sbagman

Fitzroy
Hi everyone,

On my recent trip to Melbourne, as usual my mum cooked up a feast, but this one was kinda different. One dish was a kangaroo stirfry, which was from a roo my brother had shot; the other was home made gnocchi with a wild duck sauce, which, you guessed it, my brother had shot.

Now, I am really interested in food and cooking, but I used to be a very fussy eater. As a consequence, I have to force myself to try new cuts of meat (ie offal) and meat from different animals. Sadly, I simply don't have the stomach to eat weird meat.

What I wanted to know was... what meat have you eaten? What would you never touch? Have you ever eaten brain, kidney, tongue, etc etc etc.... eaten emu or croc or anything really unusual?

Just so as you know, I'm already expecting all the "eat the meat" jokes, so there. :p

Sbagman.

Brain - yes
Kidney - yes
Liver - yes

How about these ?

Jellyfish (is that a meat ?) - yes
Duck's Tongue - yes
Frog (whole frog not legs) - yes...steamed in fact
Turtle - yes
Croc - yes
Roo - yes
Goanna (trying to plat her puss ?) - yes
Grubs (live witchity variety) - yes
Sting Rays

sawa show on telly with a Thai guy eating ****roaches.....not for me thanks.

ptw

That's impressive, ptw.... a WHOLE STEAMED FROG??? May I ask where you tried all these things? And what was your reaction to them? Did you know what you were eating? Did you have to overcome a gag reflex?

Frog, Jellyfish & Ducks Tongue I have eaten since living in Malaysia. Some of them at corporate lunches so vomitting or gagging, pointing or other such gestures are not really appropriate.

The Frog ?

I knew what it was as I picked it from the menu. It was in chinese but they thoughtfully had pictures next to the items so that helped. I didn't gag but I don't think I would do it again.

The local specialty is Fish Head Curry which I eat often. The guy at the market loves me becuase I buy a Schnapper to put in the weber and I let him keep the head. I pay about RM20 (AUD10) for the fish and he sells the head for RM30 !!!!

ptw

Originally posted by sbagman

One dish was a kangaroo stirfry, which was from a roo my brother had shot; the other was home made gnocchi with a wild duck sauce, which, you guessed it, my brother had shot.

Now, I am really interested in food and cooking, but I used to be a very fussy eater. As a consequence, I have to force myself to try new cuts of meat (ie offal) and meat from different animals. Sadly, I simply don't have the stomach to eat weird meat.

What I wanted to know was... what meat have you eaten? What would you never touch? Have you ever eaten brain, kidney, tongue, etc etc etc.... eaten emu or croc or anything really unusual?

MMmmmmmm, fffooooooooooooddddddd, mmmmeeeeaaatttt...

I can see myself writing a very long post here but I will try and keep it as short as possible. I am stuck deciding what I like to talk about more, footy or food??? maybe a dead heat for first place?

Anyways, on to the food... get the munchies ready you will be hungry at the end of this post :D

Lets get what people refer to as the icky bit over with first... offal

I have tried Lamb's brains but won't be eating them again... the texture put me off... there was nothing really wrong with the taste but the slimy texture was off putting.

Kidneys, well to me they smell like p*ss (surprise, surprise) so when I was fed them once I wasn't too keen... won't be going near that stuff.

Liver, now chicken liver I don't mind so long as it isn't over cooked and so it ends up dry... very nice done in a pan with lots of onion in a seeded-mustard type sauce. Just remember when preparing your liver in the cleaning make sure you remove the gall bladder, it is as bitter as so will ruin good liver. It is a small little green-ish thing that you find hanging off the liver if the butcher doesn't remove it - they usually do. For the record, Goose liver is much more tender than chicken liver but it is hard to get fresh goose liver here in Sydney anyways so it can be kinda dry if not fresh.

Chicken feet, well they are all chickenskin and bones... and I don't like chicken skin boiled (i.e. chicken feet can be found in some chinese soups)

Heart, I have tried pork heart soup... and well because heart is a muscle and therefore it is kinda chewy, taste is ok though.

My favourite cut of meat is Scotch Fillet. mmmmm, smoked in the weber BBQ thanks... I prefer hickory chips smoke as opposed to mesquite.

Another fav. is splitting a chicken and cooking it flat out, salt, pepper, tarragon and a spray of oil. mmmmmmmm Or baked chicken... only with a slight difference... when there is half an hour of cooking to go pour a mix of sour cream, mayonnaise, mustard, cheese and the fluid that has run off the baked chicken together.. and pour this over the chicken. Finish off the last half hour of baking -- uncovered i.e. no lid or foil so the cheese browns up nicely...

Bacon, love bacon. slap a bit of bacon on the bbq plate, along with sliced potato and onion rings... a fav. side dish with whatever is cooking on the bbq.

