body size.

He would be awesome at either end of the field, but ideally I would like to see him given more starts in the forward line, at least until we can see how he would go against guys like Michael and Scarlett.

If only Eagles had a FF, CHF combination as good as Pavlich and McPharlin there would be no stopping us.

Oh and Polak is the games biggest hack. Polhack as I have dubbed him. Sorry, had to throw that in, my post was looking too positive to be coming from a West Coast supporter. :p

He took some fantastic marks in the first quarter. They should give him the car on those alone.

Wouldnt the easy option(and looks to be the best) be:

FB: Haddrill
CHB: Polak
C: Haselby
CHF: Pavlich
FF: McPharlin

?

F/D said:
Wouldnt the easy option(and looks to be the best) be:

FB: Haddrill
CHB: Polak
C: Haselby
CHF: Pavlich
FF: McPharlin

?
looks good. The good thing about having Mcpharlin playing out of goal square is it brings farmer into the game. Just like when farmer was back at meblourne, he had number of players taking contested marks in the goal square

Balip said:

After watching the Ducks through the 70's, the Dockers are hopefully mirroring them (3 cups in a row?).

What a day.