Micheal Johnson

• Thread starter Thread starter Ripper

He was beaten by both opponents. He has some way to come but he will make it. He is a fantastic size and with the correct endeavour will fill the hole in defence left by Polly going down to dominate the CHF position for the next decade or so.

Mundy can play. He made a terrific flying leap to spoil and has a real oldfashioned defender's sensibility. Shut it down, get it out, no fuss, no mess, spoil, spoil, spoil - and he has a great kick.

Fozzybear Murphy also impressed. He was on Simmo for much of the game and the Snakeman was too big too strong too fast, but the wooly one didn't lower his colours. He kept up with a much larger opponent and was in no way disgraced.

Unlike Brett Peake, who gave Jimmy Walker way too much latitude and, very likely, a bad case of leather poisoning.

Originally posted by The Mission Man

Mundy can play. He made a terrific flying leap to spoil and has a real oldfashioned defender's sensibility. Shut it down, get it out, no fuss, no mess, spoil, spoil, spoil - and he has a great kick.

Fozzybear Murphy also impressed. He was on Simmo for much of the game and the Snakeman was too big too strong too fast, but the wooly one didn't lower his colours. He kept up with a much larger opponent and was in no way disgraced.

I'm liking the sounds of that. Mundy was highly regarded prior to the draft and many thought that he was the best defender in the draft.

We took a punt on Murphy with pick 12 so I really want the kid to do well (for Freo and for his sake).

I liked the look of Johnson. Even though he was beaten, he definitely looks like he has the size and the athletisicm to be a quality backmen. Warren similarly had a good size and look about him.

Duffield impressed me. He got quite a few kicks and when he got the ball, he didn't seem to be rushed as much as some of the other newer players, and his disposal was pretty good.

Peake did give Walker far too much room but that can be worked on. The other parts of his game weren't half bad and he is a lot quicker than I thought. He already has a mature body and can find the footy.

Dunn is one tough nut. He reminds me of a Jason Johnson/ Mark Coughlan type. Straight in and under packs, and a couple of clearances. Did a couple of other good 1%ers around the ground as well, a couple of nice spoils etc. He looks ready for senior football.

Was that Mundy that did huge spoil in the first quarter? I was wondering who it was but didn't catch a glimpse of their number and it was all the way at the other end of the ground.

Why wasn't I surprised on the Peake comments......

Duffield is an excellent pick-up. I honestly believe Duffield and Surjan were the 2 unluckiest players not to be drafted in the National Draft.

Quality kid from a quality family. One of those very genuine people. In time he should be promoted.

Duffield has one of the best opposite side kicks you'll see for quite sometime. I've seen him drill 45 m kicks along the boundary under pressure lace up on the chest over and over on the non-preferred.

I hope for Freo's sake that Murphy proves worthy of the #12 pick. Chaplin and especially Watts look like becoming absolute guns, and Bill Morrison should be one as well.

Thanks for the concern.

It looks to be a risk but if the smart recruiting team can find a Woods in the 30's, Medders in the 50's, Sandi and Hayden and the likes of the rookie list .....what the heck I'm willing to trust them just this once. They obviously have seen something in the kid.

At least we can fall back on McPharlin, Polak, JLo, Haddrill, Woods, & Simmonds in the KPP ....maybe you should go and ask the Eagles whether a tough flanker was better than a Watts (just for the record I rate Watts).

Moo

Originally posted by Moo

It looks to be a risk but if the smart recruiting team can find a Woods in the 30's, Medders in the 50's, Sandi and Hayden and the likes of the rookie list .....what the heck I'm willing to trust them just this once. They obviously have seen something in the kid.

Hate to be persnickity Moo but Dion was picked up at Draft pick 51 (Draft choice 51 traded by West Coast Eagles for Greg Harding). Thanks E-girls

You are correct on the Negastar though. He was taken at Draft pick 56 (Draft choice 56 traded by Adelaide for Daniel Schell). With a rising star nomination on his very first game and 86 goals in 2 seasons I would say we would be slightly ahead on that deal as well.

Thanks Crows :D

No thanks Rip ....I dont mind corrections that enhance my answer.

It is funny whenever we are talking about being screwed in trades ...the Eages nicely forget the Woods factor in the Harding for Metropocash deal.