I have tried kangaroo and emu and what I like about eating wild animals is that they are far more lean than the farmed animals.

Goat, when on a survival course (when I was in the army) we caught a wild goat and ended up smoking it... mmmm not bad when you haven't eaten for two days.

Turkey, now that's another favourite... turkey breast, don't over cook it or it will dry... best kept wrapped up in foil so as not to dry it out. (except the last bit so it browns to a nice colour.)

Liverwurst, the best liverwurst was not bought from a shop (as the processed ones are full of crap)... home made when I was back in the old country in eastern europe... damn fine stuff.

my fav cut of lamb would probably be the lamb rack.

pork, uummm, my fav cut of pork is probably pork neck... my butcher de-bones it so it can be easily cut into steaks :)

fish, oh, that's not meat, it's fish... yeah I eat it too though...

Not meat, but referring to home made gnocchi I am glad we have some left over mashed-potato from tonight so I can make gnocchi tomorrow YUM... and buying a pasta machine so I can make my own pasta was the best bloody thing for me. Make own lasagne sheets, all types of pasta and noodles...mmmmm.....

if this thread takes off... we will need a thread for vegetables - have a fav. recipe for pumpkin lasagne. and desert... can't forget desert

I hate to think how long my post would be if I started writing about sweets... mmmmm

(I hope this post isn't too long!)

Live well beautiful people... my banana cake is just outta' the oven and I am impatiently waiting for it to cool........

Carol

That was a great post Carol!

I too could talk forever about food. I've got a pasta machine as well, and use it quite regularly... I love making red, white and green fettucine. My specialties include melenzane parmigiana and a fantastic broccoli pesto. I'm right into Indian at the moment, but I only make curries with the pre-prepared spices.... I'd love to try making a curry from scratch....

My mum is truly the greatest cook to have ever graced this planet. Of her millions of dishes, her zuccotto, an ice-cream cake type thing with home made ice-cream, is fantastic. Whenever I come back to Brisbane, I have at least one zuccotto in my bag.

I have a cool story from when I moved up to Brisbane from Melbourne.... mum rang me at work in Brissie on a Wednesday afternoon... she told me she had just cooked a pizza.... and had placed it in a container and in an Express Post bag, and it would arrive at the lab Thursday morning.... when I told my workmates, they didn't believe my mother would send me a pizza in the post, but low and behold, Thursday morning.... homemade pizza!

Sbagman.

Hey Sbagman,

If you are interested in herbs and spices... wanting to make your own curry I read :)

There is a place in Rozelle (a suburb in Sydney) called Herbie's Spices their address is 745 Darling street Rozelle
ph: 02 9555 6035. I am pretty sure they do mail order... but what u can do is go in (or ring up) and tell them what you want to herb and spice up i.e. what kind of meat or vege dish and what kind of herbs and spices you like and they can mix and match up herbs and spices for you... if you want it hot, they make it hot... if you like it mild, you let them know... kinda get the picture... well worth checking out imho.

Good luck with the curry...

Carol

it's me again :)

here is a chicken calcutta recipe fwiw...

onion, garlic, ginger, tumeric, coriander, chilli

onion in the pan, with a bit of oil. set aside, put the herbs and spices in a pan just for a min, then add the onion again and then the garlic so it doesn't burn. basically it takes 2-3 mins for this part.
chuck in the chook add coconut cream add water if needed it should be saucey but not too thick, depends on your coconut cream. (i use the Ayam brand b/c the coconut cream is really thick and most importantly yummy) when chicken is cooked. voila...
now unfortunately I don't really measure in most of my recipes... but herbs and spices are a personal choice anyways...

hope this helps your curry search...

Carol

hmmm.. yummy.... my favourite topic!!
heres some weird foods that i eat regularly !!!! and they taste great...

pigs feet, pigs ears, pigs cheeks
chickens feet...
ducks feet (actually better than chickens feet, cos u eat the webbing)
duck tongues
cow stomach/tripe

just had stingray the other day... its great!!! like fish, but more texture like chicken... hehe..

turtle...
solidified pigs blood
boiled ducks eggs with a baby duck inside..
pigeons

but my absolute favourite.. is cow/ox tongues...
its better than any steak !!!

What an interesting thread...

Its nice to talk things other than footy!! (especially if you are a Dees supporter!!).

Sbagman, can I ask if you are of Italian descent?
I am European born and sounds like your mom has some really great receipes tucked away....maybe a cooking book or two??

Cheers.

I'm a real offal and wierd meat enthusiast I may say.

My favourite is Calfs Liver, panfried Italian style (Fegato I suppose ?)

I like Lambs Liver too - crumbed and panfried with Bacon - hmmmm

Kidneys - yup love them too. Devilled Kidneys are great ! and I can make a mean Steak & KIdney Pudding too !