Originally posted by Moo
No thanks Rip ....I dont mind corrections that enhance my answer.

It is funny whenever we are talking about being screwed in trades ...the Eages nicely forget the Woods factor in the Harding for Metropocash deal.

And we thank you for

David Wirrpunda
Pre-Season Comp Sel (Draft choice Comp Sel traded by Fremantle for draft selection US - Tony Godden)

Phillip Matera
Traded by Fremantle for David Hynes

Originally posted by West Coast Stre

Phillip Matera

There are some players that are so odious, so offensively annoying, that no matter how good they may or not be, I'm happy they never ended up at Freo.

Without doubt Steggles is one of them.

You are more than welcome to him.

Originally posted by West Coast Stre
And we thank you for

David Wirrpunda
Pre-Season Comp Sel (Draft choice Comp Sel traded by Fremantle for draft selection US - Tony Godden)

Phillip Matera

You really are secretly one of us WCS. ;)

Those 2 wouldn't get a run in our team (good though they are).

Would you replace Medhurst with Matera? Nah.

And Rodger the genius is a far better defensive Back pocket than Wirra, and just as damaging running of his opponent.

I saw him play live twice last year at the Perth vs West Perth games and both times he was almost the single reason why Perth won. He even pinch hit in the ruck and at the time I thought he reminded me alot of Clem Michael.

Originally posted by ImperialPurple
There are some players that are so odious, so offensively annoying, that no matter how good they may or not be, I'm happy they never ended up at Freo.

Without doubt Steggles is one of them.

You are more than welcome to him.

BTW - the only other two players I would add to that list would be Nathan Buckley and Michael Gardiner. Just in case anyone was wondering.

Originally posted by Sera
I saw him play live twice last year at the Perth vs West Perth games and both times he was almost the single reason why Perth won. He even pinch hit in the ruck and at the time I thought he reminded me alot of Clem Michael.

My smile just gets broarder and broader.
Were not the Weavils going to pick him up or was he too local. ;)

Originally posted by RIPPER_46
(Draft choice 56 traded by Adelaide for Daniel Schell). With a rising star nomination on his very first game and 86 goals in 2 seasons I would say we would be slightly ahead on that deal as well.

Thanks Crows :D

Ripper that is one hell of an understatement, Crab v Splinter, we have the winner.

I'll back the recruiting team, it is impossible to get it 100% correct but the percentages are in their favour at the moment.

Johnson looks good and has already done an apprenticeship at WAFL level, so will make a great backup in the event of any injuries to our talls in the best 22.

Sera, the Clem comparison is one I have made as well. Same body shape, although Clem's centre of gravity (read, arse) isn't so HUUUGE.

Kenny, it was Mundy who made that spoil. He also has a fantastic kick.

Dasler, Duffield is quality. I was VERY impressed with him. I also liked the look of Steven Dodd, who is a fair size and looks to know what he's doing.

Peake may have no defensive side to his game whatsoever, but did Walker getting all those touches really hurt? Peake wandered forward and kicked a creative goal. He has heaps of pace and, even giving Walker a good couple of metres, was able to catch him. Walker is no slouch in the speed stakes.

Campbell also seems to be good at what he was drafted for. In his last year of footy he kicked 26.3 or something equally ridiculous. This kind of accuracy was tested when he marked it deep in the left city end pocket, right on the boundary line. He only had that one shot on goal but he freaking drilled it. He seems to have the gift and has a fair size about him.

Originally posted by The Mission Man
Dasler, Duffield is quality. I was VERY impressed with him. I also liked the look of Steven Dodd, who is a fair size and looks to know what he's doing.

Peake may have no defensive side to his game whatsoever, but did Walker getting all those touches really hurt? Peake wandered forward and kicked a creative goal. He has heaps of pace and, even giving Walker a good couple of metres, was able to catch him. Walker is no slouch in the speed stakes.
Good to hear on Duffield. I rate him very highly on and off the field.

I'd back Walker 10 times out of 10 to do Peake.

Originally posted by dasler

I'd back Walker 10 times out of 10 to do Peake.

Geez you must be a journo, stating the bleedin obvious ........

Walker has a good number of seasons under his belt, Peake has one WAFL season, what would you expect?.

Peake will keep progressing, I don't expect him to be a star but he could become very useful.