Sheeps Brains, Pigs Trotters, Chicken Hearts, Chicken feet, Bulls Testicles, any Kangaroo meat, Wallaby, Crocodile, Jellyfish, Eel, Witchety Grubs (cooked in the camp fire, can't handle them raw !)
Sleepy Lizard, Snakes of all shapes and sizes, Emu ...

I've had them all.

Goat ? - hey this isn't so exotic actually. Did you know Goat is the most widely eaten red meat in the whole world ?

I've had a Goat curry, and yes its very nice meat indeed !

If you really like your meat the I urge you all to explore the cuisine of Argetina. Nobody, and I really mean nobody does meat quite like the Argies do.

cheers

Re: What an interesting thread...

Originally posted by Ms.Storm
Its nice to talk things other than footy!! (especially if you are a Dees supporter!!).

Sbagman, can I ask if you are of Italian descent?
I am European born and sounds like your mom has some really great receipes tucked away....maybe a cooking book or two??

Cheers.

Hi Ms. Storm,

See the word "wog" under my name? That means I'm of European decent!

Dad's from Calabria in southern Italy and Mum's Serbian, athough she's been Italianified by Dad's family.... she speaks Italian fluently and cooks Italian. I was born in Australia, but my heart is in Italy, I lived there for eight months recently and can't wait to get back there.

Mum hasn't got a cookbook, but I have her number on speed dial....!

Where are you from originally, Ms Storm?

Sbagman.

Geeze, and I thought I was game taking a bite of someone's croc burger.

All this talk of pigs rings and pigs lips and ducks feet is making me want to hurl!!!!!! :eek:

Don't knock it unless you've tried it

Offal is much more tasty than muscle and its usually packed full of vitamins and minerals too !

I'm dining out on Ox Tongue soup followed by crumbed Lambs' brains tonight - anyone care to join me ?

:D :D :D :D

cheers

Originally posted by Bloodstained Angel

Offal is much more tasty than muscle and its usually packed full of vitamins and minerals too !

I'm dining out on Ox Tongue soup followed by crumbed Lambs' brains tonight - anyone care to join me ?

cheers

BSA!!!! YOU B@ARSTAD BBBBBLLLUUUGGGHHHHHH......

;)

Well I've eaten sheeps brains but that was when I was a baby so I dont remember that, thankfully. Tried frog legs which were nice and snails which weren't so good. Tried liver and kidneys and cant stand either of them and after looking at a sheeps heart in science, I doubt very much that I will be eating heart very soon.

If you want extravagent food, just go to south asia, I was just going through some photos of Singapore where I lived for my first 5 years in life and the menu of one of the restraunts struck me. It appears that in asia they will eat most of the animal which does not do wonders for my stomach! :(

Vis

Originally posted by Visro
Well I've eaten sheeps brains but that was when I was a baby so I dont remember that, thankfully. Tried frog legs which were nice and snails which weren't so good. Tried liver and kidneys and cant stand either of them and after looking at a sheeps heart in science, I doubt very much that I will be eating heart very soon.

If you want extravagent food, just go to south asia, I was just going through some photos of Singapore where I lived for my first 5 years in life and the menu of one of the restraunts struck me. It appears that in asia they will eat most of the animal which does not do wonders for my stomach! :(

Vis

Vis

there is a saying here that the only thing with 4 legs the Chinese wil not eat is a table !!!

Fish Lips anyone ?

ptw

Originally posted by Bloodstained Angel

cheers

Yuk, do you mind. I am eating my lunch! Perhaps I'll just throw it in the bin, now.

Nearly everyone I know in Mildura is Italian and the pig season is now in full swing. Most Italian families kill a few pigs to make sausages.

Its great fun but one of the traditions is the cadata (sp?) where they melt all the pigs fat in a big pot and then throw in all the bones, skin and everrything else and cook it up. You haven't eaten totally unhealthy food until you've eaten a hunk of pig skin, boiled in pigs fat on a piece of homemade bread. Sounds revolting but tastes great.

The worst part of the pig I've tried is the ear but mainly because the texture is very cartilagy (sp?)

They also cook great goats up here and they do the intestines in tomato sause. Very nice.

I'm very partial to most birds particularly quails and pigeons. Top Knots are the best tasting birds (apparently) but they are protected so I wouldn't know.

Philistines

Cant believe that no-one has brought up the nicest meat there is. RABBIT. My mum can roast a rabbit and make it taste like the nicest thing on earth.

I've tried a lot of other things too
Crocodile,Emu,Snake,Quail,Buffalo,Orca(whale),tripe(disgusting), Frogs legs and all sorts of others I can't think of at the moment.

I can remember my grandmother fishing for eels with just her hands in the shallows at Altona beach
And I can remember my dad telling me that when he was a kid that goats meat was just for poor people(and they were pretty poor)

Great topic by the way.